Atari 7800 on MIST

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by SchneiderCPC664 »

Is there any chance in the near future to run a Atari 7800 core on MIST?
All my favorite consoles and computers are available but no SNES and Atari 7800. :(
NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 691
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by NML32 »

An Atari 7800 would be a great addition to the MiST family.
Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by Gehstock »

have try to Port but failed, maybe Sorgelig can do(he have the Source)
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 738
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by DrOG »

That would be nice! :roll:
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by DanyPPC »

I quote
DrOG wrote:That would be nice! :roll:
Everett1954
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:51 am

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by Everett1954 »

Id also love to see the 7800 on the MIST!
seastalker
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by seastalker »

I'd love it. I can dream anyway... :)
User avatar
nightshadowpt
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 154
Joined: Wed May 10, 2017 5:04 am

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by nightshadowpt »

Gehstock wrote:have try to Port but failed, maybe Sorgelig can do(he have the Source)
Hi Gehstock,

For academic purposes (i.e. to learn a bit more about it) would you be willing to share why it did fail? What were the main issues you faced?

Thanks
RobertK
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 9:47 pm
Location: Austria

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by RobertK »

Gehstock has made a new attempt to implement the Atari 7800 on the MIST. He asked me to test it, but unfortunately I am currently 1000 kms away from my MIST.
You can find the new test release (VGA only) on Gehstock's repository, please try it out and report how it works.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by DanyPPC »

WoW !!!!
Great news, i'll test now.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by DanyPPC »

May it requires the atari 7800 rom to work ? I have only strange color lines on screen, and with F12 no options to load any game rom.
Only Scandoubler effect and Reset are available.

Anyway i'm very glad ! This is one of the platform which i'm waiting to see on our beloved MiST. :cheers:
Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by Gehstock »

Has a Internal Rom for testing
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by DanyPPC »

Ok, thanks.
NML32
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 691
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:54 am
Location: USA/Florida

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by NML32 »

Gehstock wrote:Has a Internal Rom for testing
Here is a video of what I see when running the Atari 7800 core.

https://youtu.be/xzNl5wyFzXI
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1075
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by vebxenon »

NML32 wrote:
Gehstock wrote:Has a Internal Rom for testing
Here is a video of what I see when running the Atari 7800 core.

https://youtu.be/xzNl5wyFzXI
Same here... RAM timings? Well, that's the first step :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by Gehstock »

Same Output like my first port 2 years ago
Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 441
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by Gehstock »

Thanks for Video and other Support.

Someone check the other Updates and New Cores.

Connect SDRam to Jupiter Ace, is there a way to test the aviable memory?
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by DanyPPC »

Tested:

JupiterACE
JupiterACE.jpg
Bally, choose option 4:
Bally.jpg
Bally4.jpg
Bagman, splitted screen:
Bagman.jpg
Robotron KC87:
KC87.jpg
Robotron KC87 - 64Kb:
KC87-64Kb.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Everett1954
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 47
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2017 5:51 am

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by Everett1954 »

Also tried 7800 core and get the same diagonal running lines as mentioned above.

Not sure what was done to the Astrocade core but the OSD is different, prefer previous version.
SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by SchneiderCPC664 »

Everett1954 wrote:Also tried 7800 core and get the same diagonal running lines as mentioned above.

Not sure what was done to the Astrocade core but the OSD is different, prefer previous version.
Same as here. Black picture and diagonal running lines + high-pitched sound :(
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 998
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by DanyPPC »

Is this Atari 7800 project complete or ideal for a port ?
Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by Lroby74 »

Everett1954 wrote:Id also love to see the 7800 on the MIST!
Me too!! I love 7800 console!
Asteriods on 2 players is awesome!
Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: Atari 7800 on MIST

Post by Lroby74 »

SchneiderCPC664 wrote:Is there any chance in the near future to run a Atari 7800 core on MIST?
All my favorite consoles and computers are available but no SNES and Atari 7800. :(
SNES is not doable on Mist, too big on it, infact is avaiable and working on Mister (FPGA 4 times bigger than Mist)
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”