Work on the Minimig core?

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
tobiflex
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2019 7:00 am

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by tobiflex »

sonycman wrote:
MasterOfGizmo wrote:There are no zeros. This
makes $1234 show up on the bus.
Okay. So its better to have reliable mirroring than random data in higher byte, i agreed.
tobiflex wrote: I think this would be the right way. But we're going straight to the weekend. I can only test that on Sunday evening. Sorry ...
This is exactly what i did, its the easier and faster way but is not fully correct, as Till showed just above...
I have also change the line

Code: Select all

IF oddout=addr(0)  THEN
to:

Code: Select all

IF oddout=addr(0) AND memmaskmux(5 downto 4) = "00" THEN
This is important.
sonycman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 3:33 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by sonycman »

tobiflex wrote: I have also change the line

Code: Select all

IF oddout=addr(0)  THEN
to:

Code: Select all

IF oddout=addr(0) AND memmaskmux(5 downto 4) = "00" THEN
This is important.
Oh, now i see! I'll check it out, thanks, Tobi!
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1831
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by slingshot »

sonycman wrote:Changed blitter state machine, so that it performs first dot write to D pointer address and correctly increment it.
agnus_blitter.v was modified so that these lines are added:
I've updated the sources here:
https://github.com/mist-devel/minimig-mist/tree/dev
Hope I did it right.
sonycman
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 3:33 pm
Location: Russia

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by sonycman »

slingshot wrote: I've updated the sources here:
https://github.com/mist-devel/minimig-mist/tree/dev
Hope I did it right.
Thanks a lot!
uchristo
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by uchristo »

Does a minimig-build including these fixes exist? Or shall I set up a Build-Environment?
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 889
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by DanyPPC »

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by vebxenon »

DanyPPC wrote:New Release:

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 200209.rbf

Thanks Slingshot !
Great :cheers: :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
rondc
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:59 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by rondc »

Thank You !!!! :cheers:
kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by kolla »

Could it be possible to add support for 4 IDE devices, like on MiSTer?
-- kolla
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1831
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by slingshot »

That would involve a big firmware work, too. I'm not sure if there are enough RAM left for that.
christianlucio
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 5:03 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by christianlucio »

Thanks slingshot for your new core and all your efforts on the MIST !
I tried the new one with a problematic case: Super Offroad cracked disk Version and this still does not work.
Can anyone confirm ?
kolla
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 309
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 11:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by kolla »

slingshot wrote:That would involve a big firmware work, too. I'm not sure if there are enough RAM left for that.
OK, I understand, not a big deal anyways :)
-- kolla
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by vebxenon »

Hello, just a curiosity:

I've been updating some games and testing them in whdload (I download the Whdload games from EAB File Server) . Now when I try to execute Street Fighter II (yes, I know there are better versions, bla bla bla), game runs, but there are some graphical glitches that there weren't in previous cores. Can you test it please?

ftp://ftp:amiga@grandis.nu/Commodore_Am ... 4_0882.lha

On Whdload works perfect. No glitches. I'm using on Mist 68020, 24 MB RAM and no turbo (on AGA games only I use the turbo function). Last Whdload and Amiga 3.1.4. Fixing this problem could help fixing other glitches...

Regards,

Salva
Last edited by vebxenon on Sun Mar 29, 2020 8:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by vebxenon »

The problem it's AGA related. If I change the chipset to ECS game works, so something on AGA is not working well now.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by vebxenon »

vebxenon wrote:The problem it's AGA related. If I change the chipset to ECS game works, so something on AGA is not working well now.
Nobody has this issue? :shrug:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
goran
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by goran »

vebxenon wrote:
vebxenon wrote:The problem it's AGA related. If I change the chipset to ECS game works, so something on AGA is not working well now.
Nobody has this issue? :shrug:
I tried now ADF version (no WHDLoad) and I also have graphic corruption in AGA mode. All good in ECS.
Best regards,
Goran
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by vebxenon »

goran wrote:
vebxenon wrote:
vebxenon wrote:The problem it's AGA related. If I change the chipset to ECS game works, so something on AGA is not working well now.
Nobody has this issue? :shrug:
I tried now ADF version (no WHDLoad) and I also have graphic corruption in AGA mode. All good in ECS.
Thanks!
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
rondc
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2019 9:59 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by rondc »

slingshot has updated the dev branch of the core Minimig and now you can run ShapeShifter and Fusion (Macintosh II emulation in colour) perfectly, even with Mac images assigned as HD.

