Recapping STFM & STE PSU

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
PSIQ
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:00 pm

Recapping STFM & STE PSU

Post by PSIQ »

Is there a tutorial anywhere on how to recapp the PSU's on both my STE and STFM?

Is there anything else that should be recapped, replaced or removed?

thanks

Matt
User avatar
DoG
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:02 pm

Re: Recapping STFM & STE PSU

Post by DoG »

It's not one sort/version of PSU in a specific ST model. A few companies did PSU for Atari at the time and Atari used what they had in stock to put a STe/ST(f,m) together.

So you have to open up your Ataris and check model and revision of the PSU you have in yours.

I don't think there is tutorials out there. You just desolder a cap and solder in a new one of same size.
User avatar
Atari030
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:14 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Recapping STFM & STE PSU

Post by Atari030 »

This might help;

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/psu/index.htm

Oodles of info on all the PSU's I've ever recapped.
PSIQ
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2018 8:00 pm

Re: Recapping STFM & STE PSU

Post by PSIQ »

Thats brilliant.

Thanks for your help
Badwolf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: Recapping STFM & STE PSU

Post by Badwolf »

Not ST, but I'd imagine there's a good deal of overlap. I put together a video for the Falcon PSU earlier in the month: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ppJFRf5TIPA

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”