USB Hub board

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
lolof
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 9:21 pm

Re: USB Hub board

Post by lolof »

I am looking for 2X USB connector for the L shape connector.

Does someone know a source. They are all sold on the aliexpress link :-(
damopinn
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2018 3:24 pm

Re: USB Hub board

Post by damopinn »

lolof wrote:I am looking for 2X USB connector for the L shape connector.

Does someone know a source. They are all sold on the aliexpress link :-(

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3280699 ... 3c00APeUBe
lolof
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 9:21 pm

Re: USB Hub board

Post by lolof »

Just saw the reply.

Ordered...

Thank you very much
sofakng
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:47 pm

Re: USB Hub board

Post by sofakng »

Does anybody know if the components listed for the USB Hub v1.0 on the wiki are the same for the latest v2.1 revision?

I'm also receiving my JLCPCBs today with a bunch of mister PCBs but I forgot to order a USB bracket PCB. Doh!!

EDIT: Ok, I've trying to figure out how to view the PCB and I've installed Altium Designer Viewer and I'm looking at the generated BOM. It looks like it includes two "power distribution switches"? U2a and U2b?
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Sorgelig »

You don't need Altium designer. PDF file contains schematics, notes and PCB view - everything you need.
User avatar
RealLarry
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: USB Hub board

Post by RealLarry »

Is it possible to use a USB soundcard or -bar? I'm using a Dell USB soundbar on MiSTer's USB hub board, but it's working there only if I'm using the USB cable plus 3.5mm stereo jack.
The Dell soundbar is capable acting as a USB only soundcard as I'm having more than one of the same type, which are working quite well with Kodi on other setups.
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Sorgelig »

RealLarry wrote:Is it possible to use a USB soundcard or -bar?
no
User avatar
RealLarry
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: USB Hub board

Post by RealLarry »

Sorgelig wrote:
RealLarry wrote:Is it possible to use a USB soundcard or -bar?
no
Thanks, but just to satisfy my curiosity: Why not? Missing kernel modules which would fill up space/memory unnecessarily?

Well, I continue to use this setup with extra audio cable then. This is working fine and gives me a nice sound for my MiSTer-in-a-case ... and can be controlled by alsamixer and soundbar's volume control by setting volumectl to 1.
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.
warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: USB Hub board

Post by warham »

RealLarry wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:
RealLarry wrote:Is it possible to use a USB soundcard or -bar?
no
and can be controlled by alsamixer and soundbar's volume control by setting volumectl to 1.
what options do you get in alsamixer besides master volume?
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Sorgelig »

RealLarry wrote: Why not? Missing kernel modules which would fill up space/memory unnecessarily?
Because audio path in FPGA has no connection to Linux.
User avatar
RealLarry
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: USB Hub board

Post by RealLarry »

warham wrote:what options do you get in alsamixer besides master volume?
I change the sound device by hitting F6 but getting only PCM there.
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.
User avatar
RealLarry
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 149
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: USB Hub board

Post by RealLarry »

Sorgelig wrote:
RealLarry wrote: Why not? Missing kernel modules which would fill up space/memory unnecessarily?
Because audio path in FPGA has no connection to Linux.
Ah, I see, thanks for clarification!
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.
Billdr
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:39 am

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Billdr »

Sorgelig wrote:You don't need Altium designer. PDF file contains schematics, notes and PCB view - everything you need.

I've been looking around, I can't find this PDF, even after skimming the thread. Maybe I missed it?

Edit: I'm dense. Of course it's in the root directory of the hardware github.

Side note, JCSC was out of NCP380LSNAJAAT1G so I got NCP380HSNAJAAT1G; it seems to be the same component fabed somewhere else. But it was half the price. This is my first attempt at something like this. I'd feel better if someone could confirm these are compatible. The data sheets look the same to me.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Sorgelig »

Billdr wrote: Side note, JCSC was out of NCP380LSNAJAAT1G so I got NCP380HSNAJAAT1G; it seems to be the same component fabed somewhere else. But it was half the price. This is my first attempt at something like this. I'd feel better if someone could confirm these are compatible. The data sheets look the same to me.
They are not compatible as they react opposite to control signal. High active vs Low active.
Billdr
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2019 6:39 am

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Billdr »

Drats, thanks. Digi-Key has it in case someone else peeks in asking about it.
Heppaz
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:45 pm

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Heppaz »

I have built a couple of the new 2.1 boards and get no joy, all soldering looks good and checks out with no shorts on the FE 2.1.
I am not using the protection have only shorted JP1, is there anything I am missing here?
The Power LED flashes when I power on and then nothing from the init.
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Sorgelig »

it should work without any additional tweaks.
Power LED will be ON if at least one USB device is connected. And of course USB hub has to be connected to de10.
Heppaz
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:45 pm

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Heppaz »

Sorgelig wrote:it should work without any additional tweaks.
Power LED will be ON if at least one USB device is connected. And of course USB hub has to be connected to de10.
I have a device connected and connected to DE10 correctly.
I dont seem to have 12mhz on the crystal though does this activate after initilaising?
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Sorgelig »

Heppaz wrote: I dont seem to have 12mhz on the crystal though does this activate after initilaising?
i don't know. I never explored it.
Heppaz
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:45 pm

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Heppaz »

I found the problem, the PSU wasn't powerful enough the power the DE-10 and the USB board.

Doh.
User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Newsdee »

Heppaz wrote:I found the problem, the PSU wasn't powerful enough the power the DE-10 and the USB board.

Doh.
What amperage was your old PSU?
Heppaz
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:45 pm

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Heppaz »

Newsdee wrote:
Heppaz wrote:I found the problem, the PSU wasn't powerful enough the power the DE-10 and the USB board.

Doh.
What amperage was your old PSU?
My DE10 came with an American plug so I tend to use random 5V adapters, most are 2A but I seemed to have used a 500mA. Problem solved with a 2A supply.
MysteryM
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:45 am

Re: USB Hub board

Post by MysteryM »

I'm new to electronics so don't want to risk trying to deduce a parts list for the usb hub. Does anyone have a BOM list handy with links to the components?
MysteryM
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:45 am

Re: USB Hub board

Post by MysteryM »

MysteryM wrote:I'm new to electronics so don't want to risk trying to deduce a parts list for the usb hub. Does anyone have a BOM list handy with links to the components?
Okay so I've done some homework and spent an hour or so looking at the schematic, and have a list of most of the components that I need to order. I did have one question however, what sizes are resistors R4 to R11? the schematic indicates that they should 510, can I assume that I've read it right and they are 510 ohm resistors?

I've ordered my pcbs already and am just ordering the components now, some of them have already arrived.
Nat
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: USB Hub board

Post by Nat »

I did have one question however, what sizes are resistors R4 to R11? the schematic indicates that they should 510, can I assume that I've read it right and they are 510 ohm resistors?
Yes that is correct, they are 510 Ohm resistors, package size is 0805.
MiSTerFPGA Add-On Boards: UK based, low cost worldwide shipping.
https://MiSTerFPGA.co.uk/
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”