4096 color painting program for STE?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

4096 color painting program for STE?

Post by Omikronman »

Many years ago I have read a article about a painting program wich was able to display all 4096 STE colors together. I don´t remember the name of this program. The article said this painting software was very very slow and difficulty to use compared with spectrum 512. Does anyone know more about this software?
User avatar
ggn
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:49 pm

Post by ggn »

Quantum Paint
is 73 Falcon patched atari games enough ? ^^
User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Omikronman »

Ah, where can I get a image file of it?
User avatar
ggn
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:49 pm

Post by ggn »

A version is here... http://skyscraper.fortunecity.com/module/371/qpaint.zip

Dunno if it's the latest. I have it somewhere on my diskbox (I think version 2??).

George
is 73 Falcon patched atari games enough ? ^^
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11539
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Post by Mug UK »

Photochrome was (I think) the last of the super colour picture editing programs on the ST before everything headed in the direction of the Falcon.

Quantum Paint was one of the earlier ones along with Spectrum 512.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
User avatar
ggn
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1258
Joined: Sat Dec 28, 2002 4:49 pm

Post by ggn »

Yep, but photochrome didn't have any painting tools
is 73 Falcon patched atari games enough ? ^^
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11539
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Post by Mug UK »

Oops .. :oops:

Apologies :(
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
User avatar
Marcer
Atarilegend
Atarilegend
Posts: 4427
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: sweden

Post by Marcer »

Neo Chrome Master

put a raster on every scanline.. then you can have atleast 200*16 colours.

// Marcer
- Atari ST/FM/E - Mega sTe - Portfolio - Falcon 030 FX 3 in 1 -- Atari 7800/Lynx/Jaguar -
- FTP... Ask for info
- Atari Legend (Games all-a-round)
- Paradize (Chip Music)
- Elite (Atari Softs)
- The Legion (Demos)
- Alive Maggie Team
_/|\_YM-RockerZ_/|\_
User avatar
prog99
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 8:08 pm
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Post by prog99 »

ggn wrote:Quantum Paint
Yes but it was umm, not very good.

Spectrum 512 was much better.
All my real skills are undervalued
User avatar
Omikronman
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 12:13 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Omikronman »

I remember Spectrum 512 used 49 colors per line. I have the original disk and manual here. Let´s have a look inside. =)

3 minutes later...

Oh, I did something wrong with the manual. It seems that I have replaced it by my coding tricks. I can´t remember what happened to the original pages mh. =(

another 3 minutes later...

5 found the manual pages of Spectrum 512 =D

It says:

"Up to 48 colors can be used in one scanline. If you use color number 49 in a scanline, one color will be killed and replaced by the most similar existing one in this line."

It also says:

"Spectrum 512 needs about 80 percent of CPU time to display all 512 colors at the same time. To avoid slowing down several operations we turn off the color view in the meantime."
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1163
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Post by CiH »

"Spectrum 512 needs about 80 percent of CPU time to display all 512 colors at the same time. To avoid slowing down several operations we turn off the color view in the meantime."
I seem to remember a similar restriction for Quantum Paint. You couldn't see what you were doing, colourwise, until you actually did it.

And yes, it was a pig to use!
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"
User avatar
Dark Willow
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 676
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 10:59 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Dark Willow »

Spectrum 512 was one of the best applications for full colour palette painintg. It does actually support all 4096 cols as well, not 512 as the name suggests. I tried it once and was quite impressed, but gods, it is damned slow if you used to using a modern mac or pc paint program
TT030, 10mb/16mb, 3.5" SCSI multi-card reader (2gb CF/512mb SD), Matrix TC1006 gfx card, EtherNEC, Epson GT scanner, VanillaMint | 1040STe, 4mb, TOS 1.62, MegaFile 60, SM125 | Lynx II | 800XL, 64k, 1050 disk drive, XC12 tape deck, MicroLink parallel adapter

PuppySoft:Projects & More
Post Reply

Return to “Applications”