Falcon AES on MegaSTE

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
mib5150
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2003 12:40 pm
Location: Vårkumla, West Gothia, Sweden
Contact:

Falcon AES on MegaSTE

Post by mib5150 »

The chairman of Svenska Atariklubben (Swedish Atari Club) and also my good friend: Peter Persson told me the other day that parts of the source for TOS 4.04 was leaked a few years back, and since he knew that I have a MegaSTE up and running, he asked me to try the AES 3.40 included.

Normally TOS2.06 runs AES 3.20 (at least my MegaSTE did) but using 3.40 was cool. 3D-effects on the windows and with deskicon.rsc installed too, I had colour icons as well!
megaste.jpg
The source can be found on http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/

One word: Spiffy! :) TOS2.06 with Falcon looks ain't the worst around... too bad it looks so crammed in ST LOW. And talking about ST LOW - the Display Options is for Falcon in AES 3.40, so it is a bit redundant about columns and colours. :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
DarkLord
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 4497
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Falcon AES on MegaSTE

Post by DarkLord »

You can get that even on a lowly ST - with MultiTOS (bugs, warts, and all) in
low res...

Sure wish we could get that look in 640x200. :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 520
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12961
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Falcon AES on MegaSTE

Post by wongck »

WOW.... this is interesting.
Sure would be nice but IIRC it's mostly cosmetic eye-candy only.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham
Contact:

Re: Falcon AES on MegaSTE

Post by bid »

I am planning to put a graphics card into my MSTE and I was wondering if this AES if available for general download and playing around with. I dont mind burning or using a softloader.

Also check this cool video of Multi-TOS out on a normal 4MB STe http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZEBjm4R16nM - I really like this video!!
My company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com[/i][/color]
User avatar
TTowner
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2008 4:53 am
Location: NR Birmingham. UK

Re: Falcon AES on MegaSTE

Post by TTowner »

mib5150 wrote:The chairman of Svenska Atariklubben (Swedish Atari Club) and also my good friend: Peter Persson told me the other day that parts of the source for TOS 4.04 was leaked a few years back, and since he knew that I have a MegaSTE up and running, he asked me to try the AES 3.40 included.

Normally TOS2.06 runs AES 3.20 (at least my MegaSTE did) but using 3.40 was cool. 3D-effects on the windows and with deskicon.rsc installed too, I had colour icons as well!
megaste.jpg
The source can be found on http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/

One word: Spiffy! :) TOS2.06 with Falcon looks ain't the worst around... too bad it looks so crammed in ST LOW. And talking about ST LOW - the Display Options is for Falcon in AES 3.40, so it is a bit redundant about columns and colours. :)
Wiki doc on Gem http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graphical_ ... nt_Manager
A newer version of the AES is what I have asked about in the past.
Modding an existing Tos to encompass such an AES enhancement is a matter of choice.
I believe it is entirely possible to do this, however it would require that the existing tos be dissassembled and recompiled with the later AES code.

Whilst this is a task that can be easily accomplished by those in the know. I would suggest that a topic be opened on doing just that.
It could take into account ideas, some of which may end up in the final version for general release.

Some attempts to enhance the AES environment have already been made available, but in some cases such as LDG http://ldg.sourceforge.net/. it utilises an environment enhancement to achieve its desired result of integrating several minor enhancements to link apps together & may not be completely suited to the taks in an single task environment.

None the less, is a a good AES addition.
Then there is Windom http://windom.sourceforge.net/
A high level GEM library for TOS system

This AES enhancement tool is begging to be utilised on ST's
It allows programmers to concentrate on making a program, while it takes care of aes generation. Documentation on the App is here http://windom.sourceforge.net/doc/html/index.html


Then there was MYaes & Naes. both are excellent replacements for the AES. However are currently only viable in MINT environments.
Such a pitty realy as these are some nice code.

I've always wondered to this day if any of these code could be added to tos ?
But in order to do so, a whole new set of roms and adressing them would have to be incorporated.
A hardware hack to allow bigger Rom capacity as well as a Rom chip & mod of the main board to accomodate such an enhancement could be done at little cost nowadays.

