Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

Hey gang. I've been talking to Jookie about an internal cable for the Ultrasatan that will
work with the Mega STe, or the STacy. These machines use an internal SCSI card. The
cable will replace the internal card, connecting directly between the internal ACSI
connector and the Ultrasatan itself.

Jookie says he needs at least 5 orders to have it done and make it look professional.

I'm in for one - can we find 4 other Mega STe and/or STacy owners who would be
interested?

Thanks much!
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
wthorbjo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:02 am

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by wthorbjo »

I'll take one!
wthorbjo
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Falcon030/CT63, 1040STE, etc...
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

wthorbjo wrote:I'll take one!
That's 2... :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
tpic
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 4:16 am

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by tpic »

Yes, count me in too.

I'll take one as well, making 3 so far.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

tpic wrote:Yes, count me in too.

I'll take one as well, making 3 so far.
Coolness! 2 to go...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

Bump....

Not at least 2 more STacy or Mega STe owners that want an internal cable
so they can install an Ultrasatan inside their machines?

Heck, if we can get just -1- more, I'll buy 2 cables since I have both a STacy
and a Mega STe. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

Okay, between users at AtariAge and here at AtariForums, we've got the 5 we need for
an order from Jookie.

Whats needed now is some info - was anyone besides me ordering for a STacy, or is
it for Mega STe's?

Please let us know.

Thanks! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

Okay, here is what Jookie has sent me about this.

Pricing:
"The expected price of passive Mega STE cable would be 10 Euro + 5 Euro shipping (and I still need to ask if they can make 6 pieces of PCB instead of one (I will try to use some special PCB manufacturing service used for prototyping to lower the PCB cost)."

and this is for a "passive" cable:
"(don't want to connect anything on the external DMA connector?)"

So is everyone still in for this? Thanks!
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

Okay, more on the "passive" and "active" cables.

The Passive cable goes straight from the internal ACSI connector on the Mega STe or STacy
to the Ultrasatan. It does not allow for use of the external DMA connector.

The Active cable goes straight from the internal ACSI connector on the Mega STe or STacy
to the UltraSatan, but will allow for use of the external DMA connector. It will have more
electronics involved, and require more testing, and an additional 2-3 weeks according to
Jookie.

So we need to know if anyone needs the *Active* cables.

Thanks!
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
wthorbjo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:02 am

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by wthorbjo »

I need a cable for my Mega STE; the passive cable will do fine, since I don't have any other ASCI devices.
wthorbjo
Edmonton, AB, Canada
Falcon030/CT63, 1040STE, etc...
blaylok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:13 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by blaylok »

Yes please i'd like one too. I hope i'm not to late.
AtariMega125
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 4:53 am
Location: Southern Rocky Mountains, US

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by AtariMega125 »

I won't commit myself as of yet to buying one but that is due to my present finances, not due to a lack of interest. An active cable would be what I would want. Backing up data is important and being able to attach an external box to transfer data from the internal drive is what I would want to do and is what I do now with an external zip drive connected to an ADSCSI Plus host adaptor plugged into the external ASCI port with an internal hard drive connected to the internal port.

The other thing is that there is also an internal asci connector on the Mega St as well and I own 2 of them as well as a Mega STE and an internal solid state drive would be ideal for them. I don't know if the pinout of the connector is different from the Mega STE but I could check that easily since I have both the Mega ST and the Mega STE.
A Mega 4 and a Mega 4 STE. Used primarily to run Clab Notator and a few other MIDI utilities.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

I e-mailed Jookie this week and he said he was going to try hard to get
these done soon...

"Hello,
I hadn't any spare time for the last few weeks or months, but I will work on it this week, I promise. Will keep you informed.

Jookie"

Here is the current list:

Internal UltraSatan cable List:

DarkLord - 2 (one of each type)

-------------------------------------------------

AtariAge:

Remowilliams - 1 (possibly 2, depending on price)

Klund - 1 passive

--------------------------------------------------

AtariForum:

wthorbjo - 1passive

tpic - 1passive

Chris Blaylok - 2 passive

AtariMega125 - possibly 1 active (not confirmed yet)

Fonz - 1 passive
Last edited by DarkLord on Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:31 am, edited 2 times in total.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
FonZ
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:57 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by FonZ »

If still possible, could you put me down for a passive one for my mega STe? I would be very thankfull.
Falcon 14mb - 68882 @ 33mhz - dual CF - Lighthouse Space-Case - 2x audio in & 4x audio out directly from MOBO / Eiffel / SMP24 / FA8 / MO4 / FDI / Jam Pro In / Jam Pro Out
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

FonZ wrote:If still possible, could you put me down for a passive one for my mega STe? I would be very thankfull.
I'll add you to the list. Looks like we're up to 9 or so...

