Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Hi guys,

I'm trying to make this Atari ST game (in attachment) start. It requires me to press fire on joystick, but when I do it, nothing happens ("PRESS FIRE" at the bottom of the screen):
WhatsApp Image 2018-01-17 at 23.17.53.jpeg
I'm using both USB mouse and joystick: a classic wired mouse and an iBuffalo joystick, which works fine on Minimig, C64, C16 and Spectrum cores.

My TOS version is 2.06
Do someone else has ever had this kind of problem?

P.S. Also tried disconnecting all USB peripherals (after boot) and using a classic DB9 Commodore joystick. Same result (no recognition of fire button).
P.S.2. Also tried to insert into MIST.INI the row "joystick_ignore_hat=1". Same result (no recognition)

Can you suggest a method to test joystick in ATARI ST core?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by sblendorio on Thu Jan 18, 2018 8:04 am, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 732
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Atari ST and joystick

Post by DrOG »

Hi!

The file you attached does not start on my MiST either.

Try to find another release of the game, it may work.

To test the joystick and other input devices, you need a 8-bit core, and use the menu. This is a built-in feature.
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Didn't your MiST even started the game? I can see this (attachment). Did you?
WhatsApp Image 2018-01-18 at 06.51.31.jpeg
My problem is not the starting of the game, but that it does not go on when it requires you to "PRESS FIRE" (that image comes from my MiST with the previously attached .ST file):
WhatsApp Image 2018-01-17 at 23.17.53.jpeg
Do you have .ST image that works using a joystick with your MiST?

My TOS version is 2.06

P.S. Trying joystick test with 8-bit cores it seems to be OK. Also using Amiga core my iBuffalo works good. But with Atari core, it does not.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Mystery keeps going on. Trying with "Pacmania (1988)(Grandslam)" (.st disk image) the joystick works.

Notice that "F1D1" (the first game I attached, in which joystick does not work) is written in STOS BASIC. So I entered in STOS Basic "STOS - The Game Creator v2.6 (19xx)(Mandarin).st" and tried this program:

10 print joy
20 goto 10
run

and, it seems not to work, printing always "0". "JOY" is a keyword that represents the status of joystick (page 92 of the manual: https://tinyurl.com/yclwa9c7 )
Does someone experience the same?
Last edited by sblendorio on Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
AnthonyJ
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 70
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 8:16 am

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by AnthonyJ »

Use an earlier tos version if you can or run the game through one of the STOS fixer tools - joystick (and mouse and a couple of other things) are done in a bad way in STOS and so don’t work on TOS versions available at the time it was released.

The fixer tools can patch the binaries to make it work with later TOS versions
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Thank you! Mystery resolved. Where can I find the ""STOS fixer tools"? For which version of STOS are valid?
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Which version of TOS is suitable for use with MIST and STOS?
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11524
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by Mug UK »

Here's a few STOS fixer tools I had on my PC hard-drive. Might not be the latest versions of the programs, but the v3.0 should work for you on the compiled .PRG file.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Thank you. I tried it, but when I give it the .PRG file of the game, the result is that (I tried both version 3 and also "genfix"):
aa02.jpeg
aa01.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by sblendorio on Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

And... the game (with working JOYSTICK) works under TOS 1.02.
It does NOT work under TOS 1.62.
cc.jpeg
The same with STOS itself.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11524
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by Mug UK »

As it suggests, you will have to use a depack tool to unpack the .PRG back to it's full and original size. Then patch it and then repack it if you want to keep it a smaller size.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Perfect. How to "unpack" and "pack" a PRG file? Isn't it an executable one?

Thanks for the support!
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11524
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by Mug UK »

Here's the fixed version of the disk, with the patched .PRG file on it.

I did the following under STEEM:

a) Mounted the disk image in Drive B:
b) Copied the F1GPC.PRG from the AUTO folder across to my desktop under STEEM.
c) Unpacked the file using the Unpack.app tool by STS as, for a change, the Naughty Unpacker wouldn't unpack it for some reason. It was packed using the 4PAK tool from yesteryear.
d) I tried the STOS Fixer posted above and replaced the disk version with the patched one, but it didn't work.
e) There was a reply to your post in the other STOS fixing thread which mentioned Ppera's STOS Fixer from a few years ago. So I repeated the steps (after doing a fresh download of the disk) and this time the unpack -> patch -> test worked fine. The fire button works OK for me under STEEM running STE TOS v1.62, but I didn't test it under TOS v2.06 as that's for you to try.

The STOS patcher can be found on the Exxos STOS support site: https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/STOSFLOPPY/index.htm

(If you're running it on anything other than TOS v2.06, you have to rename the .TOS file to .TTP for it to work).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 732
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by DrOG »

The fixed version works fine!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

WOW! Thank you!
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Looking for "unpack.app by sta", I found just this:
http://www.chebucto.ns.ca/Services/PDA/ ... sion.shtml

But isn't there... Where can I find it?

Thanks again!
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11524
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by Mug UK »

Here's a selection of depack tools, including the Unpack one I used as well as Naughty Depacker. There are also the New Depack tool which handles multiple packers but only use it for unpacking the .PRG file as the game might have intentionally packed the data files and if you unpack them, there's no guarantee the game will work after you've patched it.

The STOS Fixer is also included in the .ZIP so that you can copy all of the tools to your desktop into a single DEPACK folder.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Thanks a lot. This was a very interesting thread.
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11524
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by Mug UK »

sblendorio wrote:Thanks a lot. This was a very interesting thread.
No problem.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Which one did you use for f1d1.st? "UNPACK" seems to be a front-end calling other unpackers.
Screen Shot 2018-01-19 at 12.49.39.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Sorry, I read again your posts. I have the answer :)
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11524
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by Mug UK »

sblendorio wrote:Sorry, I read again your posts. I have the answer :)
.ST files are copies of the whole disk, whereas you need to access the files within it.

It's all part of the learning curve :)
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
sblendorio
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by sblendorio »

Ok, that's right. Can I read/write .ST file greater than 720kb with MIST?
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11524
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: Atari ST (mist)core, STOS BASIC Game and joystick

Post by Mug UK »

sblendorio wrote:Ok, that's right. Can I read/write .ST file greater than 720kb with MIST?
I would assume so (I don't own a MiST) as most standard ST disk images will feature 80 tracks / 10 sectors = 800K .ST file.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”