zView 1.0.2 released

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ThorstenOtto »

JeanMars wrote:I have 100 codecs or so in my codec folder, loading them is simply too costly compared to the possible usage.
Yes, but luckily most of them are the ones compiled by Lonny with Pure-C, so they are maybe 10k on average. That makes ~1MB total, which is currently IMHO acceptable, given that the old version took already ~8MB after startup. Also don't forget that you don't need to/should not install all codecs, especially if your are low on memory. Some of them actually load formats i never heard of.
only the SLB wrapper is loaded and loads 'true' SLB installed in gemsys/slb when image is loaded.
Unfortunately not yet, but that could be doable, too.
@Thorsten: having a look at the code, it seems that ldg libraries have preference to the new SLB model, is that intended?
No, there is no preference. The directory is scanned only once, and whichever is listed there first, will be used if there are duplicates. That sort of gives similar problems as order of programs in the auto folder, but having duplicate codecs would be waste of memory, anyway. I might add a check for duplicates, though. But i still hope to get rid of the old LDG codecs altogether, once the converted ones are available, making that check obsolete.

User avatar
lp
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2488
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 11:09 pm
Location: GFA Headquarters
Contact:

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by lp »

I've only converted two codecs so far, but they do shrink in size. The overall foot print will certainly be better than the LDG model. Disabling codecs that load obscure formats is certainly a good idea. Quite a few of them are obscure and unlikely to be found in the wild, you actually have to go looking for them because they are rare. ;)

JeanMars
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 255
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:15 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by JeanMars »

Hi Thorsten,
No, there is no preference. The directory is scanned only once, and whichever is listed there first, will be used if there are duplicates.
yes I missed that point, I was misinterpreting the code I read.

Paolo
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 463
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 3:43 pm
Location: Italy

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by Paolo »

ThorstenOtto wrote:Hi,

after almost 6 years, a new version of zView is now available.
WOW! I always loved zView, I can keep the love going :D

ldv-01
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: Italy

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ldv-01 »

Hi Torsten,
Thank you for this new release of zView.

I tested on the FireBee the v4e and 000 builds (both 1.02 distribution and 19135 snapshot): PDF, IMG, TIF & GIF images are loaded correctly. The 000 build works correctly on the FireBee (although really slow at loading imgs).

A few issues with the v4e build:
- When starting zView: I have twice the warning: "Attempt to use rename to move a file is disallowed".
- PNG and JPG images are not loaded with the warning "zView doesn't support this image format." FYI, the images browser doesn't display the previews of PNG and JPG images. (Same images are loaded / previewed in the 000 build).

Common to 000, 020 build (untested the v4e ):
- I found a PNG image that crashes the 000 and 020 builds (v4e untested). The same PNG is loaded correctly by zView 1.0 (mikro).

Ldv

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by nagual »

One dumb question:

What i need to run zView 1.0.2 ?
Only MiNT?
Is this work on Aranym with EmuTOS?
MagiC?

I try TOS/EmuTOS on Aranym, 68000 version, don't work, message is I need a newer AES ?

ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ThorstenOtto »

ldv-01 wrote:- When starting zView: I have twice the warning: "Attempt to use rename to move a file is disallowed".
I once also had this error. Reason was a mismatch between the compiled binary and the library used to build zView. Have to check that.
- PNG and JPG images are not loaded with the warning "zView doesn't support this image format."
Most likely caused by the error messages above, because the plugins could not be loaded.
although really slow at loading imgs
Yes you should really use the v4e build even on FireTOS. Otherwise lots of instructions have to be emulated.
- I found a PNG image that crashes the 000 and 020 builds (v4e untested).
If possible, can you send it?

ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ThorstenOtto »

nagual wrote: Only MiNT?
Is this work on Aranym with EmuTOS?
MagiC?
Haven't tried with EmuTOS yet, but it should work. At least it works with TOS 2.06/3.06. MagiC should work too.
message is I need a newer AES ?
Are you sure this message is from zView?

ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ThorstenOtto »

ThorstenOtto wrote:Have to check that.
Just did that, recompiled all libraries that are in use, and they are identical to the ones in the archive...