Perhaps the tos switching rom enhancement posted elsewhere could be modded to accept a 4 meg set of roms ????Now we are looking into a mod that would drag most ST's into the 21st Century if that could be made to work.

Food for thought I say!

Anyone out there willing to accept such a challenge?
I for one would pay someone £50.00 to make a bigger hardware / firmware Tos set possible. Just let me know when it has been done & the cash is yours M8! :D

Have you ever wondered where the Atari Gem desktop came from?
Digital research were making Gem for ages before the gates of the world interfered, It was almost the OS of PC's back in the day.
Their version was known as Freegem

Free gem is here. http://www.seasip.info/Gem/History/freegem.html source code is available. downloads are here http://www.deltasoft.com/downloads.htm
Worth a look maybe? Especially as the Freegem is the basis for Atari Gem.. FreeGEM includes support for background images and colour icons; both of these features were part of the planned ViewMAX/3 desktop.
This OS is possibly so close to TOS as not to matter much.

GEM did have notable sales. In fact, Tandy Computer sold GEM bundled with their PC. However, for whatever reason, Digital Research didn’t aggressively promote GEM. It may have been that they had problems getting applications developed for GEM (Microsoft had similar problems with their early versions of Windows). Or, Digital Research may have decided that people were too locked into DOS and DOS applications to consider switching to another operating system. Digital Research appears as to have decided to sell GEM where it could. Although GEM didn’t take over the PC desktop, it appeared in other places. For instance, it was used as an interface for desktop publishing software.

The GEM operating system also appeared on other computers. One of them was the Atari ST. Interestingly, that version of GEM had the trash can. Evidently, Apple didn’t see GEM on the Atari ST as a threat.

The first versions of GEM were designed to run on early and mid 1980s PCs. As such, GEM may be a good choice for running on low end PCs today. Original That is not the end of GEM – GEM continues today. The company that took over ownership of GEM released it to the public. A number of developers took over GEM,and it continues to be developed currently. GEM is a nice choice for older computers and should run quite fast on most newer computers. Information and downloads can be found at:



http://www.deltasoft.com [Current GEM development site with downloads]

http://www.seasip.info/Gem/index.htm [General information and downloads]


The above sites provideGEM downloads and technical information. Other older and current versions of GEM can be found with a little searching [try FREEGEM as a search term]. Certain versions of GEM can be run on a 20 year old 286.

RELATED SITES


Other information on the original GEM:
http://members.fortunecity.com/pcmuseum/gem.htm
1 Hades060 & 3 TT030 machines.Nova & Spektrum Graphics cards,1 Reibel network card,Slm Lazer printer, Epson GT600 flatbed, 1 SCSi to IDE interface + UltraSatan. Nakamachi 7 & 5 CD disk changers. 1 Mega STE.
User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham
Contact:

Re: Falcon AES on MegaSTE

Post by bid »

TTowner wrote:... Perhaps the tos switching rom enhancement posted elsewhere could be modded to accept a 4 meg set of roms ????Now we are looking into a mod that would drag most ST's into the 21st Century if that could be made to work. ....
Hi, I can't quote everything that you have said, but I very much agree. Great post by the way.

Come on lets hear it for plain single TOS! I have started a new thread here ... Project for a New Atari Century! http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=21520

:D
My company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com[/i][/color]
User avatar
bid
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 2:04 pm
Location: Rotherham
Contact:

Re: Falcon AES on MegaSTE

Post by bid »

Great post. I think it would be very possible to make a TOS 2.06 and 3.06 with WiNX, other patches, AES3.4 and some other 'annoyances' got rid of.

Perhaps discuss here http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=21520 as a suggestion?

We are going to have to learn to read German or Swedish though! 8)

The .FIL files for TOSPATCH contain markup, but I cant't yet understand it, or the documentation manuals!!

Not sure of the method for AES switch, but I am sure we can find out.
My company website http://www.thebigconsultant.com[/i][/color]
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2276
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Falcon AES on MegaSTE

Post by mikro »

While it's a great technical achievement, DarkLord is right, you can have this "officially", with Atari's MultiTOS (and later, of course, with XaAES).
Post Reply

Return to “Applications”