ao486

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
rashohyo
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:26 am

Re: ao486

Post by rashohyo »

Sorgelig wrote:Some VGA modes are 70Hz.
On OSD there is an option to keep 60Hz for all modes.
Unfortunately the option is already set to 60hz.... :(
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: ao486

Post by Sorgelig »

i don't know which display you use, but ao486 is 31KHz-only.
Also it's highly advised to use vga_scaler=1 for ao486, otherwise you will get uneven pixels on VGA output.
In general it's HDMI-only core.
rashohyo
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:26 am

Re: ao486

Post by rashohyo »

Sorgelig wrote:i don't know which display you use, but ao486 is 31KHz-only.
Also it's highly advised to use vga_scaler=1 for ao486, otherwise you will get uneven pixels on VGA output.
In general it's HDMI-only core.
Mmmm my monitor is a Sony Pvm 14m4e, tried with vga scaler but i have desync problem also in boot screen.
Didn’t know it was an hdmi-only core...thanks so much anyway
R4mbo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 1:14 pm

Introduction and first Question (AO486)

Post by R4mbo »

Hi!

Got my MiSTer a few weeks ago and have it up and running nicely.
I now want to get into Core-Development. My main goal is to become able to contribute to the AO486 Core.
I know it will take a while to reach that point. I can Code in C#, VBA, Basic and some Assembler. And made first experiences with VHDL.
I've written a basic Gameboy Emulator and have a basic understanding of hardware.
Next step for me would be to get familiar with all the Project-Files.
I'm using Quartus Prime 18 and successfully compiled the ZX-Spectrum core.

When compiling the AO486 i ran into my first problem.
I don't get a .rbf-File after compilation.
Any Idea what I'm doing wrong or have to do?

Greetings
dukrous
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 12:25 pm

Re: Introduction and first Question (AO486)

Post by dukrous »

The one, and only thing, I can contribute is that you should use Quartus 17.x (17.0.2 is frequently recommended). Hoping you have some luck! A good and fast ao486 core would be amazing.
Grabulosaure
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2017 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Introduction and first Question (AO486)

Post by Grabulosaure »

No luck, sorry!
AO486 is afaik the only core that needs a paying version of Quartus to generate the .RBF, because it uses some non-free IPs blocks in the Qsys project.

You can still generate a .BIT file and directly download the FPGA.

There are the IPs below :
- ALTERA_CLOCK_BRIDGE (x2)
- ALTERA_ADDRESS_SPAN_EXTENDER
- ALTERA_AVALON_MM_BRIDGE
- ALTERA_RESET_BRIDGE
- ALTERA_RESET_CONTROLLER
- ALTERA_16550_UART
- WIDTH_TRANS

It seems only the 16650 UART needs the full version. Maybe you can try to remove it, find a free implementation or make your own.
R4mbo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 1:14 pm

Re: Introduction and first Question (AO486)

Post by R4mbo »

I see, thanks!

I tried to just deactivate the module and as I already expected a lot of other problems occured :x

I'm not experienced enough to solve that problem for me now, and think I gonna try to start with a 286 core on my own and enhance it over time.

For me, its hard to find the right way to start, I'm open for any suggestions. Thanks.
R4mbo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 1:14 pm

Re: Introduction and first Question (AO486)

Post by R4mbo »

dukrous wrote:The one, and only thing, I can contribute is that you should use Quartus 17.x (17.0.2 is frequently recommended). Hoping you have some luck! A good and fast ao486 core would be amazing.
Thanks! I will do so. Good and fast ao486 is something i want to see too, and with integrated network module :)
But I'm also realistic. It may take a year for me to get on a level to do useful contributions. That 486 "Emulation" is the main reason I ordered my MiSTer, and contributing to it is my main goal.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Introduction and first Question (AO486)

Post by Sorgelig »

For testing purpose you don't really need rbf. Once compiled, you can upload it from quartus using mini USB cable connected to USB blaster port of de10-nano.
16550 component is hard to replace as it's the only known full implementation of PC's UART.
But it's not really required, and can be removed. I can make some testing project without this component if you want.
Frederir
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2018 1:20 pm

Re: ao486

Post by Frederir »

16550 component is hard to replace as it's the only known full implementation of PC's UART.
This implementation can not be used : https://opencores.org/projects/uart16550 ?
R4mbo
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2020 1:14 pm

Re: Introduction and first Question (AO486)

Post by R4mbo »

Sorgelig wrote:For testing purpose you don't really need rbf. Once compiled, you can upload it from quartus using mini USB cable connected to USB blaster port of de10-nano.
16550 component is hard to replace as it's the only known full implementation of PC's UART.
But it's not really required, and can be removed. I can make some testing project without this component if you want.
Thanks. No need to remove it, I will try via USB-Upload, good enough for me.
And as I know, some people use it to get Internet-Connection on W95 :)
djmartins
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 328
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 10:26 pm

Re: Introduction and first Question (AO486)

Post by djmartins »

R4mbo wrote:And as I know, some people use it to get Internet-Connection on W95 :)
Then you only need 2400 baud to keep it realistic.

Image
Glaurung
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2019 6:22 am

Re: ao486

Post by Glaurung »

With Opera up to v12,you can browse with w95 in this core as usually.modern webpages.
vinsentru
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 7:01 am

Re: ao486

Post by vinsentru »

Hi
I've tried OS/2 with ao486, but no luck:
- OS/2 2.0 hangs on Disk1
- OS/2 Warp 3 shows some system errors a nd won't boot as well

I thought that if Win95 works, some OS/2 version should work too, but no luck.

Any chance devs/maintainers of ao486 could look at that? It would be great having OS/2 on MiSTer!

Thanks.
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”