Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
mutmuthux
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2019 8:11 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by mutmuthux »

That is awesome. Looks like original psu is used to power the MiSTer, and the ethernet port also looks to be wired up.

Very neat job :thumbsup:
epson45
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:59 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by epson45 »

Dubon wrote:Thats awesome! How are you powering the de10 nano?
original psu is used to power
epson45
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2019 12:59 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by epson45 »

mutmuthux wrote:That is awesome. Looks like original psu is used to power the MiSTer, and the ethernet port also looks to be wired up.

Very neat job :thumbsup:
You are right, I am very satisfied with the Ethernet part.
ragnar76
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by ragnar76 »

Not done yet, i'm still getting things together. Problem is the grey hdd lid from the Mega Ste. Maybe i will spray paint the case

Image
• FireBee • Falcon060 • Falcon040 • Falcon030 • MiSTer • TT • (Mega)STe • (Mega)ST •
daty2k1
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:42 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by daty2k1 »

Finally got a MiSTer and "built" a case inspired by some here and on the retropie forum.

It uses the original power plug and video out. The power button is functional and the reset button opens the menu. I also created a cable from a broken controller to pass usb as seen on the retropie forum.

Unfortunately I think the original LED is broken so I will have to find a new one.

Image

Image
mrchrister
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 4:43 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by mrchrister »

daty2k1 wrote:Finally got a MiSTer and "built" a case inspired by some here and on the retropie forum.

It uses the original power plug and video out. The power button is functional and the reset button opens the menu. I also created a cable from a broken controller to pass usb as seen on the retropie forum.

Unfortunately I think the original LED is broken so I will have to find a new one.

Image

Image
Man this is awesome. Exactly what I have in mind. I’m fairly new to Mister. When you power on does it boot to the menu or do you have to push reset?
daty2k1
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:42 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by daty2k1 »

It boots into the menu yes. I think you can also configure it to boot directly into a specific core.
mrchrister
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2019 4:43 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by mrchrister »

Ideally I would liek to boot it straight into Mario Kart or Super Mario World, that would be neat. I think you can boot into a core through the "bootcore" feature, but I'm not sure if you could boot straight to a game?
Lynkk
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 7:19 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by Lynkk »

mrchrister wrote:Ideally I would liek to boot it straight into Mario Kart or Super Mario World, that would be neat. I think you can boot into a core through the "bootcore" feature, but I'm not sure if you could boot straight to a game?
You can (by renaming a snes game by boot.rom) but you won't be able to save for that specific game.
Lynkk
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 22, 2019 7:19 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by Lynkk »

mrchrister wrote:
daty2k1 wrote:Finally got a MiSTer and "built" a case inspired by some here and on the retropie forum.

It uses the original power plug and video out. The power button is functional and the reset button opens the menu. I also created a cable from a broken controller to pass usb as seen on the retropie forum.

Unfortunately I think the original LED is broken so I will have to find a new one.

Image

Image
Man this is awesome. Exactly what I have in mind. I’m fairly new to Mister. When you power on does it boot to the menu or do you have to push reset?
Great job! It looks very clean :) Do you have pics pf the inside?
You are using the original video out... Do you mean you are using the analog output from your mister?
daty2k1
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:42 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by daty2k1 »

I'm still rearranging stuff but I'll post pics once it looks a little bit better. I also need to replace the LED and install an extension cable for the micro SD so that I can access it through the original expansion slot under the console.

For the video output, I looked at the pinout for the original SNES cable and soldered my VGA cable to it.

Edit: picture of current progress

Image

This is my first project that involves soldering so clearly there's room for improvements :mrgreen:
User avatar
rsn8887
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by rsn8887 »

Nice! Very neat!

Why is everybody using screws instead of the four long rubber squeeze-and-pull pieces to attach their Noctua fan? Mine is quite a bit more silent with those!
daty2k1
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:42 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by daty2k1 »

I don't know but I can't hear mine as well. It's the 12V version running in 5V so it is extremely silent.

I finally got to install the SD card extension:
Image

And made myself a little fake cartridge as I've seen here and there:
Image

Just waiting for the replacement led to arrive now!
User avatar
rsn8887
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by rsn8887 »

Your setup looks really cool. I didn't think of running the 12V version at 5V, good idea. Because the MiSTer doesn't need much cooling, I suppose? Just a little air movement is enough?
daty2k1
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2019 8:42 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by daty2k1 »

I got the idea from the blog at misteraddons.com. He did some testing which you can find here:
https://www.misteraddons.com/40mm-fan-s ... 2-cooling/
djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by djmartins »

daty2k1 wrote:Just waiting for the replacement led to arrive now!

Nicely done!
That's a really great retro setup!
User avatar
sonic74
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 9:28 pm

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by sonic74 »

Here is my USB power bank powered setup, put into my C64:
Image
Image

Keyboard mappings can be found at http://sven.killig.de/MiSTer
Dubon
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2018 4:01 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by Dubon »

Gold edition stormtroopercase by ricardo from retroshop.pt/ultimatemister.com
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
sqwirral
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 2:34 am
Location: UK

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by sqwirral »

Dubon wrote:Gold edition stormtroopercase by ricardo from retroshop.pt/ultimatemister.com
Ah check out the gold buttons on the Hori to match, very nice
system72
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 7:03 pm

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by system72 »

would love to see more pics of builds..
trying to get some inspiration for my own setup when all the pieces arrive ! :D
metaview
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:11 pm

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by metaview »

My own wood box with power bank, 5 inch display, speaker and 2 DSUB9 ports. It's a bit crowded inside but I wanted to keep it small. Is 20cm x 20cm and around 5cm height. The front panel is not fixed yet, I'm still waiting for audio plugs for ear phones and I need a smaller HDMI cable to get the box closed.
Mister_Setup.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
reflex
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 4:03 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by reflex »

metaview wrote:My own wood box with power bank, 5 inch display, speaker and 2 DSUB9 ports. It's a bit crowded inside but I wanted to keep it small. Is 20cm x 20cm and around 5cm height. The front panel is not fixed yet, I'm still waiting for audio plugs for ear phones and I need a smaller HDMI cable to get the box closed.

Mister_Setup.jpg
That is pretty cool! Is the internal panel running off HDMI or VGA and do you have an external video connection as well?
metaview
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 10:11 pm

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by metaview »

reflex wrote: That is pretty cool! Is the internal panel running off HDMI or VGA and do you have an external video connection as well?
Thanx, it's HDMI and for external video output I've just routed the HDMI cable outside on top of the box:
20200130_215252.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
reflex
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2020 4:03 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by reflex »

metaview wrote:
reflex wrote: That is pretty cool! Is the internal panel running off HDMI or VGA and do you have an external video connection as well?
Thanx, it's HDMI and for external video output I've just routed the HDMI cable outside on top of the box:

20200130_215252.jpg
Very clean inside, nice job.
MinPin
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 6:41 am

Re: Show us your MiSTer hardware setup

Post by MinPin »

Image
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”