MiSTer NES Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
Lightwave
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2018 8:18 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by Lightwave »

PhantombrainM wrote:Okay, thank you for the explanation. I understood the technical background and I have luckily the technical abilities to modify them.

But what about the standard end user?
Could implement a solution similar to Nestopia’s XML database, for a consistent user experience.

https://github.com/0ldsk00l/nestopia/bl ... tabase.xml

JamesF
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 6:46 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by JamesF »

PhantombrainM wrote: But what about the standard end user?
Standard end user = RPi/Retroarch.

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by kitrinx »

PhantombrainM wrote:Sounds good for the core itself! :cheers:
But why should one fix any headers when these above are the official verified romsets? I prefer original non modified sets.
A cart is more than just ROM data. It has a hardware configuration as well, which must be described accurately. This is what a header does, it describes the part of the cart board that is not ROM data. Using an external database like some emulators do is a crutch to work around people using poorly maintained or inaccurate ROM headers, but imho it just makes the problem worse. Having set maintainers correct their ROMs to have accurate hardware descriptions is the best solution.

PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by PhantombrainM »

I agree with you on that, Kitrinx. I would never have thought that in 2019 the databases would not be correct.

Something else:

Could it be done with the NES as with the Genesis that the file extension specifies the system if desired?
.fds = Famicom / NTSC
.nes = Nintendo Entertainment System / PAL
.bin = Japan (NTSC?)

I think that would be great!
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.

trashuncle
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by trashuncle »

PhantombrainM wrote:
Could it be done with the NES as with the Genesis that the file extension specifies the system if desired?
.fds = Famicom / NTSC
.nes = Nintendo Entertainment System / PAL
.bin = Japan (NTSC?)
You would have to have a mapper selection, not a country selection, which would be insane due to how many mappers there are.

User avatar
BitsNStuff
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by BitsNStuff »

Rather than using headers as they're used traditionally would it maybe be an idea for the system to create a text database where it saves details of the different ROMs by ROM name and the header details as well as settings for that particular game and refers to the database whenever a game is loaded? Almost like an .ini file for game info but it creates it as you use the games?

I assume it would turn into quite a hefty document and that may be an issue but maybe each core creating it's own database would assist that.

Let's be honest, people may well have 8 million .nes roms on the system but in reality, people generally use a tiny minority of the games on their SD card.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by Sorgelig »

BitsNStuff wrote:Rather than using headers as they're used traditionally would it maybe be an idea for the system to create a text database where it saves details of the different ROMs by ROM name and the header details as well as settings for that particular game and refers to the database whenever a game is loaded? Almost like an .ini file for game info but it creates it as you use the games?

I assume it would turn into quite a hefty document and that may be an issue but maybe each core creating it's own database would assist that.

Let's be honest, people may well have 8 million .nes roms on the system but in reality, people generally use a tiny minority of the games on their SD card.
Don't make simple things complicated and you won't multiply the issues.
Use correct ROMs - this is right path.
It's not supposed to use any ROM from garbage can you can find.

User avatar
BitsNStuff
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by BitsNStuff »

Sorgelig wrote:
BitsNStuff wrote:Rather than using headers as they're used traditionally would it maybe be an idea for the system to create a text database where it saves details of the different ROMs by ROM name and the header details as well as settings for that particular game and refers to the database whenever a game is loaded? Almost like an .ini file for game info but it creates it as you use the games?

I assume it would turn into quite a hefty document and that may be an issue but maybe each core creating it's own database would assist that.

Let's be honest, people may well have 8 million .nes roms on the system but in reality, people generally use a tiny minority of the games on their SD card.
Don't make simple things complicated and you won't multiply the issues.
Use correct ROMs - this is right path.
It's not supposed to use any ROM from garbage can you can find.
Yeah, I know. Just throwing ideas out there in response to what people were talking about. :)

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by kitrinx »

BitsNStuff wrote:Rather than using headers as they're used traditionally would it maybe be an idea for the system to create a text database where it saves details of the different ROMs by ROM name and the header details as well as settings for that particular game and refers to the database whenever a game is loaded? Almost like an .ini file for game info but it creates it as you use the games?

I assume it would turn into quite a hefty document and that may be an issue but maybe each core creating it's own database would assist that.

Let's be honest, people may well have 8 million .nes roms on the system but in reality, people generally use a tiny minority of the games on their SD card.
As I mention, databases like this are a crutch, and a full time job to build and maintain, there being thousands of NES games and hacks and etc to contend with. Frankly, this task is something that is not the responsibility of an emulator, but is the responsibility of the person maintaining the ROMs. It is our job to make an emulator that functions accurate with the hardware you describe to it, it is the ROM's job to describe the hardware accurately. NES header editors are plentiful and would serve the same purpose as an on-the-fly database.

User avatar
laserdisc
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 6:47 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by laserdisc »

Anyone else having issues with the Famicom Disk System part of the Core?
Seems to be an issue reading "Side B" of fds files post NES_20190510.rbf. I've tested the last 2 versions (NES_20190627.rbf & NES_20190703.rbf) and Side B gives "ERR 07". I generally use the manual disk swap for Vs. Excitebike for loading & editing tracks. Even tried using files from different sources and got the same ERR 07. These same files works fine on 0510.

Games tested: Zelda no Densetsu 1.0 & 1.1 - Vs. Excitebike

Thanks

spartanFI
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2019 9:15 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by spartanFI »

laserdisc wrote:Anyone else having issues with the Famicom Disk System part of the Core?
Seems to be an issue reading "Side B" of fds files post NES_20190510.rbf. I've tested the last 2 versions (NES_20190627.rbf & NES_20190703.rbf) and Side B gives "ERR 07". I generally use the manual disk swap for Vs. Excitebike for loading & editing tracks. Even tried using files from different sources and got the same ERR 07. These same files works fine on 0510.

