I/O Board

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
gsargent70
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:04 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by gsargent70 »

sajattack wrote:Do you have a full list of parts for v6.0 like v5.5 in the wiki? If not, what size are the 100uF caps?
I can post what I used tonight as a BOM but keep in mind I haven't tested the analog video out yet as I forgot to order the switch for SOG part

Poobah
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:45 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: I/O Board

Post by Poobah »

sajattack wrote:Do you have a full list of parts for v6.0 like v5.5 in the wiki? If not, what size are the 100uF caps?
I'm using KEMET T491C107K010AT, they are 6032.
MiSTer Expansion Boards, USA Seller: IO, SDRAM (32, 64, 128), RTC, USB, Audio Input & Accessories)
https://www.legacypixels.com/mister

Poobah
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:45 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: I/O Board

Post by Poobah »

gsargent70 wrote:

Poobah -

I just got done building my V6 board and on mine at the main menu the red and green leds strobe back and forth. Is this correct?

Also the digital audio led is not on. Does it only light when a digital audio source is plugged in to the jack?

Thanks - gsargent
The newest menu core seems to have that behavior: power[red] and user[green] strobing back and forth.
digital audio led should always be on (to the naked eye)
MiSTer Expansion Boards, USA Seller: IO, SDRAM (32, 64, 128), RTC, USB, Audio Input & Accessories)
https://www.legacypixels.com/mister

sajattack
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 77
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2019 3:28 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by sajattack »

gsargent70 wrote:
sajattack wrote:Do you have a full list of parts for v6.0 like v5.5 in the wiki? If not, what size are the 100uF caps?
I can post what I used tonight as a BOM but keep in mind I haven't tested the analog video out yet as I forgot to order the switch for SOG part
Yes please.

gsargent70
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:04 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by gsargent70 »

I can post what I used tonight as a BOM but keep in mind I haven't tested the analog video out yet as I forgot to order the switch for SOG part[/quote]
Yes please.[/quote]

Here you go, I went ahead and put the links in there too from where I got it all from in case you needed them. Enjoy! :)

gsargent BOM I/O V6.0

Capacitors
-----------------
C7 - C10 10nf - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/80-C0805C103K5R
C6, C11, C12 100uf - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/74 ... X96R3C2TE3
C1 - C5 10uf - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/80-C0805C106K8P

Resistors/Resistor Arrays
-------------------------------
R1, R2 1K - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/603-RC0805FR-071KL
R3, R4 100ohm - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/60 ... FR-07100RL
R5 200ohm - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/60 ... FR-07200RL
RN1, RN3, RN5, RN7, RN9, RN11 604ohm - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/652-CAY16-6040F4LF
RN2, RN4, RN6, RN8, RN10 300ohm - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/652-CAY16-3000F4LF
RN12, RN14 100ohm - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/652-CAY16-1000F4LF
RN13, RN15 10K - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/652-CAY16-1002F4LF
RN16, RN17 560ohm - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/652-CAY16-5600F4LF

Transistors
----------------
Q1 100ma 50v - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/863-BC847BLT1G

Switches/Connectors/Headers
---------------------------------
SW1-SW3 - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/612-TL3300DF160Q
J4 - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/490-UJ3-AH-4-TH
J3 - https://lcsc.com/product-detail/Connect ... 13206.html
P3 - https://lcsc.com/product-detail/Wire-To ... C2318.html
P4 - https://lcsc.com/product-detail/Wire-To ... 10384.html
J2 - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/490-SJ1-3523N
Red, Yellow, Green 5mm Led - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01ER ... UTF8&psc=1
Red 3mm Led - https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/696-SSL-LX3044HDTR
J1 - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C3 ... UTF8&psc=1
P1 - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B071X ... UTF8&psc=1
Fan Connector - https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01FF ... UTF8&psc=1

matman
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:21 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by matman »

Point of clarity on your BOM. The pdf says tested with:
R=240, 2R=475
AND
R=300, 2R=604

Should RN1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 be 300
and
RN2, 4, 6, 8, 10 be 604?

if not, maybe i don't follow what the spec R and 2R notations mean.

Thanks!
Matt

Nat
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:19 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: I/O Board

Post by Nat »

Hi Matt,

As per the schematic here https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Hardwar ... rd_6.0.pdf

RN1 is a 2R and a 2R is the 604 ohm resistor network.

RN2 is a R and R is the 300 ohm resistor network.

Each numbered resistor network has the notation of either R or 2R underneath on the schematic.

Image

Hope my explanation makes sense.

Thanks

Nat
MiSTerFPGA Add-On Boards: UK based, low cost worldwide shipping.
https://MiSTerFPGA.co.uk/

gsargent70
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:04 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by gsargent70 »

Yea what Nat supplied is what I did. I just followed the R and 2R notation under each RN component. I believe somewhere in a post above Sorgelig states that the R=300 and R2=604 gives darker analog video output than the other R and R2 combination.

Heppaz
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:45 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by Heppaz »

Hi, does anyone know why my whites would be purple on the VGA output?

I/O Board V6

Image

RGB colours seem to be displaying as normal.
Image

culexus
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:49 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by culexus »

Heppaz wrote:Hi, does anyone know why my whites would be purple on the VGA output?

I/O Board V6

Image

RGB colours seem to be displaying as normal.
Image

I also got this on my first v6 board and what I found was a bad solder joint on on of the ressistor array, think it was RN2 just use flux and reflow them, also use a multimeter and check for bridges.

