Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by Chris23235 »

Threepwood wrote:With the update from half an hour ago Minimig stopped working for me entirely, no matter the vsync_adjust, resolution or region setting, as well as Amiga config (A500 or A1200). I confirmed that the updated core was downloaded correctly by comparing checksums of the core file on my MiSTer and the core downloaded directly from the release folder on github.

Everything was working before and my Monitor can handle vsync_adjust=2

EDIT: By "entirely" I mean, that the screen is black and I can open the OSD, but when I load a different config, then I cannot even open the OSD anymore.

EDIT2: Same with my secondary MiSTer attached to my TV that can handle vsync_adjust=2 as well (tried 0 and 2)
I can confirm the problems, for me the core starts fine, my default configuration is 68020+AGA+Kick OS for Amiga 1200. When I try to load another configuration or change the config and reset, the screen gets a little bit smaller and the core hangs (I can still enter the menu).
User avatar
mambrino
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 4:59 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by mambrino »

Yes, I have the same problem. Black screen on core boot and can't open OSD. In my case, seems to be related to cpu selection. 68020 AGA kick 3.1 works, but if I change cpu model to 68000 then core get stucked. I also noted that scrolls at 50hz keep stuttering.
Last edited by mambrino on Mon May 04, 2020 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Threepwood
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:06 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by Threepwood »

Chris23235 wrote:I can confirm the problems, for me the core starts fine, my default configuration is 68020+AGA+Kick OS for Amiga 1200. When I try to load another configuration or change the config and reset, the screen gets a little bit smaller and the core hangs (I can still enter the menu).
My default is 68000+OCS+Cloanto_Kick_1.3 (512 Chip, 512 Fast).

When I manually change the default by copying the files around on my MiSTer, to use 68020+AGA+Kick3.1 etc. then it works. The core hangs here, too, when I then load another config.
2x MiSTer FPGA: [Official Stormtrooper Case, USB Hub 2.1 with Bridge Board, 128MB SDRAM, ADC, RTC 1.3, I/O v5.5] + [3D printed MiSTer XS Case v2, 128MB SDRAM, I/O v5.6 XL]
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by Sorgelig »

Got the same issue..
Will investigate it.
tempus007
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2019 7:09 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by tempus007 »

The MINIMIG_20200504 core works on my side.
128MB
CRT
vsync_adjust = 2
68020 + AGA + Kick OS 3.1
Threepwood
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:06 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by Threepwood »

tempus007 wrote:The MINIMIG_20200504 core works on my side.
128MB
CRT
vsync_adjust = 2
68020 + AGA + Kick OS 3.1
Which is the same config that was already noted as working here. Have you tried an Amiga 500 config (68000+OCS+Kick1.3)?
2x MiSTer FPGA: [Official Stormtrooper Case, USB Hub 2.1 with Bridge Board, 128MB SDRAM, ADC, RTC 1.3, I/O v5.5] + [3D printed MiSTer XS Case v2, 128MB SDRAM, I/O v5.6 XL]
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by Sorgelig »

it's already known: 68000 mode doesn't run because halted. I will fix it.
User avatar
mambrino
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 4:59 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by mambrino »

Sorgelig wrote:it's already known: 68000 mode doesn't run because halted. I will fix it.
in addition do you think would be possible to set the vertical frequency for pal mode to a value closer to the 50hz standard for smoother scrolls in some tv's and scalers?

Thanks ;)
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by Sorgelig »

mambrino wrote: in addition do you think would be possible to set the vertical frequency for pal mode to a value closer to the 50hz standard for smoother scrolls in some tv's and scalers?

Thanks ;)
video mode on Amiga is programmable and it depends on specific game/app which refresh it outputs.
Threepwood
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:06 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by Threepwood »

Sorgelig wrote:it's already known: 68000 mode doesn't run because halted. I will fix it.
I can confirm it is fully working again. Thanks a lot, Sorgelig. And thanks to Paulbnl for getting this core closer to reality with adjusting the vsync position, of course.
2x MiSTer FPGA: [Official Stormtrooper Case, USB Hub 2.1 with Bridge Board, 128MB SDRAM, ADC, RTC 1.3, I/O v5.5] + [3D printed MiSTer XS Case v2, 128MB SDRAM, I/O v5.6 XL]
User avatar
mambrino
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 09, 2016 4:59 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by mambrino »

