ST DESK

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 450
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

ST DESK

Post by Moulinaie »

Hello,

I have improved my Color STE, named now ST DESK. Works on ST, Mega ST and STE. It brings a new set of 12 icons in every resolution and a sound at startup.
In ST LOW, you get color icons, color windows.

Image

Image

Image

Everything on my page:

http://gtello.pagesperso-orange.fr/colorste.htm

Guillaume.
User avatar
nativ
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4106
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:26 am
Location: South West, UK

Re: ST DESK

Post by nativ »

8) 8) :cheers: 8) 8)
Atari STFM 512 / STe 4MB / Mega ST+DSP / Falcon 4MB 16Mhz 68882 - DVD/CDRW/ZIP/DAT - FDI / Jaguar / Lynx 1&2 / 7800 / 2600 / XE 130+SD Card // Sega Dreamcast / Mega2+CD2 // Apple G4

http://soundcloud.com/nativ ~ http://soundcloud.com/nativ-1 ~ http://soundcloud.com/knot_music
http://soundcloud.com/push-sounds ~ http://soundcloud.com/push-records
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2290
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: ST DESK

Post by Cyprian »

looks really great
Mega ST 1 / 7800 / Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
DDD HDD / AT Speed C16 / TF536 / SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.atari.org
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5379
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: ST DESK

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Interesting hack for 1.x TOses.

On TOS 2.x I assume it is not necessary except for the startup sound? DESKICON.RSC and Window color CPX are already available there or am I mistaken? (I'm sure the WIndow color CPX works)
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 450
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by Moulinaie »

simonsunnyboy wrote: On TOS 2.x I assume it is not necessary except for the startup sound? DESKICON.RSC and Window color CPX are already available there or am I mistaken? (I'm sure the WIndow color CPX works)
Yes, DESKICON and colors in windows are available!
But, COLORTOS exists and give you color icons and 3D effects on the windows buttons!
This program was an extention of my Color_MSTE that Ronald Anderson brought up to a better level.

You can see the effect of ColorTOS on my Mega STE with the AlberTT graphic card (1024*768*16 colors) at the bottom of this page:

http://gtello.pagesperso-orange.fr/mste_e.htm

Guillaume.
User avatar
Zogging Hell
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 898
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2006 12:08 pm
Location: Monthault, France
Contact:

Re: ST DESK

Post by Zogging Hell »

Looks like good work :) Just wondering, the drive letters seem to be in odd places on the drive icons, not where you'd expect them to be (like on the label of the floppy disk icon). Is this for some reason, or is it a bug?
Firebee, Falcon CT60, Milan 040, Falcon MkI, TT, Mega STe, Mega ST + Lots of STs of various flavours
Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 450
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by Moulinaie »

Zogging Hell wrote:Looks like good work :) Just wondering, the drive letters seem to be in odd places on the drive icons, not where you'd expect them to be (like on the label of the floppy disk icon). Is this for some reason, or is it a bug?
Your observation is correct!
I have tried to make the system write the letter where I want to, but for now, it's not a success... The GEM goes on writting the letter where it is in the standard icon. Maybe I'll fix that in the future..!
The best would be to build icons with the same letter position as the original.

Guillaume.
User avatar
rocket-dog
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:13 pm
Location: Great Britain - The Kingdom of Mercia

Re: ST DESK

Post by rocket-dog »

Wow.
Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 450
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by Moulinaie »

Hi again,

I'm working on the background... Looks cool ! But not finished as I have to find some system addresses for the TOS 1.4/1.2/1.0

Image

Image

Image

This background remains active when an application is running, here my FORTH editor:

Image

Guillaume.
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2290
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: ST DESK

Post by Cyprian »

yes yes yes
:)
Mega ST 1 / 7800 / Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
DDD HDD / AT Speed C16 / TF536 / SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.atari.org
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4798
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: ST DESK

Post by DarkLord »

I'll second the idea of another person who asked if you could make the low-res
icons *smaller*, so that it winds up with more available desk space.

