Slightly modded STM...

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4728
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Slightly modded STM...

Post by joska »

Can you spot all the mods made to this STM? :D
Modded STM.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by AtariZoll »

Pic in higher resolution would help.
Indeed there is RAM expansion with 30 pin sims. Flash EPROMs instead ROMs, then SD card slot and ...
what is not clear : one bigger board with home made Satan/US or like ? Small board with 2 chips.
Can not say more - I don"t see well even where wires are connected.
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.
User avatar
Frank B
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1029
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 1:28 am
Location: Boston

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by Frank B »

Is that a blitter on there too?
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4728
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by joska »

AtariZoll wrote:Pic in higher resolution would help.
The forum doesn't allow bigger files than this to be uploaded... Try this Dropbox link instead.
AtariZoll wrote:Indeed there is RAM expansion with 30 pin sims. Flash EPROMs instead ROMs, then SD card slot and ...
Yes, correct.
AtariZoll wrote:what is not clear : one bigger board with home made Satan/US or like ? Small board with 2 chips.
Can not say more - I don"t see well even where wires are connected.
Well, the big messy piece of veroboard over the CPU has a GAL on the other side. I guess you know what it is by now.

The small piece of veroboard with 2 chips is a LaceScan implementation, but what's that PCB between the flash EPROMs?
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4728
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by joska »

Frank B wrote:Is that a blitter on there too?
I wish there was, but no.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by exxos »

joska wrote:Can you spot all the mods made to this STM? :D
Nope :) looks like any other ST to me :lol:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator
User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by Robson »

joska wrote: but what's that PCB between the flash EPROMs?
Mr Teensy. Are you using keyboard shortcut to switch TOS?
------------------------------------------------------------
https://sites.google.com/view/tercsirobi/home
------------------------------------------------------------
AtariZoll
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2978
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by AtariZoll »

joska wrote:...
Well, the big messy piece of veroboard over the CPU has a GAL on the other side. I guess you know what it is by now.

The small piece of veroboard with 2 chips is a LaceScan implementation, but what's that PCB between the flash EPROMs?
Really don't know about some SD card adapter for ST with GAL . What is between Flash EPROMs should be TOS switcher indeed. And board with 2 small chips is part of it ?
Hmmm... there is IDE connector well hidden in darkness :D So, I guess that it is ACSI-CF adapter, and SD card is there only to confuse :mrgreen:
Famous Schrodinger's cat hypothetical experiment says that cat is dead or alive until we open box and see condition of poor animal, which deserved better logic. Cat is always in some certain state - regardless from is observer able or not to see what the state is.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4728
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by joska »

Robson wrote:Mr Teensy. Are you using keyboard shortcut to switch TOS?
Not a Teensy, but a $3 Arduino clone. And yes, it does control the two upper address lines of the EEPROMs, TOS switching is done by listening to the keyboard ACIA Rx-pin to pick up certain keypress sequences.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4728
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by joska »

AtariZoll wrote:Really don't know about some SD card adapter for ST with GAL . What is between Flash EPROMs should be TOS switcher indeed. And board with 2 small chips is part of it ?
No, the small veroboard between the GLUE and the MMU is the LaceScan circuit. So cheap and simple, everybody who's using GEM-stuff on their ST's really should install one.
AtariZoll wrote:Hmmm... there is IDE connector well hidden in darkness :D So, I guess that it is ACSI-CF adapter, and SD card is there only to confuse :mrgreen:
It's a variant of your IDE-interface, with a bigger GAL to enable TOS flashing :) The SD-adapter is a small IDE->SD adapter, I have one in most of my retro computers.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by DarkLord »

I really wanted to put a laceScan mod in my STacy, but the problem is that I
still play a lot of games with it...and it doesn't get along with games. Ralcool
had a version I started to get then ended up passing on it. Cool stuff though.

Nice machine there, Jo Even. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4728
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by joska »

DarkLord wrote:...and it doesn't get along with games.
I play a lot of games on this machine, no problems there.
DarkLord wrote:Nice machine there, Jo Even. :)
Thanks :) It's actually my first ST.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by DarkLord »

Huh, I was told that the LaceScan had all kinds of compatibility
problems with games in color modes...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by Atari030 »

Pretty sure its just off until the driver kicks in. I put one in an STFM (similar to joska's) and don't recall any issues with it.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4728
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by joska »

Atari030 wrote:Pretty sure its just off until the driver kicks in.
Correct. You can even add a manual switch for 100% safety. The circuit is controlled by the keyboard ACIA, so in theory some accidental fiddling with the ACIA registers could enable the circuit. It has never happened for me though. I also had a Mega in the 90's with LaceScan fitted and never had a single problem with games.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by DarkLord »

Well, I may just have to take another look at installing one of those then.

Does anyone still make a pre-assembled LaceScan kit? Thanks! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
ralcool
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 693
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:52 am
Location: Australia

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by ralcool »

Just went looking through the dusty atari mod corner.. there is still one early LaScan pcb sitting here.

I pinched the header pins off it at some point... I can put a fresh one on and clean the pcb... it should be fine.

We'll chat later cause I have to possibly test it too. Hi... :)
4160STFM, (Blitter, 4Mb RAM 72pin, 16Mhz OC, IDE, HD FDD, Quad TOS, LaScan, DS1216E Clock, AT-Speed C16, Tom Kirk PS2 mouse, MegaST Keyboard)
What Intel giveth, Microsoft taketh away
Beer is proof that God loves us, and wants us to be happy
Don't let post count or join date fool you as to who is a newbie, and who knows what's what
User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 635
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by Atari030 »

Its a pretty simple CCT, mine is just piggy backed IC's. Mind you its been so long since I fired that machine up I can't even remember where I put it.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Slightly modded STM...

Post by DarkLord »

ralcool wrote:Just went looking through the dusty atari mod corner.. there is still one early LaScan pcb sitting here.

I pinched the header pins off it at some point... I can put a fresh one on and clean the pcb... it should be fine.

We'll chat later cause I have to possibly test it too. Hi... :)
Awesome! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”