VGA to BNC for PVM monitor

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
rashohyo
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:26 am

VGA to BNC for PVM monitor

Post by rashohyo »

Hi,
i'm trying to use a vga cable to 4x BNC i bought on ebay but i have vertical sync problems. I edited /config/MISTer.INI to provide composite sync on but nothing seemed to chand....can you help me please?
Thanks
Adelmo

i link the cable i bought:

https://www.ebay.it/itm/SVGA-VGA-to-4-B ... 19f0178f8b

User avatar
nullobject
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 3:58 am
Contact:

Re: VGA to BNC for PVM monitor

Post by nullobject »

rashohyo wrote:Hi,
i'm trying to use a vga cable to 4x BNC i bought on ebay but i have vertical sync problems. I edited /config/MISTer.INI to provide composite sync on but nothing seemed to chand....can you help me please?
Thanks
Adelmo

i link the cable i bought:

https://www.ebay.it/itm/SVGA-VGA-to-4-B ... 19f0178f8b
That pinout for that cable looks good.

Make sure that your CRT is set for external sync (some allow you to switch between internal and external sync).

Is your CRT using RGB or YPbPr signals? Make sure you have the correct setting in your config for that too.

rittwage
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: VGA to BNC for PVM monitor

Post by rittwage »

Not positive that will work. Many cores don't have CSYNC. I have a 5xBNC (seperate H and V sync) and I have a coupler to combine them. This seems to work with all cores...

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: VGA to BNC for PVM monitor

Post by Sorgelig »

rittwage wrote:Not positive that will work. Many cores don't have CSYNC. I have a 5xBNC (seperate H and V sync) and I have a coupler to combine them. This seems to work with all cores...
all official MiSTer cores have CSync. It's set in INI.

User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: VGA to BNC for PVM monitor

Post by Xtro »

rittwage wrote:Not positive that will work. Many cores don't have CSYNC. I have a 5xBNC (seperate H and V sync) and I have a coupler to combine them. This seems to work with all cores...
I also have a 5xBNC cable and I don't need to combine the sync cables, just connect the grey one and it works. The black one you can leave it unconnected.

rashohyo
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:26 am

Re: VGA to BNC for PVM monitor

Post by rashohyo »

nullobject wrote:
rashohyo wrote:Hi,
i'm trying to use a vga cable to 4x BNC i bought on ebay but i have vertical sync problems. I edited /config/MISTer.INI to provide composite sync on but nothing seemed to chand....can you help me please?
Thanks
Adelmo

i link the cable i bought:

https://www.ebay.it/itm/SVGA-VGA-to-4-B ... 19f0178f8b
That pinout for that cable looks good.

Make sure that your CRT is set for external sync (some allow you to switch between internal and external sync).

Is your CRT using RGB or YPbPr signals? Make sure you have the correct setting in your config for that too.
On my pvm everything is ok..i use real hardware to a scart/bnc box and everything is ok. Now i bopught another cable, this time is a Vga to Scart one and the problem is still the same. no vertical sync...anyone have a solution? tried to use vertical freq from monitor but nothing happens

happycube
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2019 4:43 am

Re: VGA to BNC for PVM monitor

Post by happycube »

Sync on green mode works fine for my with an PVM-8041Q.

normal19
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2019 4:17 pm

Re: VGA to BNC for PVM monitor

Post by normal19 »

I have a Extron 192 RGB sync processor with VGA input that combines sync.. works on my PvM with 4 BNC inputs

Locked

Return to “MiSTer”