Still waiting for Jookie - guess he's pretty busy these days.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
FonZ
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 212
Joined: Tue May 11, 2010 2:57 pm
Location: the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by FonZ »

Thanks! No rush..
Falcon 14mb - 68882 @ 33mhz - dual CF - Lighthouse Space-Case - 2x audio in & 4x audio out directly from MOBO / Eiffel / SMP24 / FA8 / MO4 / FDI / Jam Pro In / Jam Pro Out
User avatar
Jookie
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1252
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2004 6:54 pm
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by Jookie »

DarkLord wrote:Still waiting for Jookie - guess he's pretty busy these days.
I'm so sorry :( I've been busy for the last weeks and months, unable to do anything at home... I hopefully will start to make at least these cables...
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

Jookie wrote:
DarkLord wrote:Still waiting for Jookie - guess he's pretty busy these days.
I'm so sorry :( I've been busy for the last weeks and months, unable to do anything at home... I hopefully will start to make at least these cables...
No problem Jookie! :)

We all know you're a very busy person and in high demand.

Thanks for agreeing to make these cables - much appreciated. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
blaylok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 4:13 pm
Location: Sunshine Coast Australia

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by blaylok »

Hi again, can i make that 2 passive internal cables for Chris Blaylok please?

I just found myself a Mega STE :D
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

blaylok wrote:Hi again, can i make that 2 passive internal cables for Chris Blaylok please?

I just found myself a Mega STE :D
I just edited the list, bumped you up to 2. That makes 10 total ordered so far, I think.

and congrats on the Mega STe - super nice machines! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
Jake/Depression
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 484
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:40 am
Location: Finland

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by Jake/Depression »

If it's not are too late, i need one in Stacy.
How much more expensive is active cabel?
-soimaamme toinen toista ja unohdamme tulta kohentaa-
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

Jake/Depression wrote:If it's not are too late, i need one in Stacy.
How much more expensive is active cabel?
I don't think Jookie commented on the active cables price. He said the passive would be (and
this is approximately, *not* set in stone!) "10 Euro + 5 Euro shipping". I would imagine the
active cable would be a bit more.

I'll add you to the list - welcome aboard. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

Here is the current list:

Internal UltraSatan cable List:

DarkLord - 2 (1 active and 1 passive)

-------------------------------------------------

AtariAge:

Remowilliams - 1 (possibly 2, depending on price)

Klund - 1 passive

--------------------------------------------------

AtariForum:

wthorbjo - 1 passive

tpic - 1 passive

Chris Blaylok - 2 passive

AtariMega125 - 1 active

Fonz - 1 passive

Jake/Depression - 1 active

Indus - 2 active

rian_ata - 2 (1 active and 1 passive)

--------------------------------------------------

Total - 15 (approximately)
Last edited by DarkLord on Fri Jun 11, 2010 1:46 pm, edited 6 times in total.
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
AtariMega125
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 4:53 am
Location: Southern Rocky Mountains, US

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by AtariMega125 »

Alright, just looking at the prices for passive cables, I will commit to one active cable for a Mega 4 St. I am in no hurry at the moment and if jookie needs partial payment to buy parts to build it, it is no probem--he sounds like a guy as busy as I am. And if there is information lacking on the pin out of the Mega 2/4 internal ASCI connector, I will be happy to check the connections between the internal an external ASCI connectors with my continuity checker.

Cheers
A Mega 4 and a Mega 4 STE. Used primarily to run Clab Notator and a few other MIDI utilities.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4494
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Internal Ultrasatan cable for Mega STe/STacy

Post by DarkLord »

AtariMega125 wrote:Alright, just looking at the prices for passive cables, I will commit to one active cable for a Mega 4 St. I am in no hurry at the moment and if jookie needs partial payment to buy parts to build it, it is no probem--he sounds like a guy as busy as I am. And if there is information lacking on the pin out of the Mega 2/4 internal ASCI connector, I will be happy to check the connections between the internal an external ASCI connectors with my continuity checker.

Cheers
Alrighty then, I'll update your status. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”