ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
belzrebuth
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2014 5:02 am

Re: ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Post by belzrebuth »

Yes that seems to work.

Current consumption also dropped to max 100mA which seems more like it.
I don't know what changes in this firmware version but the previous one was really buggy in my system, 200mA and crazy behavior overall.
Off to do some more testing.
Thanks a ton :mrgreen:
stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 960
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Post by stormy »

Cool cool :)
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb
jonnixx
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:58 pm

Re: ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Post by jonnixx »

Hi,
I built an ACSI2STM (https://github.com/retro16/acsi2stm), but it does not work.
STM32: blue pill, like on the pictures.
firmware: best2.bin
SD Card: 8 GB (image: 1GB_ACSI2STM)
I tried it : Atari 520 STFM (4MB RAM) and Atari 1040 STF (4MB RAM)
The cables: i checked 3 times.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1z7DaIv ... sp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JMzUI5 ... sp=sharing
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1i_auBp ... sp=sharing

Could you please help me?
Regards,
John
User avatar
olivierg
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Post by olivierg »

Hello All,

I have the same problem, probably the Blue Pill is fake.
The picture of jonnixx is STM32F = fake (i have the same).

I try to order the chip on standard distributor like Farnell, RS, TME, Mouser, Digikey, not in stock.
Annonced for august 2021.

I throw an idea:
Why not use the RP2040 from raspberry pi (https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... g-started/).
Is lower price 4Euro, (probably more quick), but needed the voltage level translator.
I create example of schematic usint only through hole 'components':
RP2040 ACSI2SD.jpg
But i am not king of programming.
I'm just throwing the idea.

Thanks
Olivier
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06 SCSI2SD 5.x HD, Mega STE 4Mb TOS 2.06 DD, Mega ST4 DD miniCosmosEX, Mega ST2 DD, 1040 STE DD, 2 x 1040STFM DD, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1
jonnixx
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:58 pm

Re: ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Post by jonnixx »

Hi,

Olivier: thank you for your post.
I am looking for other STM32.

other: may i get the source code of best2.bin?

Thanks,
John
User avatar
mpattonm
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 8:52 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Post by mpattonm »

olivierg wrote: Tue Apr 06, 2021 8:15 pm
I'm just throwing the idea.

Thanks
Olivier
Port is probably a wise idea, as STM shortage in nowhere near end, so it seems. As for the bus driver, this might be a better option anyway: https://www.st.com/en/space-products/54ac164245.html
User avatar
olivierg
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Post by olivierg »

jonnixx wrote: Wed Apr 07, 2021 7:13 am other: may i get the source code of best2.bin?
I had found an update of Feb 5, 2021 for the problem with the STE, but unfortunately not the sources.
I don't know why the sources weren't published.

Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06 SCSI2SD 5.x HD, Mega STE 4Mb TOS 2.06 DD, Mega ST4 DD miniCosmosEX, Mega ST2 DD, 1040 STE DD, 2 x 1040STFM DD, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1
tzok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 259
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:22 pm
Location: Bielsko-Biala, PL
Contact:

Re: ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Post by tzok »

I have a genuine CKS32F103C8T6 ;) and they work fine in ACSI2STM.
jonnixx
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:58 pm

Re: ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Post by jonnixx »

Hi,
My problems are solved.
1., external power
2., I changed the SD Card power (VCC pin of SD Card) to 5V. (It was my fault: 3,3V OMG)
https://www.hestore.hu/prod_10036630.html
and :
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1EtH721 ... sp=sharing

Conclusion: My STM32F is not fake.
I bought that: https://www.hestore.hu/prod_10035522.html

Thank you for Your advice.
Regards,
John
User avatar
olivierg
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 2:10 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Post by olivierg »

Hello John,

You are true, is a clone.
It's the same for CKS32F103C8T6.

Thanks
Olivier
TT030 4/32 TOS 3.06 SCSI2SD 5.x HD, Mega STE 4Mb TOS 2.06 DD, Mega ST4 DD miniCosmosEX, Mega ST2 DD, 1040 STE DD, 2 x 1040STFM DD, 2 x 1040STF, MegaFile 30, Lynx 1
TXG/MNX
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:05 am

Re: ACSI2STM strange behaviour

Post by TXG/MNX »

Anyone looked at these boards
STM32H750VBT6
STM32H743VIT6
They have a sdcard on the pcb, support quad spi, dma and lots of ram and clock 400mhz+
They cost about 13€
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”