Atari st series computers conversion PC

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13005
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by wongck »

spiny wrote:
joska wrote:The floppy LED is available on pin 3 on the keyboard connector, so there is no need to hack the keyboard itself to do this.
now you tell me :D
You did not look hard enough... it was on my webpage since May 2009 !!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
https://sites.google.com/site/probehous ... ard-for-tt

There's been some other updates on my webpage since 2009. I have 2 new programs done last month on it.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 889
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by 1st1 »

The topic of this thread here is: Conversion of an Atari into something looking like a PC, right? The following photo is just from today, a quick test of the Midi-Maze-Network, the question is, how many ATAR and how many PC do you see... (level 2: Can you identify all the models?)

Image

Edit: Uploaded picture to another service.
Last edited by 1st1 on Mon Jun 11, 2012 12:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13005
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by wongck »

The answer is NONE... :lol: :lol: The picture did not come out because it needs a logon to atari-home.de
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 889
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by 1st1 »

Now you can see it.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by Robson »

"The topic of this thread here is: Conversion of an Atari into something looking like a PC, right?"

Wrong. The topic is about converting a PC to something looking like an Atari :).

Nice collection though, just keep eye on the electricity bill.
------------------------------------------------------------
https://sites.google.com/view/tercsirobi/home
------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by Robson »

Since PC means personal computer, all computers on the picture are PCs.
------------------------------------------------------------
https://sites.google.com/view/tercsirobi/home
------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
1st1
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 889
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by 1st1 »

Robson wrote: Wrong. The topic is about converting a PC to something looking like an Atari :).
You are doing strange things here!!!
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
Silly_Pony
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 7:18 pm

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by Silly_Pony »

Robson wrote:Since PC means personal computer, all computers on the picture are PCs.
Nice semantics. PC is used to mean IBM PC clone since forever. :roll:
1040STe, 1040STf
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13005
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by wongck »

Silly_Pony wrote:
Robson wrote:Since PC means personal computer, all computers on the picture are PCs.
Nice semantics. PC is used to mean IBM PC clone since forever. :roll:
Not if you were around long enough.

Code: Select all

A personal computer (PC) is any general-purpose computer whose size, capabilities, and original sales price make it useful for individuals, and which is intended to be operated directly by an end-user with no intervening computer operator. This contrasted with the batch processing or time-sharing models which allowed larger, more expensive minicomputer and mainframe systems to be used by many people, usually at the same time. Large data processing systems require a full-time staff to operate efficiently
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personal_computer
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 281
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by Methanoid »

Two questions for the hackers (two different projects in mind)

1) Can the ST KB be "converted" to interface to PS2 (not USB)

2) Anybody got a 520/260ST and able to confirm if an ITX board will fit inside?
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4895
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by joska »

Methanoid wrote:1) Can the ST KB be "converted" to interface to PS2 (not USB)
Yes. See earlier in this topic.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
Robson
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 842
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 7:03 am
Location: London

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by Robson »

Methanoid wrote:Two questions for the hackers (two different projects in mind)
2) Anybody got a 520/260ST and able to confirm if an ITX board will fit inside?
I'm not 100% sure, mine was a STfm case which is slightly deeper but even with this I had to go for the low profile memory not to hit the keyboard. I'd say not to the itx.
Check out pictures here:
http://web.interware.hu/tercsiro/atari/gallery.html
------------------------------------------------------------
https://sites.google.com/view/tercsirobi/home
------------------------------------------------------------
User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 281
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by Methanoid »

Robson wrote:
Methanoid wrote:Two questions for the hackers (two different projects in mind)
2) Anybody got a 520/260ST and able to confirm if an ITX board will fit inside?
I'm not 100% sure, mine was a STfm case which is slightly deeper but even with this I had to go for the low profile memory not to hit the keyboard. I'd say not to the itx.
Check out pictures here:
http://web.interware.hu/tercsiro/atari/gallery.html
Thanks.. well looks like if I want to do a PC inside a 520/260ST it will have to be a laptop board if at all... ITX is gonna be too big... even a "thin ITX" like D945GSEJT and its replacement
AxelG
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:17 pm
Location: Munich

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by AxelG »

Hi,

well I tried to place an (albeit complete) Netbook inside a ST.
It had to be an STFM and it was a pretty close fit, still. ;)

Cheers, :cheers:
Axel
Is there anything you can't do with two Atari ST PCs?
User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 281
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by Methanoid »

AxelG wrote:Hi,

well I tried to place an (albeit complete) Netbook inside a ST.
It had to be an STFM and it was a pretty close fit, still. ;)

Cheers, :cheers:
Axel
Yeah but that was with casing wasnt it?
AxelG
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:17 pm
Location: Munich

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by AxelG »

Yepp:

Image

Image

But even without the netbook case the ground place for it remains the same. I seriously doubt you can place a laptop board there.

:roll: 8)

Cheers,
AxelG
Is there anything you can't do with two Atari ST PCs?
User avatar
Methanoid
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 281
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:41 pm
Location: England.. where else?

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by Methanoid »

What? Without the top LCD screen and without the KB or the bottom plastic.. Just the mobo - you dont think it would slide further forward? I dont have an ST right now (or STFM/STE) so can't check but the only difference is depth so if your BARE motherboard could go closer to the front edge of the unit and we could estimate the gap at the back we could check if this would squeeze into the small ST/STM units :?
AxelG
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:17 pm
Location: Munich

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by AxelG »

Well, just try it, right? ;)

It probably even depends on you actual motherboard. The sheer size but the IC's placement, also.

Good luck!
AxelG
Is there anything you can't do with two Atari ST PCs?
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13005
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by wongck »

AxelG wrote: I seriously doubt you can place a laptop board there.
Nice try :lol: :lol:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
AxelG
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:17 pm
Location: Munich

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by AxelG »

Image

:lol: :wink:
Is there anything you can't do with two Atari ST PCs?
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13005
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by wongck »

yeap.... ever since like 4 years ago. :wink:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Atarist8te74
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 6:13 pm

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by Atarist8te74 »

God I love how you guys have embraced the ST to PC conversion and then sorted out the biggest problem which was the keyboard!
Im slowly build an old amiga 500 mini itx and often find myself looking at an ST and thinking "The dam keyboard cannot be used!" until I found this thread :D

So I want to make one now, does anyone know where I can get a Teensy in the uk?
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4895
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by joska »

Buy it from here.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
lschafroth
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by lschafroth »

I think I am going to try a conversion using a 520ST. It has a lot less room but I have access to a mac mini that I could use as the guts. I also thought about using the parts from a laptop which would be very small. The only part I would not have is the Teensie board.

Would anyone be willing to make one for me and I can pay for it and shipping??

If I go with the mac mini should I use OSX as the os and boot into a emulator or should I do a linux distro on it and boot into Aranym or hatari or something?

I never did find a good complete guide for aranym from scratch on a linux setup. My goal is to boot directly to a modern Atari desktop.

thoughts on the mac mini or laptop parts?

Lannie
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4895
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Atari st series computers conversion PC

Post by joska »

lschafroth wrote:I think I am going to try a conversion using a 520ST.
Please note that the STM does not have the same keyboard as the other ST's. All other ST's has the mouse- and keyboard-connectors on the keyboard itself. On the STM they're on the motherboard. So if you want to use the mouse/joystick on an STM you need to figure out a solution for the connectors and wire them up to the keyboard connector.
lschafroth wrote:The only part I would not have is the Teensie board.

Would anyone be willing to make one for me and I can pay for it and shipping??
You don't have a soldering iron? The Teensy is complete, you only need to add a connector for the ST keyboard.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”