Forget-Me-Clock battery replacement ?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2709
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Forget-Me-Clock battery replacement ?

Post by spiny »

Hi All,

just acquired a Forget Me Clock style RTC and as it's probably 25 years old, I'm expecting the soldered BR2325 battery to be dead. Is there any reason I can't just solder in a coin battery holder and use any 3v coin battery (CR2032 etc) ?

pic of clock and battery holder I'm considering using:
2015-09-06 10.19.17.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
exxos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4933
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 8:36 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Re: Forget-Me-Clock battery replacement ?

Post by exxos »

If the battery are same voltage and physically fit a , then go for it :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - various clutter

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
http://ataristeven.exxoshost.co.uk/Steem.htm Latest Steem Emulator
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2709
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: Forget-Me-Clock battery replacement ?

Post by spiny »

cool, just thought i'd check :D
User avatar
tjlazer
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 651
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Contact:

Re: Forget-Me-Clock battery replacement ?

Post by tjlazer »

Let us know if this works, I have one of these too that needs a new battery!
Atari Computer Collector since 1984

From the 8-bit Atari 400 to the 32-bit Atari TT030!
User avatar
aktiv8
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1490
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 4:31 pm
Location: Cardiff, South Wales

Re: Forget-Me-Clock battery replacement ?

Post by aktiv8 »

You should be fine with this - I've replaced a BR with a CR coin cell before in some works equipment (didn't double check the writing!) and its been working fine for the last 2 years or so.

If you wanted to do a proper swap can get these at RS etc http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/coin-butt ... s/0597425/ but the CR variety much easier to get from most places
>>> Trust me, I'm a Research Chemist.... <<<
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”