PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

I want to know how many people have interest in a PCB.

A PCB costs incl. Postage Worldwide 36,- Euro.

-> http://forum.atari-home.de/index.php?to ... #msg207024

I have yet to clarify what Heise says to the project.
Pak_top.jpg
Pak_bottom.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by frank.lukas on Fri May 27, 2016 11:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4731
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by joska »

I would be interested.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by DarkLord »

I would be interested as well.

BTW, I can't remember the Pak68/2 features, right off the top of my head. Can
you summarize it here? Thanks!
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

The PAK68/2 works for me fine with the MonSTer and the VOFA ET4000 Graphiccard in my Atari Mega ST.

The PAK has TOS 2.06 on it and on the MonSTer is TOS 1.04 activ.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

platinen_klein.jpg
The PCBs arrive today. In the next week I order parts and build one for a test ...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

It works ...
vorne_klein.jpg
hinten_klein.jpg
.. but it needs some patches.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by DarkLord »

Keep us updated! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

Who wants to have a ready patched board, please pm me ...

I can also provide the TOS 2.06 Eproms and the GAL Set.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
IRIOS
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 3:25 pm
Location: FRANCE
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by IRIOS »

Hello everybody !
Probably interested by the acquisition (see mp)
Thanks !
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4731
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by joska »

The PCB arrived today, thanks :) Have to order some parts, then get it working. The plan is to attempt to hook up some SRAM and flash-ROM later on.

Btw I was under the impression that this was an 8MHz board, but when I look at the docs tonight it looks like it can run at 16MHz too. Is this correct? Does it work at 16MHz on your ST?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

The PAK68/2 works with 16Mhz and it works fine with my MonSTer Card. The MonSTer have to boot with TOS 1.04 or KAOS and on the PAK68/2 sit the four TOS 2.06 27C512 Eproms.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4731
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by joska »

That is cool. Can you boot without ROMs on the PAK and with 2.06 on the MonSTer?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by DarkLord »

Just curious - wonder why TOS v2.06 was split up into 4 ROMs instead of 2?
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4731
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by joska »

Because of 32 bit access.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by DarkLord »

joska wrote:Because of 32 bit access.
Ah! (lightbulb goes off). Thanks Jo. Should have remembered that from my Pak board. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4731
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by joska »

joska wrote:The PCB arrived today, thanks :) Have to order some parts, then get it working. The plan is to attempt to hook up some SRAM and flash-ROM later on.
Parts are ordered. Bought some cheap SRAM, the plan is to mount these in the ROM/RAM-sockets on the PAK. With some slight modification to the board and GALs I should be able to have 2-4Mb of 32-bit fast-RAM in addition to 512Kb 32-bit ROM.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

joska wrote:That is cool. Can you boot without ROMs on the PAK and with 2.06 on the MonSTer?
I think, no ...

There must be a TOS on the PAK68/2, My MonSTer works fine with that. Dual IDE, Altram etc. no problem so far.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

For the Fastram you need TOS 3.06 on the PAK ?

Not sure ...

There are the PAK Patches from TOSPATCH (Markus Heiden) for the TT TOS.

-> https://shop.heise.de/archiv/search/res ... +mit+turbo

There is a GAL for the SRAM, see the PAK Thread on atari-home post by joejoe, I think.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4731
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by joska »

frank.lukas wrote:For the Fastram you need TOS 3.06 on the PAK ?
No, TOS 2.06 (or MagiC, MiNT or EmuTOS) also supports this. I will probably map it to 0x400000, just like the MonSTer alt-RAM.
frank.lukas wrote:There is a GAL for the SRAM, see the PAK Thread on atari-home post by joejoe, I think.
Yes, I had a look at this. Unfortunately I can't use it as-is, since it maps alt-RAM to the same location as TOS 2/3/4 and I intend to use both. So some modification to the board and GAL is required.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

Please make your SRAM Mod public with the JED File so I can build it too ...

I have in mind to at a Magnum TT to the PAK68/2, all on one Board.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4731
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by joska »

frank.lukas wrote:Please make your SRAM Mod public with the JED File so I can build it too ...
I will, if I succeed. My idea is very simple - piggyback four 512Kb SRAM's on top of the ROMs and add a separate GAL address decoder. Should in theory be pretty simple stuff. 2Mb fast-RAM isn't much but sufficient for my use.

I have ordered the necessary parts, I guess they'll arrive in a month or so so until then nothing will happen.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
double-decca
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 8:00 pm

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by double-decca »

Hi,

Will the PAK68/2 work with the MegaSTE

Derek
Regards,

Derek
oehansen
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2012 12:05 pm

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by oehansen »

I'm also interrested
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4731
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by joska »

double-decca wrote:Will the PAK68/2 work with the MegaSTE
It may, but not out of the box. First of all the PAK is inserted in the ST CPU socket, and the Mega STE has a different socket than the ST. So you need some sort of adapter there. Secondly, not sure how the PAK will work with the Mega STE cache and turbo mode. They will probably have to be disabled all the time.

Also, the PAK is rather big so I'm not sure if it'll fit inside the Mega STE case. Especially if you have some VME card installed.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1948
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: PAK68/2 PCB Project ...

Post by frank.lukas »

In these Days I put a PAK68/3 in a Atari Mega STE. The Cache from the STE must be off and the STE must run at 8Mhz ...

I put a 64pin DIL CPU socket on the Mainboard with a lot of Glue !
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”