anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by djbase »

Orion_ wrote:any news about the hydra ?
Event for testing will take place in about 2 weeks. After that I will finish design and start production.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4724
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by joska »

Shredder11 wrote:...oh and anyone who does fancy the older style ethernet method, might like to bid on this:

Ebay auction number: 330358007268

Image
I'm not sure what you mean by "older style", but this is pretty much the same as the Ethernec. A ROMport-adapter with a RTL8019 connected to it via a ribbon cable. I'm not 100% sure about this, but I think they use the same driver too.

I have two of these BTW, and they work fine. Used them for years on my Falcon and TT, and never had any problems. I will probably replace them with Hydras though, as I think the Hydra is a neater solution than the Ethernec-style adapters.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by Shredder11 »

By older I meant the BNC connection but having looked at the photo more closely, I think I can see a RJ45 socket as well.
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by alanh »

The new ISA ethernet cards I'm getting only have RJ45 on them, no BNC at all.

The circuit boards have arrived. Yay. Just tested one too :-)

Just waiting for the ISA boards now.....
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4724
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by joska »

Shredder11 wrote:By older I meant the BNC connection but having looked at the photo more closely, I think I can see a RJ45 socket as well.
They have RJ45 as well.

I actually used mine with coax/BNC. It was quite neat, because I could just run single cable between all my computers and then to a hub which had both BNC and RJ45. Saved me a lot of clutter.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12928
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by wongck »

I have a Xircom parallel port ethernet PE3. Was trying to write a driver for it but didn't really started. Not sure what chipset, but it only have 10BaseT.
Kind of gave up on it as i then came across the Scsilink.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by alanh »

I'm pleased to announce the pricing of new EtherNEC boards.

The page is up at...

http://www.freemint.org/ethernec/ethernec.html

Apologies about higher shipping costs for international folks, but these are heavy and I always ship with delivery confirmation.

Shipping will start at the end of September.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
3AtariSTE
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:18 pm
Location: Cagliari, ITALY
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by 3AtariSTE »

alanh wrote:I'm pleased to announce the pricing of new EtherNEC boards.

The page is up at...

http://www.freemint.org/ethernec/ethernec.html

Apologies about higher shipping costs for international folks, but these are heavy and I always ship with delivery confirmation.

Shipping will start at the end of September.
Hi Alanh
Just some info before to order:
Could i use EtherNEC hardware without MinT?
I have Atari STe and Falcon computers, so i would to know if EtherNEC hardware works fine with them.

Pls let me know about
Maurizio
2xAtari 130XE+XF551+1050+XC11+XC12+SIO2PC+TouchTablet+LightPen+Philips CM8833II
Atari 1040STf (Boxed) + Atari 520STe + 5xAtari 1040STe 4Mb + 1x Jaguar....
Atari Italian Site: http://www.ataricomputers.altervista.org
Atari Italian Forum: http://ataricomputers.mastertopforum.net/
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by alanh »

It works with STiNG as well. Here are the instructions from Lyndon's site....

http://hardware.atari.org/sfl/index.htm
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by nativ »

alanh wrote:
nativ wrote:Hi,

What kind of card/s do you need on the PC to interface with?

Thanks

Ashley
Actually Ashley, maybe I misunderstood your question.

You said "on the PC" ??? That I did!!!!

I'm not sure what that means in this context, but I'm saying that you need an RTL8019AS ethernet chip on the ISA ethernet card that plugs into the EtherNEC adapter, which obviously then plugs into the ROM port of the Atari. As it's an ISA ethernet card it's capable of talking to other ethernet devices.

How do I go about linking the Ethernet conection to the PC from the Falcon/Ste , what card is required on the PC side anything special? Or just a normal ethernet card!?

Thanks

Hopefully clearer

Ashley
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by alanh »

You need an ethernet card with drivers for the operating system you are running on your PC.

