SNES core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
Mmm
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:22 am

Re: SNES core

Post by Mmm »

hi,
I am testing all snes games to know a little more about the snes library.

If i am being not polite reporting these bugs, just tell me and I ll stop immediately. I am trying to helpful...

Home alone (U, Eu) freezes or at least the controls become unresponsive when the actual game starts.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Post by Sorgelig »

albconde wrote:the issues with captain america ,Clayfigthers 2,rock n roll Racing and equinox are introduced in commit "16bit for ROM access. " (3ae8225)
yes, i know this.
But problem is not in this commit itself. There is other problem which was hidden by 8bit ROM access.
I'm working on workaround.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Post by Sorgelig »

New release. All reported problems should be fixed.
SegaMan
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by SegaMan »

Is save functionality implemented in the snes core?

I cannot save in super mario world.
User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: SNES core

Post by Newsdee »

Saving works in Zelda (tried some days ago)... make sure you have the latest MiSTer binary.
Mmm
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Sep 15, 2015 5:22 am

Re: SNES core

Post by Mmm »

New core released today: equinox, combat tribes, captain america, clayfighters 2 and metal marines issues resolved.

Still with some problems arcade greatest hits battlezone and home alone.

Amazing work...only found 2 problems in half of the games
uigiflip
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by uigiflip »

not sure if suppose to be like this has hacked rom lol

turtles in time

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NgE7QfotEFM

probs hacked rom dodgy works on patched pal to 60hz rom

homealone pal or ntsc version, when click start, picture is frozen, character dont move with pad with music playing
Replay 2, Mister, FPGA Replay + 68060 Daughterboard
SegaMan
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by SegaMan »

Newsdee wrote:Saving works in Zelda (tried some days ago)... make sure you have the latest MiSTer binary.
You mean Main_MiSTer file?
Last edited by SegaMan on Wed Dec 19, 2018 8:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
albconde
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 96
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 8:56 am

Re: SNES core

Post by albconde »

Derby Stallion 96 : black screen
Sound Novel Tsukuru : Black screen

This games are rare , are satellaveiw compatible application cartridges
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Satellavi ... cartridges
Some of the games of this list works like samegame ,RPG Tsukuru 2 or Joushou Mahjong Tenpai
So I do not know if it's a bug, or they need additional hardware.
blacklistedcard
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 1:06 am

Re: SNES core

Post by blacklistedcard »

Newsdee wrote:Saving works in Zelda (tried some days ago)... make sure you have the latest MiSTer binary.
I must be stupid. I can't get any SNES games to save? I just tried with Zelda Link to the past and Final Fantasy III. What am I doing wrong?
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Post by Sorgelig »

albconde wrote:Derby Stallion 96 : black screen
Sound Novel Tsukuru : Black screen

This games are rare , are satellaveiw compatible application cartridges
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Satellavi ... cartridges
Some of the games of this list works like samegame ,RPG Tsukuru 2 or Joushou Mahjong Tenpai
So I do not know if it's a bug, or they need additional hardware.
do i need to repeat that Stellaview is not supported?
Some games may have a standalone cart version - that's why they work. Or may be they are hacked to work as standalone.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Post by Sorgelig »

blacklistedcard wrote: I must be stupid. I can't get any SNES games to save? I just tried with Zelda Link to the past and Final Fantasy III. What am I doing wrong?
don't forget to select "Save Backup RAM" before you leave the game.
Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by Locutus73 »

Sorgelig wrote:
blacklistedcard wrote: I must be stupid. I can't get any SNES games to save? I just tried with Zelda Link to the past and Final Fantasy III. What am I doing wrong?
don't forget to select "Save Backup RAM" before you leave the game.
Since users gets confused by this, which is totally logical, but many thinks that, once they save in game, they’re done... maybe autotriggering a save backup ram action whenever a user opens the OSD while in game could be useful.

Regards.
Locutus73
SegaMan
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by SegaMan »

Dont see "save backup ram" in the menu.

Using latest main_MiSTer and SNES Core.

:shrug:

Edit:

Ok, shame on me.
Rom Header was off..... now it works :)
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Post by Sorgelig »

Locutus73 wrote: Since users gets confused by this, which is totally logical, but many thinks that, once they save in game, they’re done... maybe autotriggering a save backup ram action whenever a user opens the OSD while in game could be useful.
There is no absolute fool-proof solutions. Even with auto-save with opening the OSD won't guarantee it will be used like that. There will be always some one pressing reset to go directly to Menu core and then complain the progress isn't saved.
I'm personally don't like auto-save because not always current progress is the best one. Or there can be other reasons not to save it.

