STFM TOS 1.04 roms 2 x chip set question

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Chandler
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1407
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:15 am

STFM TOS 1.04 roms 2 x chip set question

Post by Chandler »

what type roms are used to make a 2 chip set of STFM TOS 1.04 ?

I know you can use the 32 pin type with some pin bending etc but I don't want to do that, I want to use a pair of 28 pin roms

any help appreciated thanks :)
User avatar
firyembers
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 140
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 1:23 pm
Location: Cardiff.Having a party...Wales

Re: STFM TOS 1.04 roms 2 x chip set question

Post by firyembers »

As far as I know 28 pin roms are no bigger than 512kb,and since tos 1.04 is 192kb in total split to 96kb for hi and lo or odd even as you like times 8 is 768kb and thus will not fit on a 28 pin rom,only on a 1 meg rom 1024 which is a 32 pin chip and thus not doable as you like..but hell what do I know...
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1978
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: STFM TOS 1.04 roms 2 x chip set question

Post by frank.lukas »

2 Chip Atari TOS in Atari ST are 28pin PROM Chips with 128kBx8 ...

27C256 = 32kBx8
27C512 = 64kBx8
27C010 = 128kBx8

You can use two 1MB (128kBx8) Eproms, there are a way to adapt the 32pin eprom in a 28pin socked.

-> http://phoenix.inf.upol.cz/~opichals/li ... &index=861
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”