[ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Sorgelig
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 6348
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:51 am
Location: Russia/Taiwan

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by Sorgelig »

slingshot wrote:Don't be so excited about GS support on MiST, it's even eats up almost all BRAM on MiSTer :)
Not all. only 64KB :) But it uses DDR3 as main memory.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by slingshot »

Sorgelig wrote:Not all. only 64KB :) But it uses DDR3 as main memory.
"only" :)

desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by desUBIKado »

Hi there.

I notice the Caprize (demo) and Bomb Jack (game) don't work well with the last core of Spectrum (zxspectrum_20180922.rbf), however on a old core (SPECTRUM_EAR.rbf) both of them work fine.

I have included the 3 archives in this .zip file:
Caprize_BJ.zip
Caprize must run on +2A/+3 mode, and Bomb Jack on 48K or 128K mode.

Regards.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by DanyPPC »

Downloaded Popie from World Of Spectrum and converted from TZX to TAP thanks to Win_TZX2TAP_0.21, but the game doesn't work.
So I tested the tap file on Spectaculator in ZX128 mode and it works properly.

For some time I wanted to report that even the demo Aeon doesn't start, but I tested it successfully on my Just Speccy 128 from Zaxon.

Is there space for un update to the Spectrum core ?
Thanks.

User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by Higgy »

DanyPPC - be careful with TZX conversion, I tried converting the following game and it would not run on a real Speccy!

http://www.indieretronews.com/2019/01/d ... x.html?m=1

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by slingshot »

DanyPPC wrote:Downloaded Popie from World Of Spectrum and converted from TZX to TAP thanks to Win_TZX2TAP_0.21, but the game doesn't work.
So I tested the tap file on Spectaculator in ZX128 mode and it works properly.

For some time I wanted to report that even the demo Aeon doesn't start, but I tested it successfully on my Just Speccy 128 from Zaxon.

Is there space for un update to the Spectrum core ?
Thanks.
If the game doesn't use the ROM loader, turbo loading from TAP is not possible. You have to use the slow method (e.g. type LOAD "" before you select the .TAP). Also it's possible that you must start/stop the tape manually (F1/F2).

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by DanyPPC »

The problem isn't loading, but the game itself which doesn't work.

I don't know why Aeon demo doesn't work too.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by slingshot »

Try the attached build.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by DanyPPC »

slingshot wrote:Try the attached build.
Oh yes ! Now the game Popie works :cheers:
Last edited by DanyPPC on Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by DanyPPC »

Regarding "Aeon" demo I converted the scl to trd format and loaded it in TR-Dos mode.
Now it works properly.

Many thanks for the help !
:cheers:

desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by desUBIKado »

Caprize (demo) and Bomb Jack (game) work well again with the last core. Thank you slingshot, your work is fantastic!

fons
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2019 4:33 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by fons »

:cheers: Fantastico !! Muchas gracias

jamesrc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by jamesrc »

slingshot wrote:Try the attached build.
I plan to update to this build tonight, myself.

Will these changes make their way back to the git repo?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by slingshot »

jamesrc wrote:
slingshot wrote:Try the attached build.
I plan to update to this build tonight, myself.

Will these changes make their way back to the git repo?
It's already there for some weeks.

RobeInie
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by RobeInie »

Hi !!

Anyone with Fast Tape Load option problems ?
I got an intermitent border (red to blue) when I try to use Fast-Load ... Only when I open Tape Loader, then I select TAP file... And it goes with normal and classic Loading speed... Then, if I change Fast Tape Load to ON, there is no Fast Speed.

I tried old ESXDOS core and it works well with this (change to Fast Tape Load and it continues loading, with higher speed).

THanks!

RobeInie
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by RobeInie »

News about the problem:

I have tried a new SD card. With only the Spectrum core. Last core and others... And the problem is the same ... What a mistery !! But no problem on the old version of DivMMC...

If I start the tape at normal speed and I change it to Fast Load option... crashes... (border blue and red, intermittent)
If I start the tape at normal speed and I change speed manually with F5, F6, F7... is working... but no F8 directly...

Perhaps is a problem of my MiST ? Some weeks ago, it worked well as always, without problems.
I have tested another keyboard also, and the problem is the same.
Some goes wrong when I put 56mhz mode.

There is any way for testing my MiST ?

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by slingshot »

Are you changing the fast load option during loading?

RobeInie
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by RobeInie »

Yes, I switch the option from OFF to ON... during loading (I start loading game at normal speed , and then I change the option to accelerate tape loading). Is it the problem ?
I remember doing this at the past with no problem.
Thanks,

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by slingshot »

I cannot tell if it should work like that, but I don't think it's designed for this use case :) Using "properly" is mentioned in the core doc.
Just press F8 if you already started the loading.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by slingshot »

If somebody still misses TZX support:
https://github.com/gyurco/ZX_Spectrum-1 ... 190518.rbf

There are some TZXes which contains blocks like loops and calls, they're not supported, but hopefully the majority of them will work.

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 839
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by DanyPPC »

Oh, many thanks !

Now I'll wait z80 support :D

User avatar
fury23
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 2:08 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by fury23 »

slingshot wrote:If somebody still misses TZX support:
https://github.com/gyurco/ZX_Spectrum-1 ... 190518.rbf

There are some TZXes which contains blocks like loops and calls, they're not supported, but hopefully the majority of them will work.
Tkank You so much :cheers:

RobeInie
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by RobeInie »

Good news,
Thanks !

jamesrc
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:33 pm
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by jamesrc »

slingshot wrote:If somebody still misses TZX support:
https://github.com/gyurco/ZX_Spectrum-1 ... 190518.rbf

There are some TZXes which contains blocks like loops and calls, they're not supported, but hopefully the majority of them will work.
slingshot continuing to make all my MiST dreams come true. Good god! Do you ever sleep? :D

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: [ZX Spectrum Core] New Update

Post by DrOG »

Thanks and respect! :cheers:

Post Reply

Return to “MiST”