Thing desktop to be open source

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by joska »

No sources so far :(

But 1.29 has been unearthed, I will test it quite soon and if it turns out to be OK it will be made available for download.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by EvilFranky »

Probably quite a bit of work to be done before they can release them I suppose.

It's been a very long time since I used Thing day-to-day, what immediate flaws need to be addressed once the code is made public?

What have people noticed running Thing on higher spec hardware? Bit depth problems? Res problems?

What would people like to see implemented?

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by joska »

Thing is quite complete IMO. The biggest problem is doesn't handle filenames longer than 32 characters. This is a big problem - if it find such a file it stops reading the folder so only some of the files will be displayed.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12883
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by wongck »

joska wrote:This is a big problem - if it find such a file it stops reading the folder so only some of the files will be displayed.
Yikes. It will definitely be a real bad feature.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 880
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by EvilFranky »

There you go, that's the sort of issue I meant :)

I would suspect that this would be the first thing that is resolved when the code is released!

m0n0
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 3:13 am
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by m0n0 »

The authors didn't release the source yet - altough they said they will do it, AFAIK. :/

That's not so good...

carlywhoo
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:34 am

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by carlywhoo »

I'm using MAGXDESK with MAGIC v.5 atm.
Do you think Thing is better?
Should I try it?
Or what about Ease or Jinnee?

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12883
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by wongck »

Jinne is better than the others.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

Ato
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:27 am
Location: Ruinerwold, Netherlands

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by Ato »

Hi folks,

has anybody been able to find Thing 1.29? Does anybody know what the status of the intended source code release is?

Cheers,
T.

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12883
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by wongck »

Found mine inside the software package of FireBee. The url was posted in one of the post in the PH Gmap thread.
( I think it that one, there were several PHSW threads going on then).
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4619
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by joska »

wongck wrote:Found mine inside the software package of FireBee. The url was posted in one of the post in the PH Gmap thread.
( I think it that one, there were several PHSW threads going on then).
Yes, Thing! 1.29 can be found here.

Sources: http://atariforge.org/gf/project/thing/scmsvn/
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Firebee - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64

User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2325
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: STara Pazova, Serbia
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by calimero »

is this site of author of Thing Desktop?

http://arnowelzel.de/wiki/en/computer/c ... geschichte
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X

User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12883
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by wongck »

Nice find. :cheers:
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by jfl »

Speaking of Thing: I seem to remember that when I got my FireBee I was able to focus the desktop by clicking the background window, like Jinnee and Teradesk allow to do. Now it doesn't work anymore and I can't figure out why. I always have to click one of its windows to bring Thing to the front. Anyone can confirm whether I dreamt that Thing could be brought to the front by clicking its background window?

helmut
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:30 pm

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by helmut »

jfl wrote:Speaking of Thing: I seem to remember that when I got my FireBee I was able to focus the desktop by clicking the background window, like Jinnee and Teradesk allow to do. Now it doesn't work anymore and I can't figure out why. I always have to click one of its windows to bring Thing to the front. Anyone can confirm whether I dreamt that Thing could be brought to the front by clicking its background window?
It works in thing 1.27 on aranym.

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by jfl »

helmut wrote:
jfl wrote:Speaking of Thing: I seem to remember that when I got my FireBee I was able to focus the desktop by clicking the background window, like Jinnee and Teradesk allow to do. Now it doesn't work anymore and I can't figure out why. I always have to click one of its windows to bring Thing to the front. Anyone can confirm whether I dreamt that Thing could be brought to the front by clicking its background window?
It works in thing 1.27 on aranym.
Strange. I tried with 1.27 and it didn't work either. Is there an option for this it the preferences? My version is in German so I may have missed it.

helmut
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:30 pm

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by helmut »

jfl wrote: Strange. I tried with 1.27 and it didn't work either. Is there an option for this it the preferences? My version is in German so I may have missed it.
There is an option "Allow background selection ..." in Configuration->Window 1, could be
"... Hintergund-Selektion ..." in Konfiguration->Fenster 1 but that doesn't change anything.

I have the english version as you might have noticed ;)

User avatar
jfl
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 885
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:55 pm
Location: Liège, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by jfl »

helmut wrote:
jfl wrote: Strange. I tried with 1.27 and it didn't work either. Is there an option for this it the preferences? My version is in German so I may have missed it.
There is an option "Allow background selection ..." in Configuration->Window 1, could be
"... Hintergund-Selektion ..." in Konfiguration->Fenster 1 but that doesn't change anything.
Actually, it does, a bit. When off, it's simpler to focus one of Thing's windows. So it's alreay better like this. Thanks.

sashapont
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 9:40 pm

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by sashapont »

Where I can download 1.29 binary for falcon?
Atari Falcon, Firebee

tommo
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:00 pm

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by tommo »

That can be found here:

https://atari.joska.no/firebee-mint/
file: FireBee-FreeMiNT-setup-20120513.zip (35mb)
Inside the folder thing (5mb)
thing 1.27 & 1.29

thing 1.30 c-source is on github.
https://github.com/arnowelzel/thing
need pure-c 1.1 to compile (see text file)

If someone has done that,
It might be nice on a abandom ware/essential software list.

User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2106
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Thing desktop to be open source

Post by Eero Tamminen »

Is there a 68000 build of latest Thing somewhere?

Post Reply

Return to “Applications”