Apple 1 core?

https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/Main_MiSTer/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Sorgelig, Moderator Team

Locked
JackZielke
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:11 am

Apple 1 core?

Post by JackZielke »

I was looking at this https://github.com/alangarf/apple-one and wondering how hard it would be to port this to MiSTer. It appears to use a cycle-accurate 6502 processor. There is already a version for the Terasic DE0.

They have a small list of software you can load via keyboard here: https://github.com/alangarf/apple-one/t ... r/software. The javascript (unrelated) apple 1 emulator https://www.scullinsteel.com/apple1/ has a longer list of software but it loads via tape. You can view the directory listing and view the js files https://www.scullinsteel.com/apple1/tapes/. I think it would be pretty easy to convert those to keyboard input.

There are other archives of software. Any chance we can get this interesting machine running? I admit to manually inputting a memory tester into the JS emulator and running it.

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by Sorgelig »

Such ancient computer is worth in its original physical form as a part of history while its emulator is pretty useless. It's even has no convenient way to load the apps.

There is already pretty much similar core for MiSTer - PET2001. At least it has some library of programs and traditional TAPE device for loading.

At the same time this verilog Apple 1 core can be a start for someone who want to start to develop for FPGA.

JackZielke
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by JackZielke »

I understand. The Apple 1 does have a tape device for loading (though this fpga version does not). There is a small archive of apps out there (both in text files and audio files). It has a bit of a cult following with new software still being written. I thought you might find it interesting. =]

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by Sorgelig »

Many things i find interesting, but i have only 24 hours per day, so i need to define a priorities ;)

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by Gehstock »

Mist Port need Feedback can´t test
Download on my Github

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 690
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by NML32 »

Gehstock wrote:Mist Port need Feedback can´t test
Download on my Github
It boots up with a @ prompt. I can type on the screen but other than that I'm not sure what to do.

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by DrOG »

Hi!

I can confirm it's working, but as the readme says unfortunately it needs a serial input line to load programs.

The core's video output is standard 640x480@60Hz, despite it not compatible with my picky LCD TV. Screenshot taken from my BenQ monitor (sorry for the quality).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

JackZielke
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by JackZielke »

For a quick test, type the following:

Code: Select all

280:A2 C BD 8B 2 20 EF FF CA D0 F7 60 8D C4 CC D2 CF D7 A0 CF CC CC C5 C8
280
R
To print the code on the screen:

Code: Select all

280.297
I was thinking about using the OSD to load files as if they were typed via the keyboard. I was planning on changing tape load files to keyboard files to be loaded in that manner.

NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 690
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by NML32 »

JackZielke wrote:For a quick test, type the following:

Code: Select all

280:A2 C BD 8B 2 20 EF FF CA D0 F7 60 8D C4 CC D2 CF D7 A0 CF CC CC C5 C8
280
R
To print the code on the screen:

Code: Select all

280.297
I was thinking about using the OSD to load files as if they were typed via the keyboard. I was planning on changing tape load files to keyboard files to be loaded in that manner.
It worked :)
Apple1.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

JackZielke
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:11 am

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by JackZielke »

Nice!

Edit: You can find out loads of information on how each circuit works and how they work together here: https://www.sbprojects.net/projects/apple1/index.php

It was this page, in fact, that made me want this core. This was an amazing leap from the switches and LEDs of the Altair. Keyboard input and video output! Who'd have thunk it?

Edit 2: I made a page with Apple 1 links. This includes the software archives that I know about as well as the software that I have converted to keyboard input txt files.
https://linuxcoffee.com/apple1/

seastalker
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by seastalker »

I will be checking this core out. It seems an important project to preserve the history of a device that barely exists in working order these days. Maybe I will see the day an IBM 5100 core will be perfected with it's 'special' features intact... perhaps boring for modern enthusiasts but a certain John Titor may save the world from the effort around 2030. :)

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by DrOG »

Hi!

Just now discovered a "serial transfer" version of the core in Gehstock's GitHub repository. There's an 'off *.on' option in the menu, selecting that you get into the file browser. How should it work? (Sorry for my ignorance but I'm absolutely no familiar with the orginal system).

rittwage
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by rittwage »

I couldn't figure it out either. If you could just make it type text files into the simualation, you could run pretty much everything.

alanswx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:34 pm

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by alanswx »

I ported this over to MiSTer quickly. I am wondering if we can just read the text files, and have it simulate the keyboard. It looks like the ps2 adapter just switches it to ascii. This might be really simple. I am going to take a pass at it when I get some more time. I will put the source in github as well of course.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

alanswx
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2017 4:34 pm

Re: Apple 1 core?

Post by alanswx »

alanswx wrote:I ported this over to MiSTer quickly. I am wondering if we can just read the text files, and have it simulate the keyboard. It looks like the ps2 adapter just switches it to ascii. This might be really simple. I am going to take a pass at it when I get some more time. I will put the source in github as well of course.
I released a first version. It needs a second version to fix the txt file loading.

Locked

Return to “MiSTer”