Games tested: Zelda no Densetsu 1.0 & 1.1 - Vs. Excitebike

Thanks
Same ERR 07 problem here with NES_20190703.rbf. Tested Zelda no Densetsu, Metroid and Yume Koujou Doki Doki Panic in both auto and manual disk swap. Works fine with NES_20190510.rbf.

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by kitrinx »

laserdisc wrote:Anyone else having issues with the Famicom Disk System part of the Core?
Seems to be an issue reading "Side B" of fds files post NES_20190510.rbf. I've tested the last 2 versions (NES_20190627.rbf & NES_20190703.rbf) and Side B gives "ERR 07". I generally use the manual disk swap for Vs. Excitebike for loading & editing tracks. Even tried using files from different sources and got the same ERR 07. These same files works fine on 0510.

Games tested: Zelda no Densetsu 1.0 & 1.1 - Vs. Excitebike

Thanks
These issues are likely resolved in the code, they just have not been released as a build yet.

User avatar
laserdisc
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 6:47 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by laserdisc »

kitrinx wrote:
laserdisc wrote:Anyone else having issues with the Famicom Disk System part of the Core?
Seems to be an issue reading "Side B" of fds files post NES_20190510.rbf.
These issues are likely resolved in the code, they just have not been released as a build yet.
Thanks for the heads up. :)

Ashenshards
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:24 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by Ashenshards »

I noticed playing Faxanadu when entering buildings the Sprites fall down into position. This is noticeable in the starting town. Some places outside as well. Not the chapel though. I'm playing US. Maybe it's a setting I'm using? 719 build. Anyone else experience this?

User avatar
kitrinx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2018 6:03 am

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by kitrinx »

Ashenshards wrote:I noticed playing Faxanadu when entering buildings the Sprites fall down into position. This is noticeable in the starting town. Some places outside as well. Not the chapel though. I'm playing US. Maybe it's a setting I'm using? 719 build. Anyone else experience this?
Is it different than real hardware? Perhaps you can find a youtube video and compare what you see to this effect. I'm not too familiar with the game. Try disabling extra sprites or any options of that nature before you test further.

Ashenshards
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2019 1:24 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by Ashenshards »

Welp, I'm an idiot. Just played it on my original console/cart and it plays exactly the same.

sorry

drj3rk
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue May 14, 2019 10:12 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by drj3rk »

Ashenshards wrote:Welp, I'm an idiot. Just played it on my original console/cart and it plays exactly the same.

sorry
This is interesting (even though you've discovered it is original behavior). I just noticed that on the intro to Legendary Axe II on the TurboGrafx core, that the two battling characters are several pixels off of the ground. (which is not the original behavior)

Just an interesting coincidence. :wink:

djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by djmartins »

Ashenshards wrote:Welp, I'm an idiot.
Not really.
One rarely expects the original to have such problems....

batyrlan82
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2019 12:59 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by batyrlan82 »

Hello Sorgelig!

Is it possible to define in Settings dedicated buttons for Turbo buttons like were in Dendy Junior? I use USB SNES controller and It's not convenient to duplicate A and B buttons and then set them for auto fire for each game.

Also, is it possible to add 125 ms value for auto fire? This value was used in Dendy Junior for turbo buttons.

Thank you.

P.S. my apologize for my English, I'm Russian speaking user.

tom5151
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:22 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by tom5151 »

Am I the only one to have no image but just sound with the latest NES core 20191117 ?

jca
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by jca »

When the core came out I made a post which has not appeared (it looks like it takes a lot of time for the moderators to approve anything).
My problem was that loading a game prevented F12 to popup the OSD. The next day when I tried again everything worked fine.
When you updated the core di you also update MISTer?
Jean-Claude

tom5151
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 2:22 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by tom5151 »

I've updated everything.
Someone (on another forum) said to me this bug occurs only when HQ2x filter is used.
That's totally true, if I remove HQ2x filter, the image appears back again.

wwark
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:45 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by wwark »

Hi,

I have a question related to save in NES Core.
I'm not sure but in this FDS game "Super Mario Brothers (Japan)" you have a Top score in the selection of number player.
I can produce a save if i save Backup RAM (it is present the saves/NES directory) but when I reset the core and try to load backup RAM. The TOP is set again to 00000000.

Thanks for your return.

jca
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by jca »

With the 2019-11-17 I lost HDMI video output. The sound via HDMI is OK.
When starting the core I get the gray rectangle on screen but every game tried does not produce any video.
It worked perfectly under 2019-09-27 and previous versions.

jca
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 7:55 pm

Re: MiSTer NES Core

Post by jca »

Considering the number of answers I must be the only one in the world with this problem.
While trying to figure out what the problem is I must admit defeat as nothing makes sense any more.
I am upgrading from a 16GB card to a 64GB card and I noticed the problem on the 64GB card.
I put back the 16GB card into MISTer and it works with the following files:
OS 06/27
MISTer 11/17 and I also tried 12/05 with success.
Menu 11/03
NES 09/27 and NES 11/17

On the 64GB:
I first checked that I did not have corrupted files by doing a binary comparison between the files from the 16GB and 64GB.
OS 06/27
MISTer 11/17 and 12/05
Menu 11/03

No HDMI video with NES 11/17 (but HDMI sound OK).
No problem with NES 09/27

Something must be corrupted somewhere but what?

Jean-Claude

Locked

Return to “MiSTer”