Correct pinout for the Floppy SF314 PSU?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
rikala
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 9:24 pm

Correct pinout for the Floppy SF314 PSU?

Post by rikala »

Does anyone know which of these are correct? I have a Sf314 with a male psu connector and no psu for it.
One of the topics below suggest only 5V, the other 5V and 12V

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... out#p77409

http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... ut#p154353

/Rikard
Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4203
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Correct pinout for the Floppy SF314 PSU?

Post by Dal »

Chandler will need to explain this one I think as he has made two posts on the same subject, three years apart with completely different information.... I have to admit, I can't say for sure which is the right advice. People talk about maybe it needs 12v, but apparently the manual from Best doesn't show any sign of 12v. My gut instinct says "Go with the manual", however? I'd probably like to see it first to get an idea of its integrity.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's
Chandler
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1421
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 12:15 am

Re: Correct pinout for the Floppy SF314 PSU?

Post by Chandler »

they are both correct i believe

haven't done 1 of these drives for ages so can't remember too much of hand... but i think the early SF354 (single sided) used the 12v and the later SF314 (small button double sided) only used the 5v BUT you must look on the PCB and trace the tracks to be sure

take a good picture of the top and bottom of the PCB and i will try to help

if you have an early 520ST "black brick" power supply you can use this either by cutting off the plug at the end and soldering on a new plug or,,, i made a cool little converter that just plugs in :wink:
attle
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 3:40 pm

Re: Correct pinout for the Floppy SF314 PSU?

Post by attle »

Time to revive this thread. I have a SF314 drive without PSU, but I have no idea if it's using 12V. Does anyone have an idea?

Also, what kind of current would the drive need? Can I just solder a DIN5 plug to any "wallwart" with the right ratings?

Here's the PCB.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Correct pinout for the Floppy SF314 PSU?

Post by DrCoolZic »

Yest it does because original drive was using 12v at this time I believe.
Anayway I have the PSU under my eyes and it says:
Input 220V 50Hz 18VA
5V 0.72A
12V 0.21A

made in Singapore :)


Specifications
+12V ±5%:
60 mA (rest normal)
300 mA (read/write;normal)
850 mA (Maximal)

+5V ±5%:
340 mA (rest mode; normal)
380 mA (read/write; normal)
500 mA (Maximal)
User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Correct pinout for the Floppy SF314 PSU?

Post by DrCoolZic »

More info in service manual and users manual of SF354 (more recent version of SF314)
http://info-coach.fr/atari/hardware/fd- ... Manual.pdf
http://info-coach.fr/atari/hardware/fd- ... ual_v2.pdf
User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Correct pinout for the Floppy SF314 PSU?

Post by DrCoolZic »

More info in service manual and users manual of SF354 (more recent version of SF314)
http://info-coach.fr/atari/hardware/fd- ... Manual.pdf
http://info-coach.fr/atari/hardware/fd- ... ual_v2.pdf - figure 1-32
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
attle
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 3:40 pm

Re: Correct pinout for the Floppy SF314 PSU?

Post by attle »

Thanks DrCoolZic :)

I will try using a external PSU for hard drives, as soon as I get the DIN5 plug I'll make a molex-DIN adapter and see if the drive works. The PSU is rated 2A so should be plenty for this use.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
DrCoolZic
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2261
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2005 7:03 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Correct pinout for the Floppy SF314 PSU?

Post by DrCoolZic »

Did you check that at least your floppy drive is working?
The drive in my SF314 is very very old full size drive and is definitively broken would not even load a floppy.
Therefore I intend to reuse the control I/F board to connect to an CosmosEx device like this http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 30#p258901
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”