SoftPC working copy?

All about the serious stuff.

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Badwolf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:09 pm

SoftPC working copy?

Post by Badwolf »

Does anyone actually have a working version of SoftPC (PC emulator for the TT and Falcon)?

I'm intrigued to see how it worked, but cannot get it to do *anything* other than run the cursor down the screen either on real hardware on under emulation. Tried with DOS 3.3 and 6.0.

I've seen a few people report similar problems to me, but others seem to imply they've got it working. Would anyone of the latter mind zipping up their whole SoftPC folder for posterity & letting us know which version of DOS to use?

Ta,

BW.
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by frank.lukas »

I try it without any luck ...

1,44MB Bootfloppys do not work. 720kB DOS 4.01 Disk boot up but with two bombs ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2844
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by charles »

Curious....pc ditto in same category...
I never got it working on st ....
Any of these pc emulators function?
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
Badwolf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by Badwolf »

I'm always a fan of pushing the early hardware to its absolute limit and emulators fall into that category for me. I'd love to see this working. I have a physical DOS3.2 720k floppy somewhere but damned if I know where. I suspected a 1.44/720 limit too, Frank.

Elsewhere I saw OL published a port of Minivmac, but unfortunately it needs an FPU and there was no source accompanying it.

I did have a build of FUSE (modern Spectrum emulator) working, but seem to have lost that now.

Perhaps someone will know the secret to SoftPC, though. :-)

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)
User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1086
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by shoggoth »

What CPU are you on, @Badwolf?
Ain't no space like PeP-space.
penguin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 10:43 am

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by penguin »

Yes, I'm one of those people who got it working. But it was about two decades ago - I only used SoftPC for an article about emulators and took a screenshot of the emulator running QBasic+Gorilla.
AtariUpToDate - Atari ST/TT/Falcon software database and version tracker: https://www.atariuptodate.de
ST-Computer magazine - https://www.st-computer.org/
Badwolf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by Badwolf »

shoggoth wrote: Thu Jun 17, 2021 7:49 pm What CPU are you on, @Badwolf?
030. Same behaviour on real and emulated. Falcon or TT.

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)
Badwolf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by Badwolf »

penguin wrote: Thu Jun 17, 2021 8:30 pm Yes, I'm one of those people who got it working. But it was about two decades ago - I only used SoftPC for an article about emulators and took a screenshot of the emulator running QBasic+Gorilla.
A true classic!

You don't recall the setup at the time? Falcon? TT? Hard disc driver? Anything? :)

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by Rustynutt »

Badwolf, set you up a link on Google Drive.
Check your messages.
Badwolf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by Badwolf »

Rustynutt wrote: Fri Jun 18, 2021 5:50 am Badwolf, set you up a link on Google Drive.
Check your messages.
Thanks, Rusty, that worked!

It boots DOS 5 from its virtual C drive. Will crash with a readable floppy in the drive. Won't boot a 1.44 DOS 3.3 disc. :cheers:

I'll have a play around with it and see if I can distil the minimum working configuration to improve the world's pool of knowledge. :D

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by Rustynutt »

Don't know if it makes a hoot. Ran across some old DR DOS disk bit ago. Think that was the DOS I'd used.
Know with the Falcon Speed card used MS DOS/WIN 3.1.
Was 42 in 98 🥵
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2086
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by frank.lukas »

720kB MSDOS 5.0 install disk can boot it up?
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
shoggoth
Nature
Nature
Posts: 1086
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2006 9:21 am
Location: Halmstad, Sweden
Contact:

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by shoggoth »

I booted DOS 6.22 from floppy a while ago. It has to be a proper bootable DOS disk.
Ain't no space like PeP-space.
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by Rustynutt »

Didn't post the link at first, honestly had no clue other than 23 years ago remembering it worked on an Afterburner Falcon.

Also, I'm clueless about Google online storage or download limits.

This file (and pretty much all other non related stuff there, is set to share.
(Check out the art my mom drew as a teen, maybe 1944 or a bit later :) ).
Ignore the dirt bike stuff.
That's where "Rustynutt" comes from. :lol

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1wLuwJn ... p=drivesdk
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1267
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: SoftPC working copy?

Post by Rustynutt »

Had DR GEM on a Sperry 8088 back when, didn't know about these utilities.

ViewMax has a familiar look :)

Might be useful using SoftPC.

Imagine booting EmuTOS CLI from ROM, launching SoftPC, then FreeGEM just to get back to an "Atari" environment :)

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/ViewMAX

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/FreeGEM
Post Reply

Return to “Applications”