ST HDMI Out

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

GadgetUK164
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:12 am

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by GadgetUK164 »

This looks like a great project! I hope this gets past prototype phase.
Arkemath
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by Arkemath »

I'm interested too !
User avatar
BoNuS
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 771
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:45 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by BoNuS »

Just bumping this one ;)
Any progress on the HDMI field ???
http://bonus.home.xs4all.nl/
( I have just to much Atari stuff)
User avatar
SainT
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:33 pm
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by SainT »

Yes, but slow. :)

I'm not getting any time to work on this at the moment, but it's not dead. I've made up a PCB layout for the next prototype which is a daughter board for the mini FPGA dev board, but I just need to double check everything and then get it sent off to China to get a few PCB's made (cheaper than making them myself!).
User avatar
qq1975b
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1111
Joined: Tue May 15, 2012 9:15 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by qq1975b »

SainT wrote:Yes, but slow. :)

I'm not getting any time to work on this at the moment, but it's not dead. I've made up a PCB layout for the next prototype which is a daughter board for the mini FPGA dev board, but I just need to double check everything and then get it sent off to China to get a few PCB's made (cheaper than making them myself!).

Cool! Very interesting project. STe compatible only? Mega STe or Mega ST?
Trying to learn...
User avatar
SainT
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:33 pm
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by SainT »

It'll run with any STF / STE / Mega / Stacy (and Jaguar, Amiga, Amstrad CPC plus, GX4000 and lots more machines) as they all output video using 1 pin per bit of the colour data. Unfortunately it wont work with the Atari TT as it has D2A converters inside the shifter and outputs RGB directly as analogue.
GadgetUK164
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:12 am

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by GadgetUK164 »

Wow!! That's sounding more awesome by the day. The idea of a convertor that works with Amigas as well is great!!

I would like a couple of these if you do a production or proto run!
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by Shredder11 »

I've been following this project thread from the start but now I am VERY interested! 8O
User avatar
SainT
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:33 pm
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by SainT »

The only downside with this mod is that you have to solder the RGB / sync / clock out cables directly to the motherboard...
GadgetUK164
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 272
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 11:12 am

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by GadgetUK164 »

Soldering doesn't bother me, even better as I can mount it inside the case!
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by catmando »

Definitely interested in this. Good work

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4
Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
User avatar
viking272
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by viking272 »

Also interested too! Keep up the good work. :D
User avatar
troed
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1460
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 6:20 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by troed »

GadgetUK164 wrote:Soldering doesn't bother me, even better as I can mount it inside the case!
I'll happily solder it for anyone living close to me in Sweden just to make sure that doesn't scare anyone away :P

(As long as it's completely compatible with all screen resolution demo tricks this is _the_ hardware upgrade I'm eagerly awaiting)

/Troed
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by nativ »

if somehow it wasn't compatible, you could always make it switched, more soldering perhaps... but it's just an output jump board not a gfx card as such like VBXE
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
delvis
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 153
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:49 pm
Location: Leander, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by delvis »

Sounds very interesting. Good luck on getting time to complete this.
Delvis
Atari User since 1982
400 / 800/ 1200XL / 800XL /65XE / 130XE
520ST / 1040ST / MegaST4
User avatar
SainT
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:33 pm
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by SainT »

nativ wrote:if somehow it wasn't compatible, you could always make it switched, more soldering perhaps... but it's just an output jump board not a gfx card as such like VBXE
There's no switching required, this just outputs the same signal that goes to the monitor port to an HDMI port. So you could run an Atari monitor and an HDMI monitor simultaneously (which is what I do when testing) if you wanted. :)

I see no reason why it shouldn't run with all effects, but other people who have tried similar things say they have had issues. I'm not far enough in yet to see if I'm going to get any issues or not... but being optimistic I still don't see why I should. :wink:
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2709
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by spiny »

I am also interested :)
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by DarkLord »

Whenever they are ready to order, I'm in for one as well.

I'm keeping my fingers crossed, because past efforts have
so far failed to produce viable results.

Good luck! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
Anemos
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 1:14 pm
Location: Greece
Contact:

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by Anemos »

G/L to your project.
Anybody has try this Scart > Hdmi converter?
http://dx.com/p/scart-hdmi-to-hdmi-vide ... ack-129829
Atari 1040 STE - 4mb - TOS 1.62
Atari 1040 STF - 1mb - TOS 1.00
RAHMAN
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by RAHMAN »

Also interested in this.. :)

Rahman
User avatar
Fratzengeballer
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2012 10:50 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by Fratzengeballer »

Very nice work and promising progress. I will keep my fingers crossed for you.
User avatar
Nikolas
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 347
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2008 12:03 am
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by Nikolas »

If works on all ST modes.
10 eur worth then i will get my won.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-iVQrsDqaw4
If you guys expirience hardware problems.
1. Always remove chips if possible before soldering.
2. Resolder your hardware, check cables too.
3. If problem continue THEN must be faulty software.

I got 2 Atari ST
Main is stfm, with blitter, with 4 meg of ram, with 16mhz cpu + s-video and audio input to videobox, vdi out
P.S.
My english may not be correct
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1394
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by alanh »

It can't work in mono mode as that doesn't work over scart.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
SainT
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 3:33 pm
Location: Gloucestershire

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by SainT »

alanh wrote:It can't work in mono mode as that doesn't work over scart.
Yeah, it can work with mono. HDMI is not scart.

You have to understand I take the video out directly from the shifter (4 bit RGB & single bit mono) and construct an HDMI data stream from this information. I output in colour modes at 720x576p @ 50Hz / 4:3, which allows low and medium resolution just fine. High res is 70Hz, so will require a different video mode, whether a 70Hz mode will work on your TV is a different matter though, as the HDMI spec only requires 50/60Hz modes at specific resolutions. A monitor should be able to deal with 640x400 70Hz no bother though.

Also, I have just ordered a batch of 10 PCB's from China for the bargain price of £18, so when they arrive I'll hopefully get to work again. Yay!

If I get something working with these PCB's I'll happily send them out to people to play with at cost. You'll have to build them up yourself though as I don't have much spare time, but they're not too tricky. The worst part is soldering the level converter chip, as it's quite a fine pitch SMD. I've added layout for the A2D converter and a proper HDMI connector too, so it'll keep me entertained for a while...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: ST HDMI Out

Post by DarkLord »

Just curious, is that pic to scale? I mean is that what the size of it is going to be,
or (I'm assuming) somewhat smaller?

Thanks!
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”