Is a Dreamcast core possible

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
ikilby
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:21 pm

Is a Dreamcast core possible

Post by ikilby »

Question as above really.

Does the DE-10 Nano have the meat to run a Dreamcast core?

Is anyone working on such a thing?
PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Is a Dreamcast core possible

Post by PhantombrainM »

I don't think its possible.
I'm not a programmer but I looked at some specs myself.
As far as I know the MISTer Cyclone can have up 50Mhz and someone said it may be pushed up to 100Mhz by doubling it somehow.

The Dreamcast has far higher speeds.
Maybe a Hybrid Core can be made. In Theory.
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Is a Dreamcast core possible

Post by Sorgelig »

PhantombrainM wrote:I don't think its possible.
I'm not a programmer but I looked at some specs myself.
As far as I know the MISTer Cyclone can have up 50Mhz and someone said it may be pushed up to 100Mhz by doubling it somehow.

The Dreamcast has far higher speeds.
Maybe a Hybrid Core can be made. In Theory.
up to 50MHz? where you get this nonsense? ;)
50MHz input clock doesn't mean it's the only frequency possible. Even PC has something like 50MHz clock generator on board which is not preventing CPU to run at 4GHz :)

There is such thing like PLL which can multiply/divide input clock in wide range. There are several PLLs inside FPGA.

As for Dreamcast - it has 3D graphics which may require a lot of logic - probably more than MiSTer's FPGA has.
User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Is a Dreamcast core possible

Post by Newsdee »

We're not even done with 8bit and 16bit systems... and as far as I know there aren't many 32bir+ systems on the works. Torlus was looking at Jaguar long ago but I think he didn'r publish his sources (just a video showing preliminary work).
eris
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 11:32 pm

Re: Is a Dreamcast core possible

Post by eris »

Sorgelig wrote:
PhantombrainM wrote:I don't think its possible.
I'm not a programmer but I looked at some specs myself.
As far as I know the MISTer Cyclone can have up 50Mhz and someone said it may be pushed up to 100Mhz by doubling it somehow.

The Dreamcast has far higher speeds.
Maybe a Hybrid Core can be made. In Theory.
up to 50MHz? where you get this nonsense? ;)
50MHz input clock doesn't mean it's the only frequency possible. Even PC has something like 50MHz clock generator on board which is not preventing CPU to run at 4GHz :)

There is such thing like PLL which can multiply/divide input clock in wide range. There are several PLLs inside FPGA.

As for Dreamcast - it has 3D graphics which may require a lot of logic - probably more than MiSTer's FPGA has.
The Dreamcast had a PowerVR2 GPU roughly equivalent to a 3DFX Voodoo2 GPU. The PowerVR2 was clocked at 100 MHz and had quite a bit of dedicated and complex 3D operations in addition to 8 MB of dedicated internal memory. It can render 7 million polygons per second while the Dreamcast's SH-4 CPU is performing geometry transforms and lighting on 10 millions polygons a second to feed the GPU. Chip complexity is roughly 8-10 million transistors or close to the complexity of a Pentium II. That's not including any game logic, so yes I think it's probably a little beyond the brave little DE-10's capabilities even if someone didn't mind implementing the PowerVR and SH-4 cores. :)
slowmo310
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:41 pm

Re: Is a Dreamcast core possible

Post by slowmo310 »

you clearly do not understand how complex of a machine the Dreamcast is to reverse engineer...
ikilby
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:21 pm

Re: Is a Dreamcast core possible

Post by ikilby »

Thanks for the answers, & you are correct I really do not have any idea how complex the Dreamcast is to reverse engineer.
ReedSolomon
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:52 am

Re: Is a Dreamcast core possible

Post by ReedSolomon »

Newsdee wrote: Torlus was looking at Jaguar long ago but I think he didn't publish his sources
ElectronAsh(http://www.atari-forum.com/memberlist.p ... le&u=28082) was playing with it a few days ago IIRC. https://github.com/Torlus/JagNetlists
slowmo310 wrote:you clearly do not understand how complex of a machine the Dreamcast is to reverse engineer...
Indeed. It was powerful enough to run Windows CE after all.
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”