Sorgelig wrote:video mode on Amiga is programmable and it depends on specific game/app which refresh it outputs.
yes, but it seems that although the game adjusts the vsync to 50hz, the core continues to output 50.4hz and that small deviation is what seems to produce stuttering. On previous page have been published videos with details. C64 core had the same problem but video sync adjustments were made and now it works butter smooth.
paulbnl
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:43 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by paulbnl »

Sorgelig wrote:
mambrino wrote: in addition do you think would be possible to set the vertical frequency for pal mode to a value closer to the 50hz standard for smoother scrolls in some tv's and scalers?

Thanks ;)
video mode on Amiga is programmable and it depends on specific game/app which refresh it outputs.
The core clock is faster than original. Original frequencies are PAL: 28.37516MHz and NTSC: 28.63636 MHz.

https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=681754&postcount=2
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by Sorgelig »

paulbnl wrote:
Sorgelig wrote:
mambrino wrote: in addition do you think would be possible to set the vertical frequency for pal mode to a value closer to the 50hz standard for smoother scrolls in some tv's and scalers?

Thanks ;)
video mode on Amiga is programmable and it depends on specific game/app which refresh it outputs.
The core clock is faster than original. Original frequencies are PAL: 28.37516MHz and NTSC: 28.63636 MHz.

https://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=681754&postcount=2
Well, the base for Minimig is NTSC which probably is better to change to PAL base as 99% games and demos are PAL.
Probably PLL reconfig can be added for NTSC/PAL clocks, but core is pretty much unstable itself, so i don't want to add more instability.
retrorepair
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:27 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by retrorepair »

retrorepair wrote:
apolkosnik wrote:
retrorepair wrote:Does anyone know where in the code a valid step pulse exists? I'm starting to think one doesn't exist.
Do you mean something derived from 50/60Hz on the mains? Nope, the PSU feeds only DC to the A500.
Sorry no I mean the signal sent to the floppy disk to increment the head. All of the signals I've found are 30-100us and a step pulse needs to be 1ms minimum.

I'm probably missing something but I wondernif it's fudged as no one ever expected a floppy drive to be connected.

I should add I'm not intending to connect a floppy drive to try and read/write a disk, I just want to send motor signals over USER_IO for audible effect.

The other signals seem usable, just step doesn't look right.

*EDIT* Seems like I have to construct my own step pulse, should be fun :)
I've been trying to work this out for a while and I fear it may be beyond my capability. The _step pulse that minimig generates is only 20us. It should be at least 3ms, any ideas why?
retrorepair
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:27 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by retrorepair »

So I made sure the assignments to the IO were made on the rising edge of the clock and now all the floppy signals look exactly like they do on my real Amiga on the logic analyzer.

Still no stepping though. Do these drives need to have 5v logic? The SNAC only seems to be able to manage 4.9v but I'd have thought this would be enough?

I can't think why else this isn't stepping, the step, select, motor and direction signal waveforms look identical and are within .2us of the real amiga. Surely close enough?
LamerDeluxe
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:13 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by LamerDeluxe »

I'd love to have a buzzer (or haptic solenoid like in modern phones) on the MiSTer simulating the sounds of the Amiga drive, that is really missing from the experience.
retrorepair
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:27 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by retrorepair »

LamerDeluxe wrote:I'd love to have a buzzer (or haptic solenoid like in modern phones) on the MiSTer simulating the sounds of the Amiga drive, that is really missing from the experience.
A buzzer IO board is planned, I just need to work out the best way to implement it. I'd like something a bit more authentic but for now I'd say a buzzer is quite likely.

I ended up working out the issue, it was the logic levels that the drive didn't like. I actually ended up using an arduino with direct port control (digitalRead is way too slow) to fake a level shifter which worked surprisingly well. Apparently manipulating the ports this way can get down to ns timing.

Here's a video of Hybris loading on MISTer hooked up to a real Amiga floppy drive. Keep in mind this is loading from SD, the floppy drive is simply using the control signals in minimig to appear as if it's loading. I'm very pleased, it's great to hear that feedback again :)

https://youtu.be/sbQoD0qKI4M
BBond007
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 466
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:23 am

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by BBond007 »

retrorepair wrote: I've been trying to work this out for a while and I fear it may be beyond my capability. The _step pulse that minimig generates is only 20us. It should be at least 3ms, any ideas why?
I hope you can work it out...

