anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by Shredder11 »

Thanks djbase, all your efforts are very much appreciated. 8)
User avatar
Erazotropa
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 9:37 am
Location: NetherWorld
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by Erazotropa »

@DJbase

Did you got my message (PB)?!?!

Bjorn
Björn - Erazotropa - Eraz
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1394
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by alanh »

Here's a couple of pictures of my EtherNEC's.

The first....

http://www.freemint.org/ethernec/enec1.jpg

The underneath with rubber feet to ensure a stable location :-)

http://www.freemint.org/ethernec/enec2.jpg
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by AtariSince1989 »

I got the EtherNEC last week and tried just yesterday. All seems to be OK. I have followed the instructions here, and I get Ping between the PC and the Atari.

Please, could somebody give me some advice about which software I could use on a STE with 4MB for FTP and maybe even Mail or Web? Thanks a lot.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by wongck »

AtariSince1989 wrote:Please, could somebody give me some advice about which software I could use on a STE with 4MB for FTP and maybe even Mail or Web? Thanks a lot.
Why not try to look at this page - http://jfhaslam.atari.org/download.htm#Internet.
There are some useful programs for Sting/Stik.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by AtariSince1989 »

wongck wrote:
AtariSince1989 wrote:Please, could somebody give me some advice about which software I could use on a STE with 4MB for FTP and maybe even Mail or Web? Thanks a lot.
Why not try to look at this page - http://jfhaslam.atari.org/download.htm#Internet.
There are some useful programs for Sting/Stik.
Superb! Thanks a lot. :cheers:
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by wongck »

AtariSince1989 wrote:
wongck wrote: Why not try to look at this page - http://jfhaslam.atari.org/download.htm#Internet.
There are some useful programs for Sting/Stik.
Superb! Thanks a lot. :cheers:
Ha ha :lol:
So these are missing from your "Atari ST essential software (The List)" thread. :cheers:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by DarkLord »

AtariSince1989 wrote:
wongck wrote:
AtariSince1989 wrote:Please, could somebody give me some advice about which software I could use on a STE with 4MB for FTP and maybe even Mail or Web? Thanks a lot.
Why not try to look at this page - http://jfhaslam.atari.org/download.htm#Internet.
There are some useful programs for Sting/Stik.
Superb! Thanks a lot. :cheers:
Back when I had my EtherNEC hooked up to my Mega ST (that runs my BBS), I used:

Newsie - newsgroups and e-mail
CAB - text only web browsing
Micq(sp?) - ICQ services

and all worked just fine. Micq was a very basic port - there are newer apps now
(recently updated) that I'm sure would be better.

Have fun! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
AtariSince1989
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 778
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 1:14 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by AtariSince1989 »

DarkLord wrote:Back when I had my EtherNEC hooked up to my Mega ST (that runs my BBS), I used:

Newsie - newsgroups and e-mail
CAB - text only web browsing
Micq(sp?) - ICQ services

and all worked just fine. Micq was a very basic port - there are newer apps now
(recently updated) that I'm sure would be better.

Have fun! :)
Thanks a lot. I got NEWSie already (but no tried yet). I'll get CAB and Micq too.

Thanks a lot.
- Atari 520 STe 4MB RAM + TOS 2.06 + UltraSatan
- Atari Falcon030 14MB RAM + TOS 4.04 + IDE-SD card HDD + NVRAM mod + SCSI buffer clock mod + EtherNEC
- Amstrad CPC 6128 + HxC USB Floppy Emulator
- Acorn A3010 4MB RAM + 40MB IDE HDD

Atari ST Essential software (The List)
My FTP Server: http://www.datavase.info/FTPserver (only from Midnight to 8am UK Time)
My music at http://soundcloud.com/datavase/
User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by Orion_ »

some hydra news anyone ? ^^

maybe we could start a specific topic for the hydra, because this one seems ethernec only
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB
User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by djbase »

Orion_ wrote:some hydra news anyone ? ^^
hehe....PCBs are ordered...
User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 446
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by Orion_ »

you mean, prototype pcbs ?
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + NOVA ET4000 + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB
User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by djbase »

Orion_ wrote:you mean, prototype pcbs ?
No, Prototype was done long time ago. This is now first release.
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5235
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by simonsunnyboy »

djbase wrote:
Orion_ wrote:you mean, prototype pcbs ?
No, Prototype was done long time ago. This is now first release.
Cool! Where to order? :D
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by djbase »

simonsunnyboy wrote:
djbase wrote:
Orion_ wrote:you mean, prototype pcbs ?
No, Prototype was done long time ago. This is now first release.
Cool! Where to order? :D
When its done.™
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by Shredder11 »

Oooh! I have been waiting for this!! Thanks djbase :D
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by Shredder11 »

I guess Christmas is in the way of things now, so the Hydra might be done by February at the soonest? :coffe:

I am so looking forward to this upgrade!...Can you tell? :wink: :lol:
User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by djbase »

Well its sometimes harder than expected. I am currently working on the first batch but some parts (chips) are sold out until end of january so I can only made available some of the boards. I am getting the ethernet chips and jack connectors this week. I will let you know if there are some updates.
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by Shredder11 »

Thanks for the update djbase it is very appreciated and I hope things go as planned for you. As long as it works properly etc I am sure it will be worth waiting longer for if necessary.
User avatar
1024MAK
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 652
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:58 am
Location: Looking forward to summer time in Somerset, UK...

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by 1024MAK »

djbase wrote:
When its done.™
I too am interested in a Hydra.

Please let us all know when you have some ready. :cheers:
Falcon, Atari 520ST, 520STFM, 1040STE, Mega, TT and more PC's than I care to count and an assortment of 8 bit micros (nearly forgot the Psion's).
Visit the Atari-Forum Wiki. Lots of technical info at DrCoolZic Atari ST Site :D
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12930
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by wongck »

Guess the snow is slowing things down abit.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
ENLIGHTENMENT
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by ENLIGHTENMENT »

Are the EtherNEC's available for purchase yet?
Falcon030 with CT63 - C-LAB Falcon MKX - Jaguar c/w Multimedia CD
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1394
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by alanh »

The EtherNEC's have been available for a while....

http://www.freemint.org/ethernec/ethernec.html

but the we're still waiting for Hydras.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
jd
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 383
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 12:38 pm
Location: Ruislip, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by jd »

any news on the hydra's?
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5235
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Well here in Germany they were already sold via atari-home. I don't know how about international orders...

See my short report in German in my blog: http://www.final-memory.org/?p=1306
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”