Guillaume, you keep this up and you might just make low-res a viable option
again! :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
bullis1
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2301
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:32 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: ST DESK

Post by bullis1 »

This looks very nice. Good work, and I look forward to any more improvements you might make to your desktop enhancements.
Member of the Atari Legend team
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13128
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: ST DESK

Post by wongck »

Moulinaie wrote:I'm working on the background... Looks cool ! But not finished as I have to find some system addresses for the TOS 1.4/1.2/1.0
Yes, it looks great. the blank background does needs a face-lift....
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: ST DESK

Post by CiH »

This is bringing the bare looking desktop on a Tos 1.xx machine up to Tos 2.xx levels of eye candy and retinal comfort. Nice work Guilliame! And if you can do something with the background too.
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"
Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 450
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by Moulinaie »

DarkLord wrote:I'll second the idea of another person who asked if you could make the low-res
icons *smaller*, so that it winds up with more available desk space.
again! :)
I didn't though of that.. A nice idea. But this would require to change the system at a higher level.
For now, I only patch some graphic routines that draw rectangles (background, icons).
To change the icon size, I must patch the AES !!! And, in 192KB, it's hard to find where are managed the icons....

SOME NEWS:
----------------

ST DESK is ready to work with the backgrounds in every resolution. You can download it.
I'd like to have some testers for TOS<1.6 (1.4, 1.2, 1.0).
Please help !!

http://gtello.pagesperso-orange.fr/colorste.htm

Guillaume.
spiny
Disk Imager Supreme
Disk Imager Supreme
Posts: 2718
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 11:53 pm
Location: just outside bristol
Contact:

Re: ST DESK

Post by spiny »

great work :)
Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 450
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by Moulinaie »

Thanks to all for your support!

Here is a better video of ST DESK (sorry for the US, the video is blocked because I added some music...):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z0P1uY2x_7c

Guillaume.
Moulinaie
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 450
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by Moulinaie »

For those who can't access the video, here is a new link but (sorry again!) without the annotations that came in Youtube to comment the video.

http://dl.free.fr/qN0zXPved

Guillaume.
User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham
Contact:

Re: ST DESK

Post by bid »

Guillaume, what I great job. I have spoken with you before, and complimented you on you great website and experiments!

The new version now called ST DESK looks great.

... Now I wish I had some Amiga owning friends to show this off to. lol :lol:

Such a great and elegant way to make the ST look great, and yet keep everything nice and compatible/legal on the software front.

Just great. And as you say, this is even better when using a graphics card or higher colour resolutions.

What I like about it is its ... so Atari. So pure and everything still looks like Shiraz Shivji would have intended! :D
My company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com[/i][/color]
AtariLikerMan0
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2012 12:30 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by AtariLikerMan0 »

Good looking stuff.
User avatar
elluigi
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:07 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by elluigi »

Bonjour Guillaume,

Gros deterrage de topic pour un superbe programme ! Cela fonctionne parfaitement en cliquant sur l'icone, j'ai juste un petit soucis lorsque j'utilise un dossier Auto j'ai un bureau tout noir !

Si jamais tu peux m'aider ce serait genial ;-)

Merci.

:cheers:

(1040 STE 4mb avec ultrasatan)
Playmobil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by Playmobil »

Mais il est partout Gerard Holtz ! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Pour résoudre ton soucis, je pense que tu dois lancer STDESK via le DESKTOP.INF et non par le dossier AUTO...

To solve your problem, I think you should run STDESK via the DESKTOP.INF and not via the AUTO folder ...

From memory, you need to add an #Z line in it to point to STDESK.PRG... IIRC...


EDIT : Yes, I'm right... Found this exemple :

Code: Select all

#Z 01 F:\RUNPROG\PROGRAM.PRG@ 

Program to Auto-run at bootup. Does not apply to TOS earlier than 1.04.
You can edit your DESKTOP.INF with any text editor...
Last edited by Playmobil on Thu Oct 07, 2021 9:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
elluigi
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 2:07 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by elluigi »

Hey hey ;-)

Mais si tu regardes bien le site de Guillaume https://gtello.pagesperso-orange.fr/colorste.htm il indique bien : "Le mieux est de le lancer depuis le dossier AUTO, dans ce cas STDESK.RSC et STDESK.SND/YM doivent être copiés à la racine du disque de boot" ce qui correspond a mon besoin amigo Playmo ;-)
Playmobil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by Playmobil »

I had edited my Post, look... Try this methode...
Playmobil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: ST DESK

Post by Playmobil »

And I don't know how many PRG you have in your AUTO folder, some PRG need to be run before another... Maybe the triks...

And wich TOS you have... I think you have an STE...
Post Reply

Return to “Applications”