ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
Awol
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:04 am
Location: USA

Re: ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Post by Awol »

joska wrote:My AdSpeed16 has a socketed CPU. If your adapter is OK, the STE should boot and function normally if you remove the CPU from the AdSpeed and insert it directly in your adapter. This will tell you if the problems is with the adapter or with the AdSpeed.
Good idea, but the accelerator seems to be jammed into the adapter socket now! :x
wongck wrote:
Awol wrote:Here are some pictures. Don't laugh! It's my first ever attempt at circuitboard etching, and I didn't have the patience to figure out a circuit design program, so I hand drew the circuits with Sharpie and nail polish. I'm not the neatest at soldering either. :)
Nice one. Better than me, I will never able to do that!!
Thanks! :D
simbo wrote: advice is to use an lcd multimeter set beep test or low ohms / diode test range

and check track to track
I already did this, but I'll double check.
Those places you circled I already sliced with an exacto knife.
Thanks though! :cheers:
1040STE: 4MB RAM, TOS 2.06
Formerly Grey_and_Purple.
simbo

Re: ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Post by simbo »

no probs

i wonder have you ever use a steam iron and press and peal pcb etch system
you do need a laser printer or photocopier is the best...!!!

its very easy
just about any circuit cad works the same way

its a nice job and reminds me of the days i used to make 4 layer pcb bug using nail polish acitone
and will power late into the night
then sell the 5mm cube to someone who wanted to spy on a collegue etc for about 50 quid
runs on 3v lithium cell for 3 weeks

very hi gain mic infact its bigger than the transmitter
it ran at 400mhz exactly has a range of about 1 mile so you move closer as the battery runs down

used to spend hours drawing them by hand using sable 00 and 000 brush

nice job ....!!!
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13004
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Post by wongck »

may be the lines are too long and the signal not strong enough to get over it.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
Awol
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:04 am
Location: USA

Re: ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Post by Awol »

simbo wrote: i wonder have you ever use a steam iron and press and peal pcb etch system
you do need a laser printer or photocopier is the best...!!!
I read about that method and that's what I initially planned to do, but I didn't have a laser printer at home or know how to use a circuit CAD program, and I just wanted to get started right away. :)
wongck wrote:may be the lines are too long and the signal not strong enough to get over it.
Hm. Anyone else know if this could be the cause? What is the longest they can be then, and still work?
1040STE: 4MB RAM, TOS 2.06
Formerly Grey_and_Purple.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13004
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Post by wongck »

Awol wrote:
wongck wrote:may be the lines are too long and the signal not strong enough to get over it.
Hm. Anyone else know if this could be the cause? What is the longest they can be then, and still work?
:lol: That's be Simbo's dept.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
coze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Tokyo
Contact:

Re: ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Post by coze »

you just can't look at a picture and say 'wires should be max 5 cm' he has to check the signals via logic analyser or something for signal integrity.

but indeed those wires look too long and too thick. I don't think it'ld ever work (even if there are no shorts, etc.)

you either have to make a PCB or get that adapter you found earlier ...
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13004
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Post by wongck »

coze wrote:you just can't look at a picture and say 'wires should be max 5 cm' he has to check the signals via logic analyser or something for signal integrity.
Oh of course, the wires may introduce capacitance and resistance that affects the signal (probably smoothing it as well). And this may results in misalignment of the logics etc. Definately need some sort of analyser or oscilloscope to look at the waveform.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
Awol
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:04 am
Location: USA

Re: ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Post by Awol »

Well, I've declared this project a failure for now. I did learn a lot from the attempt though. Winter break is over and I've gone back to school. Maybe I'll give it another shot in the summer. If all else fails I can just stick the accelerator in my STF or sell it. Or perhaps trade with someone who's got an STE accelerator? :wink:
1040STE: 4MB RAM, TOS 2.06
Formerly Grey_and_Purple.
User avatar
coze
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 189
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:10 am
Location: Tokyo
Contact:

Re: ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Post by coze »

before you do that, can you put high res pics of the board online ? front and back, with CPU removed. :angel:
User avatar
Awol
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 6:04 am
Location: USA

Re: ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Post by Awol »

Sorry, but I'm back at school in NYC now and I left the accelerator at home in Miami. I brought my STE with me though. :)
1040STE: 4MB RAM, TOS 2.06
Formerly Grey_and_Purple.
User avatar
catmando
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1022
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:56 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: ICD AdSpeed ST: 16 MHz accelerator

Post by catmando »

Atari Falcon Tos 4.04 | 14mb | IDE CF 2GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62 | 4mb | HxC Slim SD 8GB
Atari STE Tos 1.62/2.06 | 4mb | Floppy A-B Mod | IDE SD 4GB
Atari STFM
Android Devices (Running Hataroid and SToid)

Atari Forum Wiki - Use it before asking
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”