Acorn Electron core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
oldgit
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 11:05 am

Acorn Electron core

Post by oldgit »

https://github.com/davewoo999/Electron_MiSTer

This is a port of ElectronFPGA by David Banks, Mike Sterling.
I used the front end for the BBC Micro by Sorgelig and adapted it for this port.

As usual with a first port from me it's not perfect. It is fixed in 60hz video
my clumsy attempt at having a variable video clock is not working yet.
On start up you will need to ctrl-Break to clear the garbage on the screen. -- fix me

I put an Electron version of beeb.mmb on the 2nd SD card and was instructed to type *DBOOT 100

This didnt work. I had to type *DIN GAMES
CHAIN "GMENU"
Other files Have to be *EXEC
The only one that would boot was Elite.

I cannot get used to the Func Number for Function Keys. -- Func = Caps Lock
The additional mode7 mode is not incorporated although the rom is.

I never had an Electron and the only time I saw one was when it was being used as a door stop
in the 'One Step Beyond' shop in Norwich.

I will hopefully get around to fixing the probs, so it can be added in the main repository but I am still trying to find a decent soft core cpu with toolchain to bolt on to the Gameduino port I have. ZPU is no good as I cannot get 8bit writes and the risc ones are quite large.
Old enough to remember B&W TV with 2 channels: Young enough to embrace new technology: Stupid enough to try and get it to work.
User avatar
BitsNStuff
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Acorn Electron core

Post by BitsNStuff »

I used to have an Electron so this is good to see, Chuckie Egg here I come!!! :D
uigiflip
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: Acorn Electron core

Post by uigiflip »

not found a working beeb.mmb for electron yet any clue where to find a good one like we have for the bbc?
Replay 2, Mister, FPGA Replay + 68060 Daughterboard
NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 691
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Acorn Electron core

Post by NML32 »

uigiflip wrote:not found a working beeb.mmb for electron yet any clue where to find a good one like we have for the bbc?
I haven't either. :(
oldgit
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 11:05 am

Re: Acorn Electron core

Post by oldgit »

I found the file at stardot org uk.
under Electron SSDs for MMC card

The file was beeb.7z
Old enough to remember B&W TV with 2 channels: Young enough to embrace new technology: Stupid enough to try and get it to work.
brunosilva
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 132
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:58 pm

Re: Acorn Electron core

Post by brunosilva »

but we must place the file in a second sd card?
NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 691
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Acorn Electron core

Post by NML32 »

brunosilva wrote:but we must place the file in a second sd card?
Yes, that is my understanding from the Github readme
nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: Acorn Electron core

Post by nico24 »

I have added tape loading from external tape through the ADC pins as I did for the Oric. The exact same code worked here too.

Again all credit goes to Oldgit the original porter of the core.

I do find loading UEF files useful, as there are plenty of things like cover tapes that exist in the TOSEC that aren't necessarily in the BEEB.MMC for the Electron. It's also quite fun too.

You can use a free bit of software called FreeUEF 0.9 to play the UEF files from your PC speaker.

Regards,
Nick
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
seastalker
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: Acorn Electron core

Post by seastalker »

I am going to try this core out. Is this core not in the 'official' list yet?
oldgit
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 11:05 am

Re: Acorn Electron core

Post by oldgit »

seastalker wrote:I am going to try this core out. Is this core not in the 'official' list yet?
Not yet.
I am planning to update this and the other cores I have in the New Year.
Old enough to remember B&W TV with 2 channels: Young enough to embrace new technology: Stupid enough to try and get it to work.
nico24
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: Acorn Electron core

Post by nico24 »

Let me know if you need the few lines of code that load from tape through the ADC. It certainly wasn't rocket science.

Regards,

Nick
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”