ST Vga help

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
misjah
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 4:04 pm

ST Vga help

Post by misjah »

Greetings. I made A/V out cable for my 520ST and it`s working great. Now it`s time to make some VGA cable. Can you just tell me what wiring should I use and is Atari providing 30KHz so I can hook it up to regular VGA (crt/tft) monitor using R, G, B, and Hsync Vsync signals. I was reading some posts but still not sure.
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2828
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: ST Vga help

Post by alexh »

You also have to tie the Mono-monitor select to the right voltage.
misjah
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 4:04 pm

Re: ST Vga help

Post by misjah »

I don`t get you.... I actually want to make multi out - color, monochrome and composite video and audio at the end.... one 9 pin vga and 15 pin regular vga connector and two rca for A/V.... if color will not work I`ll just make for mono monitor. Can you link me some diagrams. Thanx
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ST Vga help

Post by wongck »

Not sure if this will help monitor switch
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2828
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: ST Vga help

Post by alexh »

misjah wrote:Can you link me some diagrams. Thanx
You do not need any diagrams, just the pinouts of the two connectors which are available everywhere!

http://pinouts.ru/Video/AtariStMonitor_pinout.shtml
http://pinouts.ru/Video/VGA15_pinout.shtml
http://pinouts.ru/Video/VGA9_pinout.shtml

The problem with making a cable for both MONO & COLOUR is that it has to have a switch in it on the mono detect line between ground and erm not ground (floating or + voltage).
misjah
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 4:04 pm

Re: ST Vga help

Post by misjah »

For real. I`ll try to make it as soon as I make 13 pin connector.
MRAtari
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 494
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:03 pm

Re: ST Vga help

Post by MRAtari »

good info for making one of these :)

i'm sure when i made one in the past pin 4 on the VGA end went to ground? is this ok? as did pin 11

please advise...

4 ID2 - Monitor ID Bit 2
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2828
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: ST Vga help

Post by alexh »

MRAtari wrote:i'm sure when i made one in the past pin 4 on the VGA end went to ground? is this ok? As did pin 11
These are outputs from the monitor and so you can just leave them unconnected.
MRAtari wrote:4 ID2 - Monitor ID Bit 2
Not 100% sure what they do but I think they are the plug-n-play information that goes back to the VGA card.
misjah
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 4:04 pm

Re: ST Vga help

Post by misjah »

I finished the cable and it`s working good. I made for both 9 and 15 pin connectors including audio RCA connector. (there`s also a little switch for high res)

Image
Image
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2828
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: ST Vga help

Post by alexh »

"I love it when a plan comes together"
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”