I/O Board

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
parski
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:58 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by parski »

Sorgelig wrote:I suggest 240/475 pair instead. 300/604 is too dark from my point of view.
475 Ohm resistor arrays seem to be out of stock until at earliest August from what I can find. Do you recommend trying any other values? I know you wrote something about dark picture using alternate values.
dshadoff
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Dec 29, 2019 9:07 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by dshadoff »

They're in stock at LCSC.com (a choice of 5 different part numbers in that package size).
I have found them to be a good source for certain types of parts (such as connectors, resistor arrays, and Chinese chips).
digitron
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:27 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by digitron »

I built IO Board v5.6, is there anyway to add some type of power button on this one?
Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Post by Sorgelig »

digitron wrote:I built IO Board v5.6, is there anyway to add some type of power button on this one?
only if you add it to the cable powering the MiSTer.
digitron
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:27 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by digitron »

ok thank you
paulbnl
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 9:43 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by paulbnl »

240 Ohm is too low for the R2R DAC. That results in 0.786 vpp. (3.3 x 75 / (240 +75)).

However for proper 75 Ohm output impedance, 180/360 arrays should be used with a 130 Ohm resistor to ground on the output.

That gives 3.3 x 130 / (180+130) = 1.38v with 180x130 / (180+130) = 75.48 Ohm impedance. That results in 0.688vpp with 75 Ohm termination.
SerErris
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 9:18 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by SerErris »

Hi, got my IO Board delivered as a fully assembled version from misterfpga.co.uk a few days ago, but I am puzzled.

Should the LEDs light up, or do I need to configure the IOBoard somewhere in MiSTer.ini?

The buttons work, but the LEDs do nothing. I also try to measure it with my Multimeter, but no avail. At the GPIO Pins 1,3,5 I get something around 1.8V to 1,9V depending on the pin. Should that not be GND level?

I could not find any readme or howto on how to install it. Again I am volunteering to put up a decent WIKI page, as the Wikipages do not have the information I was looking for.

And I also looked in this tread ... somewhere in the beginning (no information) and at the end some more pages...

I have the 6.1 version of the IO board.

Second Question:
How do I enable analog audio out for the 3.5mm socket? There is no output currently ...

/EDIT:
If anyone else stumbles accross this behaviour:
The answers are:
1. The IO Board does not require any settings in any .ini file whatsoever.
2. It requires the toggle switches to be in off poisition for all four switches!

I am not sure where I got it from, but I had SW0 in position on, and that lead to this effect. Now everything works fine.
Sigismond0
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2020 2:13 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by Sigismond0 »

SerErris wrote:I am not sure where I got it from, but I had SW0 in position on, and that lead to this effect. Now everything works fine.
You probably read about SW0 being flipped for the digital IO board.
SerErris
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 9:18 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by SerErris »

Yes probable.

However (not to do marketing here), Nathan from misterfpga.co.uk was very helpful. Can only recommend him out of experience.

Nice guy, awesome build quality. If you do not want to build your own and live in EU. That is for you.
Nat
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I/O Board

Post by Nat »

Sigismond0 wrote:You probably read about SW0 being flipped for the digital IO board.
Just to prevent confusion for others reading this thread, you need to flip the SW3 switch when using the Digital IO Board.
sw3.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
MiSTerFPGA Add-On Boards: UK based, low cost worldwide shipping.
https://MiSTerFPGA.co.uk/
warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by warham »

Nat wrote:
Sigismond0 wrote:You probably read about SW0 being flipped for the digital IO board.
Just to prevent confusion for others reading this thread, you need to flip the SW3 switch when using the Digital IO Board.

What does it do? havent noticed anything without it being flipped but im not using the optical connections
Nat
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I/O Board

Post by Nat »

warham wrote:What does it do? havent noticed anything without it being flipped but im not using the optical connections
If your using the built in DC jack socket on the Digital IO board to power the DE10-Nano, without flipping the SW3 switch this feature will not work, the on board on/off switch will do nothing.
MiSTerFPGA Add-On Boards: UK based, low cost worldwide shipping.
https://MiSTerFPGA.co.uk/
Locked

Return to “MiSTer”