New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 958
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by stormy »

Hi all,

I don't think many people here may be aware of the following devices:
RaSCSI:
https://github.com/akuker/RASCSI/wiki
(Based on Raspberry Pi has advanced support for SCSI extensions like Daynaport ethernet, removable / hot swappable virtual scsi drives and more!)
BlueSCSI:
https://github.com/erichelgeson/BlueSCSI
(A cheap and basic device, based on BluePill, just copy disk images to your SD card name them ID_LUN_Name.hda and they are automatically mounted as SCSI devices, super simple compared to SCSI2SD and very cheap!)

Both devices are very interesting and are aimed towards Macs, but also work on other hardware. The more people who test on Atari would provide valuable feedback and boost development for Atari systems.

I have bought both as kits and will be building up soon. I hope other Atari users do the same - it is not often we get such great hardware that can be compatible with our machines from another 'community' so it would be good to test / feedback / contribute.
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb
User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1285
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by dhedberg »

Interesting! Please let us know how it goes!
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org.
Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo It's that time of the year again, or click here to feel the JOY.
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2229
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by Cyprian »

Sounds cool.
Mega ST 1 / 7800 / Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
DDD HDD / AT Speed C16 / TF536 / SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.atari.org
User avatar
atari_mark
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 12:30 pm
Location: Wigan, England
Contact:

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by atari_mark »

I have a BlueSCSI, just backing up my Falcon then I will test mine - maybe tonight.
Mac Sys Data/Persistence Of Vision

Instructions said to install Windows 2000 or better so I installed Fedora.
User avatar
atari_mark
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 12:30 pm
Location: Wigan, England
Contact:

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by atari_mark »

@stormy have you got your Bluescsi working? I have downloaded the .hda hard disk images (created for a Mac), the bluescsi detects the images and lists them on the correct SCSI id and LUN in the log.txt file but HDDriver can't see any new partitions. I may try PPs driver.
Mac Sys Data/Persistence Of Vision

Instructions said to install Windows 2000 or better so I installed Fedora.
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2483
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by calimero »

If it will work,

then real gold would be if CuBase Audio could use it for audio recording... :)
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
awmerwood
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2021 4:34 pm

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by awmerwood »

I have both of these for my Macs. What would I need to use these with my STE?
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5355
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by simonsunnyboy »

awmerwood wrote: Fri Jun 18, 2021 8:40 am I have both of these for my Macs. What would I need to use these with my STE?
An ACSI to SCSI interface and I think they are hard to find.
But otherwise once you have such a bridge I assume you can use MAc style SCSI devices with no problem, while having an appropriate hard disk driver though.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1279
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by Rustynutt »

Did a quick read. First thought it was a SCSI controller. Was curious how it physically connected, now know it's basically a card/device reader, attached to the SCSI bus.
Cool and all. Was hoping for a SCSI solution similar to those floppy disk emulator thing a ma bobs :)
User avatar
atari_mark
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 12:30 pm
Location: Wigan, England
Contact:

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by atari_mark »

I realised I never updated my status on this. I got it working after a few hours and it has been great. In hind sight I should have just continue to use my internal CF card. The reason I wanted a new SCSI device was to get rid of my SCSI disks but wanted to keep the SCSI CDROM. In the end I put my SCSI CDROM on a shelf and now just use the BLUEscsi as a micro sd card disk. Initially I thought maybe I could remove the SD card and put it in my PC to backup my files but the image is fixed and I have not found a PC app that can mount the image. If I used the internal CF card on it's own I would still have to open my Falcon case every time I wanted to back my data up. I have a frankinstein solution at the moment where I use Serial Disk or my Netusbee's USB port to copy data.
Mac Sys Data/Persistence Of Vision

Instructions said to install Windows 2000 or better so I installed Fedora.
stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 958
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by stormy »

atari_mark wrote: Mon Jun 21, 2021 10:38 am I realised I never updated my status on this. I got it working after a few hours and it has been great. In hind sight I should have just continue to use my internal CF card. The reason I wanted a new SCSI device was to get rid of my SCSI disks but wanted to keep the SCSI CDROM. In the end I put my SCSI CDROM on a shelf and now just use the BLUEscsi as a micro sd card disk. Initially I thought maybe I could remove the SD card and put it in my PC to backup my files but the image is fixed and I have not found a PC app that can mount the image. If I used the internal CF card on it's own I would still have to open my Falcon case every time I wanted to back my data up. I have a frankinstein solution at the moment where I use Serial Disk or my Netusbee's USB port to copy data.
It is because you need to be using a byte-swapped image file (like PP's 1GB image he allows for free) Or if you are using HD Driver when you make the image you need to click 'windows compatible' and 'byte swapped'
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb
DaveTC
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 10:18 pm

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by DaveTC »

I found Hatari will happily read the hda files so with a GEMDOS partition setup I can copy stuff to and from my BlueSCSI. I don't know if you use MiNT or Magic but there's ways to mount GEM, EXT2 or FAT32 partitions from within the image using linux as well.
User avatar
atari_mark
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 12:30 pm
Location: Wigan, England
Contact:

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by atari_mark »

@stormy, I do the 'windows compatible' when I partition my USB stick for use with my Netusbee.
Mac Sys Data/Persistence Of Vision

Instructions said to install Windows 2000 or better so I installed Fedora.
User avatar
atari_mark
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2002 12:30 pm
Location: Wigan, England
Contact:

Re: New SCSI Solutions for Atari!

Post by atari_mark »

@DaveTC I better fire up my copy of Hatari, thanks for the info.
Mac Sys Data/Persistence Of Vision

Instructions said to install Windows 2000 or better so I installed Fedora.
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”