There is is a clear option "Save backup RAM" which gives a huge hint that you need to use it. It's there not just for occupying the menu line.
Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by Locutus73 »

Sorgelig wrote:There is no absolute fool-proof solutions.
I totally agree.
Sorgelig wrote:Even with auto-save with opening the OSD won't guarantee it will be used like that.
Sure.
Sorgelig wrote:There will be always some one pressing reset to go directly to Menu core and then complain the progress isn't saved.
I and some coworkers use to say: whatever fool-proof solution you implement, there will always be some fool user better at foolishness than you :D
Sorgelig wrote:I'm personally don't like auto-save because not always current progress is the best one. Or there can be other reasons not to save it.
Yes, another approach (SNT's one, which coul coexists with current menu option) is to prompt the user to save the progress each time OSD is opened, but againt, it's just one of the possible imperfect soultuons.
Sorgelig wrote:There is is a clear option "Save backup RAM" which gives a huge hint that you need to use it. It's there not just for occupying the menu line.
Yes, having a clear option is somehow an explicit hint to the user that saves aren't automatically performed... but again no solution is perfect and some user will always screw things.

Regards.
Locutus73
Lodovic
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2018 2:51 am

Re: SNES core

Post by Lodovic »

Why not using both suggestions? The backup RAM is auto-saved whenever you trigger the OSD menu and the Save backup RAM option saves a different copy that stays untouched until you select Load backup RAM? The auto-saved copy is reloaded when you start a ROM as a default and then you have the option of selecting the Reload backup RAM if you wish.

For most of the time, the auto-save should be fine and not having to manage it would be a plus.
User avatar
JohnnotveryDoe
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:29 pm
Location: France

Re: SNES core

Post by JohnnotveryDoe »

wow !
Fantastic core ! thanks again ! :D

Since I discovered recently the MSU 1 games, does this core support those "enhanced games" ?
I don't have any MSU 1 yet (the size of those games are really pretty big :cry: )....
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Post by Sorgelig »

what chips are supported is written in first post.
HappyBirthday
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:29 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by HappyBirthday »

In my experience this core went from not working 1-2 releases ago to working with the current release. Previously I was just getting a black screen when I loaded roms. I look forward to testing more games this weekend! Thanks to everyone that contributed to this!
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: SNES core

Post by Sorgelig »

HappyBirthday wrote:In my experience this core went from not working 1-2 releases ago to working with the current release. Previously I was just getting a black screen when I loaded roms. I look forward to testing more games this weekend! Thanks to everyone that contributed to this!
This core was working from the first release.
HappyBirthday
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:29 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by HappyBirthday »

Sorgelig wrote:
HappyBirthday wrote:In my experience this core went from not working 1-2 releases ago to working with the current release. Previously I was just getting a black screen when I loaded roms. I look forward to testing more games this weekend! Thanks to everyone that contributed to this!
This core was working from the first release.
What can I say, it must have been user error :shrug:
User avatar
JohnnotveryDoe
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:29 pm
Location: France

Re: SNES core

Post by JohnnotveryDoe »

Sorgelig wrote:what chips are supported is written in first post.
Sorry .. i didn't know that MSU 1 was in fact a specific chipset.
I saw the first page about the chipsets list but i didn't make the link.... :roll:
Locutus73
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: SNES core

Post by Locutus73 »

JohnnotveryDoe wrote:Sorry .. i didn't know that MSU 1 was in fact a specific chipset.
I saw the first page about the chipsets list but i didn't make the link.... :roll:
The MSU1 is a fictional expansion chip invented by higan’s author byuu, designed to allow the Super Famicom to stream data and audio. Many original games have been patched for using MSU1, adding CD quality audio or full motion videos. As any real chip it can be emulated both in software or hardware (FPGA). I think SD2SNES HDL code will eventually be ported.

Regards.
Locutus73
Last edited by Locutus73 on Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
JohnnotveryDoe
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 10:29 pm
Location: France

Re: SNES core

Post by JohnnotveryDoe »

oh... ??!! great ! :D
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”