MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
ManuFerHi
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by ManuFerHi »

This Fabio core has been ported by Yo_me to Mister, and ported to mist / SiDi by Rampa.
The SiDi version works without problem, but the Mist version I think only works with some versions of sdram.

VHD file - https://mega.nz/file/5oUw1KQZ#vjNHSkfoW ... crWQHFuM8M

Repo - https://github.com/RW-FPGA-devel-Team/MSX1FPGA_SiDi

I add the project for mist, in case someone who does not work wants to try different timings.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 229
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by Higgy »

Thanks. I will have to try it on my MiST but I expect it will not work.

Hopefully the fix which was applied to Sam Coupe, MSX2 and Archie Core for SDRAM timing can be applied to this Core.
My MiST had no issues once the timing changes was integrated into those other Cores. Probably a couple of years ago now the timing fix was found.
User avatar
rondc
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:59 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by rondc »

ManuFerHI ! Hello !!!

My MISTica has the same RAM than classic MiSTs and may be what you said about the speed of the RAM.
I have been trying to synthesize several approaches and there was not success, still not working.

Maybe Gyurco could do a couple of tries since he has a lot of experience with MIST RAMs.
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1079
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by DanyPPC »

Many thanks, I will try it on my MiST/MiSTICA
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1079
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by DanyPPC »

It doesn't work on MiSTica.

On MiST it stops on "Booting..."
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1160
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by vebxenon »

Tested on real MiST. It gets stuck on "Booting..." screen.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
rondc
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:59 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by rondc »

@slingshot:

I have been yesterday making a lot of tests, in order to find the right clocks to make sdram to work.

I tried it with 0 degrees, -10, -15, -25, -30, and -90, when by default it was -45. None of the possible combinations has worked for me.
Then I tried to change the clocks, ck0 to 21.477273, ck1 at 85.909091 and ck2 just like ck1. I have not been lucky either, it keeps getting stuck in the boot.

Please, slingshot, Could you take a look to see if there is any chance it will work?. Thanks in advance.
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2255
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by slingshot »

rondc wrote: Fri Jul 31, 2020 5:50 am ManuFerHI ! Hello !!!

My MISTica has the same RAM than classic MiSTs and may be what you said about the speed of the RAM.
I have been trying to synthesize several approaches and there was not success, still not working.

Maybe Gyurco could do a couple of tries since he has a lot of experience with MIST RAMs.
The SDRAM doesn't have any speciality, just you have to program it correctly. Best to allow packing the IO regs into Fast Input/Output. That might sound scary, but only means that avoid combinatorial logic on the SDRAM in/output pins, and use only one target register for them. E.g. instead of:

Code: Select all

	if (a) out_a <= SDRAM_DQ else out_b <= SDRAM_DQ;
write

Code: Select all

	sdram_in <= SDRAM_DQ;
	if(a) out_a <= sdram_in; else out_b <= sdram_in;
Also set the constraints in the SDC well.
There are a lot of examples in other cores, I won't work on this one.
User avatar
rondc
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:59 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by rondc »

Thanks slinghot !
Let's see what we can do.

Where can we find some SDC documentation in order to learn how to configure ?.

Regards.
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2255
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by slingshot »

rondc wrote: Fri Jul 31, 2020 8:38 am Thanks slinghot !
Let's see what we can do.

Where can we find some SDC documentation in order to learn how to configure ?.

Regards.
Quartus handbook maybe. The input/output part of the .sdc is very unintuitive, just copy-paste the SDRAM part from another recent core (use the correct clock).
ManuFerHi
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:20 am

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by ManuFerHi »

From the feedback I receive it works on all FPGAs that carry Alliance memory sdram, and it fails on Micron memories, SiDi as they all carry Alliance works in all, Mistica works in all those that carry the Alliance brand and original Mist only works with some Hynix memories.
User avatar
rondc
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:59 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by rondc »

Something similar happened with the SNES core when it started to be tested, in the end it was able to work on MIST and MiSTica with different RAM manufacturers.

The big problem I see with this core is that without the help and advice of someone who knows how to solve this kind of problems, it will make us have to learn and try until it works, if we succeed, of course.

There is not much more to comment, apart from saying that this core in SiDi works like a charm. If anyone is encouraged to try to make it work on the MiST with Micron, we will be very grateful.
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2255
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by slingshot »

C'mon, it's an MSX1, the SDRAM bandwith requirements are nowhere near to the SNES. The SDRAM controller in SNES uses a 3-way bank interleaving, and runs at 126MHz. The MSX1's SDRAM controller should work even at 32MHz, but if it runs above 64MHz, then there is something very inefficiently implemented.
Hint: look at the Colecovision core, same CPU, same VDP.
User avatar
rondc
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:59 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by rondc »

OK !

Here is the core running with MiST and MiSTica with Micron RAM.
Please, test and feedback, seems to work fine.

Thanks a million to @rampa069, brilliant !
MSX1_MiST_Micron.rbf.zip
Enjoy. Cheers
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1079
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by DanyPPC »

Thanks rondc, now it works on my MiST.

:cheers:
User avatar
rondc
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:59 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by rondc »

Here are latests updates:

Multiwrite enabled SDHC bigger than 2GB
Floppy Disk Mount

For MiST, MiSTica
MSX1_Mist_200808.rbf.zip
For SiDi
MSX1_Sidi_200808.rbf.zip
NEXTOR.SYS at vhd/sd root directory.
NEXTOR.SYS.zip
NEXTOR.ROM at msx1fpga directory.
NEXTOR.ROM.zip
Feedback Please.Cheers
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1079
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MSX1 from Fabio Belavenuto for Mist and SiDi

Post by DanyPPC »

Thanks rondc, it works very well on my MiST :cheers:
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”