But there's nothing that the EtherNEC forces the PC to use.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12928
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by wongck »

nativ wrote: How do I go about linking the Ethernet conection to the PC from the Falcon/Ste , what card is required on the PC side anything special? Or just a normal ethernet card!?
The Ethernet part of the ISA ethernet card is just normal RJ45 or BNC connectors.

If you use RJ45, then you probably connect to it to one of your adsl modem ethernet port. Most adsl modem has 4 x RJ45 ports. With the appropriate network ip address and configurations, you should see all the computers that are connected to those port and do any data transfer.

If you use BNC, then all computers just connect to the BNC cable via T-connectors. Again with appropriate network ip address and configurations, you should see all the computers that are connected to those port and do any data transfer. You don't need a hub for BNC, just remember the terminators.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
sgrddy
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 5:01 am

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by sgrddy »

Yes, I would love to buy one!!
User avatar
tjlazer
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 4:00 am
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by tjlazer »

I would like to order 2 or 3 Hydras depending on price. Can't wait... :)
Atari Computer Collector since 1984

From the 8-bit Atari 400 to the 32-bit Atari TT030!
User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2511
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by lp »

I would like to get one of these when it's available. Would be used on a TT030.
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by alanh »

I've managed to get 4 ethernet cards that have BNC & RJ45.

If you need BNC, then it's on a first come first served basis, but email me first to check if you want one of these.

Thanks.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by nativ »

Hi,

I've only recently got back into the PC side of things, and yet I have managed to aquire about 20 RJ45 ADSL adapters. I assume one of these will be usable! And I will not need to buy the ISA card, only the housing and the EtherNEC? Or just mthe NEC?

Can I have more than one Atari setup with the EtherNec? I tend to use an STe and a Falcon?

And on the software side of things is it very straightforward?

Many thanks

Ashley
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by Shredder11 »

djbase wrote:
Orion_ wrote:any news about the hydra ?
Event for testing will take place in about 2 weeks. After that I will finish design and start production.

Any more news? Many of us are eagerly awaiting the release! :cheers:
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by nativ »

Hydra????
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by Shredder11 »

Yes as it says in the quoted bit.
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by alanh »

nativ wrote:Hi,

I've only recently got back into the PC side of things, and yet I have managed to aquire about 20 RJ45 ADSL adapters. I assume one of these will be usable! And I will not need to buy the ISA card, only the housing and the EtherNEC? Or just mthe NEC?

Can I have more than one Atari setup with the EtherNec? I tend to use an STe and a Falcon?

And on the software side of things is it very straightforward?

Many thanks

Ashley
ADSL adapters aren't going to do you any good. You need Ethernet cards. And RTL8019AS chips on them too.

You could house it yoursel too.

The EtherNEC plugs into the ROM port, so with RJ45 connectors you'll need an ethernet switch to plug each machine into.

You might want to research ethernet networks first to familiarize yourself with how they are setup.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by nativ »

sure thing,

ADSL? or RJ45 I'll have to look at what the are i think it's the RJ connector? Does ADSL use the same?

thanks
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
alanh
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1392
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:01 pm
Location: North Wales, UK

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by alanh »

ADSL uses RJ11. i.e. your telephone socket.

RJ45 sockets are bigger.
Falcon CT60, Falcon CT63 x2, TT x3, MegaST x2, MegaSTE x2, STFM x2, STE x2, STacy, STBook, (Dead) Hades 060, Milan 060, T40.
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12928
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by wongck »

Most ADSL modem has 1 side RJ11 and the other RJ45.
So the phone line plugs into it, and your network line the other end. :mrgreen:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
djbase
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:05 am
Location: Made in Germany
Contact:

Re: anyone want EtherNEC's ?

Post by djbase »

Shredder11 wrote:
djbase wrote:
Orion_ wrote:any news about the hydra ?
Event for testing will take place in about 2 weeks. After that I will finish design and start production.

Any more news? Many of us are eagerly awaiting the release! :cheers:
I know, the problem is just the time. I will start to finish the layout and order the pcbs soon.
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”