Heppaz
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:45 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by Heppaz »

culexus wrote:I also got this on my first v6 board and what I found was a bad solder joint on on of the ressistor array, think it was RN2 just use flux and reflow them, also use a multimeter and check for bridges.
Thanks.
I checked the networks over and there was a dry joint on RN5.

All working good now :)

matman
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:21 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by matman »

Nat wrote:Hi Matt,

As per the schematic here https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Hardwar ... rd_6.0.pdf

RN1 is a 2R and a 2R is the 604 ohm resistor network.

RN2 is a R and R is the 300 ohm resistor network.

Each numbered resistor network has the notation of either R or 2R underneath on the schematic.

Image

Hope my explanation makes sense.

Thanks

Nat
Thank you. For some reason I missed those annotations initially and just got my order from Digikey...just awaiting my headers so i can get this soldered up..

Zorlac
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2019 8:42 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by Zorlac »

Sorgelig - Would you ever consider replacing the TOSLINK audio out with a 75 Ohm BNC audio out on the I/O board? 75 Ohm BNC is known to be one of the best connections to/from a DAC when using S/PDIF.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Post by Sorgelig »

Zorlac wrote:Sorgelig - Would you ever consider replacing the TOSLINK audio out with a 75 Ohm BNC audio out on the I/O board? 75 Ohm BNC is known to be one of the best connections to/from a DAC when using S/PDIF.
I have no plans to change it to coaxial. TOSLink is more electrically safe output. There are many cheap converters from TOSLink to coaxial if you really need it.

twohig5
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 1:49 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by twohig5 »

i just bought a SNAC adapter, and see there is a I/O Board modification required for the Genesis controllers to be supported, will there be an updated I/O board version sometime soon to reflect this? Also is there a chance a second User I/O port would ever be added to allow multiple players to use native controllers?

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Post by Sorgelig »

There will be I/O board update for addition I/O pin.

You mistreat the SNAC board functionality: it's mostly for special system-specific controllers like gun or piano. While it works with original controller, it's not the function it made for. So there won't be a second USER I/O because it's not for gamepads.
Also it's generic I/O so in theory it can support unlimited controllers with external circuit.

twohig5
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 1:49 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by twohig5 »

Sorgelig wrote:There will be I/O board update for addition I/O pin.

You mistreat the SNAC board functionality: it's mostly for special system-specific controllers like gun or piano. While it works with original controller, it's not the function it made for. So there won't be a second USER I/O because it's not for gamepads.
Also it's generic I/O so in theory it can support unlimited controllers with external circuit.
thanks, all good to know.

warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by warham »

100% of people i see bought snac are mistreating it because its cheaper blisster alternative & native gamepad connector. imo usb still have some connection bugs, but maybe just my machine.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Post by Sorgelig »

For SNES you will need SNES gamepad, for NES you will need NES gamepad, then you will need Genesis gamepad to play in Genesis.
I don't see how it can be convenient to use. And you can't use OSD.

warham
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2018 7:17 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by warham »

Sorgelig wrote:For SNES you will need SNES gamepad, for NES you will need NES gamepad, then you will need Genesis gamepad to play in Genesis.
I don't see how it can be convenient to use. And you can't use OSD.
You are right & very practical person not like most people. That's why i spent money on the other board because first have USB mode until core load into other api. I know you feel its not necessary.

My wife is TW. In a future trip to TW I will try bug you to go out for some waffles and shao long bao :p

User avatar
soleil
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:59 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by soleil »

I'd like to connect my Nintendo Zapper to my MiSTer. I've got all the necessary components to make it work; level shifters, usb3-cable and a nes-connector and the Zapper.

I found the pinout of the nes-connector:Image

On the I/O-board user port there are the following signals present:
RX
TX
RTS
CTS
DTR
DSR

Does anybody know what signals to connect to the nes-connector, via level-shifters, for the zapper to work?

MysteryM
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:45 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by MysteryM »

I've had a mister DE10 for ages, but its had no use as I've been waiting to build a io board, which in turn was waiting for me to sort my soldering skills out :shrug: Which I've finally got to the point where I can solder proficiently after a few hours and of practice. :D

Anyhow, I was about to order a version 6 board, and thanks to the BOM posted here all the bits but I see there's a new io board revision coming that adds wireup for another gpio pin. So I was now going to wait for that.

In the interim, I have a 5.5 pcb here, and a noctua 5v fan and was wondering if I could just wire the fan directly to the pcb gpio pins that supply 5v, or is that a bad idea and should I just really wait for the 6.x revision.

The idea was that I'd have this sorted so I could play though Christmas! I do have tons of the original consoles hooked up to a crt to keep me going in the interim.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: I/O Board

Post by Sorgelig »

You can wire fan directly to 5v coming from GPIO connector.

MysteryM
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 9:45 am

Re: I/O Board

Post by MysteryM »

Sorgelig wrote:You can wire fan directly to 5v coming from GPIO connector.
Thank you, worked perfectly :cheers:

gljubojevic
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 12:24 pm

Re: I/O Board

Post by gljubojevic »

Hi, question for I/O Board 5.6XL.

Is there any possible harm in installing all pins for P7, since pins 3,9,10 are not connected according to schematics I'm assuming there is no harm.
Idea is just to have more pins on P7 and better guidance when inserting board to DE10-nano.

Second question is related to P2, what would happen if pin is installed without HW modification, feature simply would'n work or there are possible complications.

Thank you.

Locked

Return to “MiSTer”