Atari 2600 / VIC 20

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by DanyPPC »

Tested Vic-Man on latest core and works. It's an unexpanded game, so don't activate any ram expansion.
SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by SchneiderCPC664 »

No extra Memory is installed.
How do you launch Vic-Man?
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by DanyPPC »

Simply load it and digit "run" (+ Return) on the desktop of Basic screen.
SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by SchneiderCPC664 »

Done the same. :(
After RUN the READY promt was shown and nothing happend.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by DanyPPC »

Download the game from > here <

This is my configuration:
VicMan1.jpg
Digiti RUN (+Return):
VicMan2.jpg
Now Play:
VicMan3.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by SchneiderCPC664 »

In your screenshot I saw that "CRT with load address" is enabled. It works now! :D
Thank you very much. :)
What's the meaning of CRT with load address?
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by DanyPPC »

Every CRT has an address where it needs to be located at the loading. So this option is required for this purpose.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by vebxenon »

Do you have list of compatible games? Some games like Dig Dug, Jungle Hunt or MS Pac Man (cartridges) load, but whole screen moves once you press up or down.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by DanyPPC »

It's an option of some Vic 20 games to adjust the screen position, anyway verify your Mist.ini, mine:
[mist]
keyrah_mode=0
scandoubler_disable=0
mouse_boot_mode=0
joystick_ignore_hat=0
joystick_ignore_osd=0
joystick_disable_shortcuts=0
joystick0_prefer_db9=0
key_menu_as_rgui=0
reset_combo=0
ypbpr=1
keep_video_mode=0
led_animation=0
joystick_remap=0810,E501,1,2,4,8,8,10,20,10,400,800,0,0,40,80
joy_key_map=400,2c
joy_key_map=800,2c

[c64]
joy_key_map=20,2c

[genesis]
joystick_remap=0810,E501,1,2,4,8,200,40,20,10,100,400,0,0,40,80

[tgfx16]
joystick_remap=0810,E501,1,2,4,8,400,100,10,20,200,800,0,0,40,80

[vic20]
scandoubler_disable=1

[spectrum]
scandoubler_disable=1
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1875
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by slingshot »

vebxenon wrote:Do you have list of compatible games? Some games like Dig Dug, Jungle Hunt or MS Pac Man (cartridges) load, but whole screen moves once you press up or down.
Cursor keys are a feature of the game for manual centering. Most probably the real controls are the joysticks for such games.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by vebxenon »

slingshot wrote:
vebxenon wrote:Do you have list of compatible games? Some games like Dig Dug, Jungle Hunt or MS Pac Man (cartridges) load, but whole screen moves once you press up or down.
Cursor keys are a feature of the game for manual centering. Most probably the real controls are the joysticks for such games.
Humm, it happens to me using USB joypad... I'm going to test using DB9 :)
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by Higgy »

Does the VIC-20 Core support reading an external ROM file for JiffyDOS support?

With the C64 & C16 you can combine the Basic ROM+JiffyDOS Kernel+Disk Drive JiffyDOS Rom to get a combined C64.ROM / C16.ROM that the Core reads.

( I think the resulting VIC-20 file would be 24kb (8+8+8) )

Thanks
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by DanyPPC »

Never tested.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1875
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by slingshot »

Higgy wrote:Does the VIC-20 Core support reading an external ROM file for JiffyDOS support?

With the C64 & C16 you can combine the Basic ROM+JiffyDOS Kernel+Disk Drive JiffyDOS Rom to get a combined C64.ROM / C16.ROM that the Core reads.

( I think the resulting VIC-20 file would be 24kb (8+8+8) )

Thanks
Why don't you read the instructions?

The built-in ROMs can be overridden via placing a vic20.rom file to the root of the SD Card. The file format is: 1541 (16k) + Kernal PAL (8k) + Kernal NTSC (8k) + Basic (8k) + Char (4k).
User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by Higgy »

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction and sorry for jumping to a question without looking around the Github repository first.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by DanyPPC »

Tested, but I haven't noticed visible loading speed. I think default kernal is enough for Vic 20. It is/was a base machine.

JiffyDOS PAL:
JiffyDOS_vic20_PAL.jpg
JiffyDOS NTSC:
JiffyDOS_vic20_NTSC.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1875
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by slingshot »

You can see if the 1541 also got the ROM with the @ command.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by DanyPPC »

I think it's right:
JiffyDOS_1541.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by DanyPPC »

Atari 2600 core has been updated too:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... ores/a2600

I play Phoenix this afternoon remembering when I saw for the first time an Atari 2600 showcased with this fantastic game.
Nostalgic memories...
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by vebxenon »

I've found issues with two Sega games on last 2600 core:

- Sub Scan, game starts, but then screen goes black and I need to reset MiST.
- Tac Scan, game starts, but there are a lot of graphical issues :shrug:

Thanks for your work! :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1875
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by slingshot »

I've made a new release of VIC20 with a common build for PAL/NTSC, using the reconfigurable PLL feature of the FPGA:

https://github.com/gyurco/VIC20_MiST/releases/tag/1.6
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by DanyPPC »

Great !
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by vebxenon »

slingshot wrote:I've made a new release of VIC20 with a common build for PAL/NTSC, using the reconfigurable PLL feature of the FPGA:

https://github.com/gyurco/VIC20_MiST/releases/tag/1.6
Great :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by Lroby74 »

slingshot wrote: The built-in ROMs can be overridden via placing a vic20.rom file to the root of the SD Card. The file format is: 1541 (16k) + Kernal PAL (8k) + Kernal NTSC (8k) + Basic (8k) + Char (4k).
This is still correct with lastest Vic 20 core too?
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1875
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Atari 2600 / VIC 20

Post by slingshot »

Lroby74 wrote:
slingshot wrote: The built-in ROMs can be overridden via placing a vic20.rom file to the root of the SD Card. The file format is: 1541 (16k) + Kernal PAL (8k) + Kernal NTSC (8k) + Basic (8k) + Char (4k).
This is still correct with lastest Vic 20 core too?
Yes
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”