As shapeshifter recognizes a Macintosh II ci
With Fusion you can afford a Macintosh II ( 68020 ) equally

Thank you very much slinghot!
Last edited by rondc on Wed Apr 08, 2020 4:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 732
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by DrOG »

Thank you, useful update! :cheers:
User avatar
goran
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by goran »

Working good so far.
Graphic garbage in Street Fighter II is still there but completely different now. :)
Best regards,
Goran
User avatar
retrofun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 106
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by retrofun »

vebxenon wrote:
vebxenon wrote:The problem it's AGA related. If I change the chipset to ECS game works, so something on AGA is not working well now.
Nobody has this issue? :shrug:
I have scrambled graphics only when NO slow mem is selected (tested with ADF version).

Configuration:
CPU: 68020
Turbo: <any>
Chipset AGA
Chip: 2MB
Slow: none
Fast: 24MB

Tested several cores down to 20180525 - cannot confirm there is a regression in newer cores.

When adding slow mem (AGA) or selecting ECS chipset the game works ok.

The scrambled gfx looks like copper/bitmap modulo problems.

The WHDLoad slaves states in the very first v1.0:
"- Double Buffer Copperlist / Modulo problem fixed"

This is most likely why the WHDLoad version always works.

Strange bug. This would mean the game is broken for AGA machines because they don't have slow mem.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1030
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by vebxenon »

retrofun wrote: I have scrambled graphics only when NO slow mem is selected (tested with ADF version).

Configuration:
CPU: 68020
Turbo: <any>
Chipset AGA
Chip: 2MB
Slow: none
Fast: 24MB

Tested several cores down to 20180525 - cannot confirm there is a regression in newer cores.

When adding slow mem (AGA) or selecting ECS chipset the game works ok.

The scrambled gfx looks like copper/bitmap modulo problems.

The WHDLoad slaves states in the very first v1.0:
"- Double Buffer Copperlist / Modulo problem fixed"

This is most likely why the WHDLoad version always works.

Strange bug. This would mean the game is broken for AGA machines because they don't have slow mem.

I'm using last Whdload version... no issues on this game on WinUAE. I think it can affect more games...
Last edited by vebxenon on Thu Apr 09, 2020 8:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
apolkosnik
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 3:20 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by apolkosnik »

rondc wrote:slingshot has updated the dev branch of the core Minimig and now you can run ShapeShifter and Fusion (Macintosh II emulation in colour) perfectly, even with Mac images assigned as HD.

As shapeshifter recognizes a Macintosh II ci
With Fusion you can afford a Macintosh II ( 68020 ) equally

Thank you very much slinghot!
Is that due to the TG68.C fixes to the extended addressing modes?
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1831
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by slingshot »

apolkosnik wrote: Is that due to the TG68.C fixes to the extended addressing modes?
I assume yes. The other change is by retrofun. So the credit goes to both of you. I've just built it :)
apolkosnik
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat May 18, 2019 3:20 pm

Re: Work on the Minimig core?

Post by apolkosnik »

slingshot wrote:
apolkosnik wrote: Is that due to the TG68.C fixes to the extended addressing modes?
I assume yes. The other change is by retrofun. So the credit goes to both of you. I've just built it :)
It was Tobiflex who fixed the addressing issue; I only ran a Toni Wilen's cputest and found some issues. :)
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”