The Minimig 1.1 supports this feature, and I do think it is sounds more authentic than WinUAE floppy sounds blasting from my amplified stereo speakers.

On my Minimig 1.1 I put tape over the buzzer port to make the sound softer.

I would mount the buzzer in the floppy area on my A1200 MiSTer --> http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 75#p375012

Thanks!
ericgus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by ericgus »

It would be nice to have the floppy sounds.. there is something sigularly unique about the amigas disk drive sounds, the "tick tick tick" when looking for a disk, the loading noises, has lots of "feels" and memories associated with it, I even fitted my FlashFloppy Gotek drives with the piezo sound mod to get that effect.. Thank you for persisting and making this likely to happen..
retrorepair
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:27 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by retrorepair »

BBond007 wrote:
retrorepair wrote: I've been trying to work this out for a while and I fear it may be beyond my capability. The _step pulse that minimig generates is only 20us. It should be at least 3ms, any ideas why?
I hope you can work it out...

The Minimig 1.1 supports this feature, and I do think it is sounds more authentic than WinUAE floppy sounds blasting from my amplified stereo speakers.

On my Minimig 1.1 I put tape over the buzzer port to make the sound softer.

I would mount the buzzer in the floppy area on my A1200 MiSTer --> http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... 75#p375012

Thanks!
Did you see the video I posted? You would have space in your replica case for an actual floppy drive, I plan the do the same thing :)
LamerDeluxe
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2020 9:13 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by LamerDeluxe »

retrorepair wrote:
LamerDeluxe wrote:I'd love to have a buzzer (or haptic solenoid like in modern phones) on the MiSTer simulating the sounds of the Amiga drive, that is really missing from the experience.
A buzzer IO board is planned, I just need to work out the best way to implement it. I'd like something a bit more authentic but for now I'd say a buzzer is quite likely.

I ended up working out the issue, it was the logic levels that the drive didn't like. I actually ended up using an arduino with direct port control (digitalRead is way too slow) to fake a level shifter which worked surprisingly well. Apparently manipulating the ports this way can get down to ns timing.

Here's a video of Hybris loading on MISTer hooked up to a real Amiga floppy drive. Keep in mind this is loading from SD, the floppy drive is simply using the control signals in minimig to appear as if it's loading. I'm very pleased, it's great to hear that feedback again :)

https://youtu.be/sbQoD0qKI4M
The more authentic sounding the better, I agree. That why I was thinking about a haptic vibration motor, but I'm not sure that would be loud enough if it didn't hit something and you'd need a suitable MiSTer housing to amplify the sound.

Great work on figuring out the stepper motor signals. I'm glad someone is working on this.

Hybris is exactly the game I was thinking about. It is my favorite Amiga game and it has very distinct loading noises. The sounds in the video are very accurate. I love how the drive is much larger than the MiSTer.
breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 267
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by breiztiger »

hi

https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=3073

crash after some time at final scrolling

config : 68000 OCS-500 512ko CHIP + 2Mo FAST KS 1.3

edit : A500 config with 512 slow + 512 chip work in winuae but on mister the demo say "I CAN NOT FIND YOUR EXTRA MEMORY"
amontre
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 1:51 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by amontre »

Hello, new minimig user here. Anyone here use minimig with 15khz arcade monitor ? I'm trying figure out how to adjust the horizontal position for the whdload games. I got full screen on workbench (NTSC Hi-Res) but when I load the games there's a gap on left of the screen.



Image
Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by Chris23235 »

Most Amiga games aren't designed for NTSC.
ericgus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: Minimig (Amiga) core discussion

Post by ericgus »

Chris23235 wrote:Most Amiga games aren't designed for NTSC.
All the older original ones are .. Defender of the Crown, Test Drive, and many of the classics are too .. etc.. so I guess its your perspective that dictates the answer.. as I live in NTSC land, most of the games I care about/play ARE designed for NTSC, were created on NTSC machines to be played on NTSC machines..
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”