Amstrad CPC Core

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

Ok. That was my mistake the parser removed the initial pause which is important.
So, the game start to load, but after first block it looks like hangs. It shows random byte in the middle of screen and hangs.

The same happens on WinAPE and JavaCPC.
Of course i've choose CPC464 config without FDC, MF and other expansions.

What else should be done for this game?
PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by PhantombrainM »

If you are investigating in Tape Support please also check out Harvey Headbanger Tape.
There are two Versions. One with Music Load, the other without music.

http://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page ... s&num=1060

V5-86 = With Music, hang up / Freeze while loading (I had this Version when I was a kid)
V12-86 = no music, working

regards,
PhantombrainM
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

Druid II and Usagi should display correctly with new release.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

PhantombrainM wrote: V5-86 = With Music, hang up / Freeze while loading (I had this Version when I was a kid)
i will check
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

New MiSTer binary release fixes the Harvey Headbanger tape handling.
PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by PhantombrainM »

Working perfectly. Thank you for your effort!
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.
breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by breiztiger »

hi

thanks very much for your hard work on cpc core :cheers:

i Don't know how to help with marmelade … the only thing i can say is that it work on caprice forever 18.7 emulator
http://www.cpc-power.com/cpcarchives/in ... es&num=445
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

breiztiger wrote:hi

thanks very much for your hard work on cpc core :cheers:

i Don't know how to help with marmelade … the only thing i can say is that it work on caprice forever 18.7 emulator
http://www.cpc-power.com/cpcarchives/in ... es&num=445
nope.. it doesn't work.
Exactly the same hang with byte on screen.
breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by breiztiger »

Nope also

it work for me otherise i Didn,t say that ( i just retest)
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

So, currently i have no idea what this game wants to work properly.
If you have other 464-only game, then i would glad to test.
breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by breiztiger »

Hi

Can i use wav instead of cdt ? Because i have some self made wav from amstrad tape that can be problematics (gremlins titles for examples)

8 bits mono of course
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

Directly - no.
But there should be tools to convert WAV to TZX(same as CDT) as it supports custom data blocks. So, i suggest to find conversion tool for this.
is it the same Gremlins?: http://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page=detail&num=1012
breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by breiztiger »

No it’s mask and basil that use gremlins loader

As csw2cdt public version can’t actuely convert that kind of protection
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

breiztiger wrote:As csw2cdt public version can’t actuely convert that kind of protection
Harvey Headbanger with music loader has direct coded blocks which is closes possible representation of WAV. Is there a tool able to produce these blocks from WAV?
breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by breiztiger »

Idem beeploader v3 only on no public version

I have convert (pseudo maxit for dumper on cpc-power) the version with beeploader v2 witch doesn’t have music loader
PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by PhantombrainM »

Decathlon seems CPC 464 only too?

http://www.cpc-power.com/index.php?page ... ps&num=659

Its not working and it states "Fonctionne uniquement sur CPC 464 (Basic 1.0)" -> Works only with CPC 464 (Basic 1.0).

So maybe you should add Basic 1.0 and turn off FDC and then CPC464 games will work?
Also CPC464 doesnt need |tape command as I remember? So maybe there is something different too?
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

Just switch to 664 mode and load CPC 464 ROM.
cpc464nd.zip
This game works even with FDC enabled.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
PhantombrainM
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2018 9:10 am

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by PhantombrainM »

Thank you Sorgelig, it worked!

I didn't know that I can load this ROM to make a CPC464.
Thought it would be implemented as a switch in the GUI like 6128 / 664 when possible!

Good to know!

regards,
PhantombrainM
Two beer or not two beer? - Shakesbeer.
breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by breiztiger »

hi

back from holidays

for marmelade your must run with CTRL + End or type RUN in uppercase

and it sucks with detect floppy whenether you act as disabled or not in dfc option item
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

Ok. I will check it.
Hope the game doesn't care if i type by left or right hand :)
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

Ok. It misdetects the mouse as FDC.
I've disable the mouse ports and could move to further step. It loads the next part from tape and then switch to screen with text "code charge" and then resets the CPC.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

In new release you can load marmelade from tape finally :)

- Disable Multiface 2, Mouse and FDC in OSD
- load cpc464nd.eZ0

Now you can load the tape.
You don't need to switch to 664 mode. Game loads fine in both 6128 and 664 modes.
breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by breiztiger »

Very good !!!

What do you have corrected ?
breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by breiztiger »

just for information

last c64 have sound on my moniteur with hdmi and io board jack port

last c16 and msx core haven't sound with hdmi but ok on io board jack port as with Amstrad cpc core

:?:
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Amstrad CPC Core

Post by Sorgelig »

still have no clue about it...
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”