Did you copy the libraries to some other directory? Or are they maybe already in use by some other application, like Vision?

nagual
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 10:15 am
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by nagual »

EmuTOS+Aranym+fvdi+nvdi works OK:-)
Tos404+Aranym in any combination show following error - see attachment.

Is the problem with fVDI/NVDI ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2165
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by mikro »

Yes, you need either NVDI or enhancer.prg (attached to the original zview archive).

ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ThorstenOtto »

I have to check that, but i guess that's even unneeded. zView does not use anything from NVDI but vq_scrninfo. Without looking at enhancer, i think it can only get the information from the original VDI. And that could be done by zView, too.

ldv-01
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:14 pm
Location: Italy

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ldv-01 »

Hi,
I checked again my setup but I haven't found any SLB library doubles (The only SLB available are those copied from zview folder to mint/slb) and yes, Vision was not loaded. Still unable to load JPG and PNG files with zView.

Ldv
ThorstenOtto wrote:
ldv-01 wrote:- When starting zView: I have twice the warning: "Attempt to use rename to move a file is disallowed".
I once also had this error. Reason was a mismatch between the compiled binary and the library used to build zView. Have to check that.
- PNG and JPG images are not loaded with the warning "zView doesn't support this image format."
Most likely caused by the error messages above, because the plugins could not be loaded.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1410
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Finally got my Hades hooked back up. zView working really well there. Takes about 1.5-1.6MB with letting everything load.

ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ThorstenOtto »

Does anybody know which window frame manager was used when taking those screenshots (they are contained in the hypertext):
cardformat.jpeg
browser.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
rudis
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 9:41 am

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by rudis »

MagiC Winframe by Eric ... dosnt remember..

ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ThorstenOtto »


User avatar
Neurotoxic
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 120
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:29 pm
Location: Bremen (Germany)
Contact:

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by Neurotoxic »

ThorstenOtto wrote:Yes, thanks, found it: http://www.ersoftware.fr/atari/wind.html
Unfortunately it's only a demo version. I sent him a an e-mail years agao asking for the full version. I wanted to pay for the full version but I never got an answer. In the demo version the frame will turn into black and white after ten mintues and remains in that state. So it wasn't useable for me. :(
520 ST(M) (TOS 1.02), Falcon030 (16 MHz, 16 MB RAM, CF-Card, MiNT & MyAES), Milan040 (25 MHz, 48 MB RAM, EasyMiNT 1.90), Firebee, PowerMac G5 Late 2005 (2 x 2,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.5), iMac 4K Late 2015 (intel Core i7 4 x 3,3 GHz, Mac OS 10.11.6), IBM XT SFD (640 KB RAM, DR DOS 6.0), Compaq LTE 5300 (Pentium/133 MHz, DR-DOS 7.03), AT-PC (Cyrix 6x86L/200 MHz, Windows 98 SE/MS-DOS 6.22 & Windows 3.11)

ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ThorstenOtto »

Yes, noticed that already. But i only need it to make some new screenshots for the documentation, where the dialogs have changed, so i can live with that.

Still too bad that there is no full version available, looks really nice.

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2165
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by mikro »

If the black&white effect is the only limitation, I guess it shouldn't be too hard to make it a full version. ;-)

ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ThorstenOtto »

Its the only one mentioned, i haven't seen other limitation yet, so go ahead ;)

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1410
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Yes, that would be good. It's a nice winframe.

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1410
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Ok, the reg version of the XGem winframe was released in 2000 by Elite. Thanks to nagual for remembering this! :cheers:
XGM165R.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Playmobil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 167
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by Playmobil »

TheNameOfTheGame wrote:Ok, the reg version of the XGem winframe was released in 2000 by Elite. Thanks to nagual for remembering this! :cheers:

XGM165R.zip
Maybe yo do put it in this tread too : http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=32323

ThorstenOtto
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1080
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: zView 1.0.2 released

Post by ThorstenOtto »

And here a patched version of 0.78 (it is actually newer than the one attached above, which is version 0.65, not 1.65). This seems to be the most recent version, and has (amongst others) support to display miniicons in the titlebar.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “Applications”