NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2027
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

DanyPPC wrote: Sun Dec 20, 2020 1:00 pm Ok, I'll post the pictures.

MIST01.jpg
MIST02.jpg
MIST03.jpg
I have the same SDRAM chip, it's surely not because of that particular model. Maybe it has some weaker parameters, or who knows. I would try to re-solder the pads, it's not a hard job to do who can handle a soldering iron and has good eyes.
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2027
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

The new firmware (201220) supports .RAM files, which can be used to store small non-volatile data if the core requires it. I've updated the Midway MCR2, MCR3, Spy Hunter and the Williams Defender/Robotron cores to support that. Now you can save service mode settings/high scores from those games.
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1008
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by DanyPPC »

slingshot wrote: Sun Dec 20, 2020 1:40 pm I have the same SDRAM chip, it's surely not because of that particular model. Maybe it has some weaker parameters, or who knows. I would try to re-solder the pads, it's not a hard job to do who can handle a soldering iron and has good eyes.
I'm not a technician, all other cores work properly, never a problem.
I can play CPS1 and CPS15 on MiSTICA, but thanks a lot for the suggestion and for your help.
:cheers:
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

slingshot wrote: Sun Dec 20, 2020 4:14 pm The new firmware (201220) supports .RAM files, which can be used to store small non-volatile data if the core requires it. I've updated the Midway MCR2, MCR3, Spy Hunter and the Williams Defender/Robotron cores to support that. Now you can save service mode settings/high scores from those games.
:cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
squid4
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by squid4 »

dannyppc, exact same board here and same problem I reported back here https://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.p ... 66#p404566

I've moved to the Mister now but can do some more testing on my MiST and I'll try resoldering the RAM chip. Did you try PC Engine (Bonk) game to reset? I'm wondering if I damaged mine in the past when using the USB Blaster when developing.
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1008
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by DanyPPC »

Thanks for report squid4.

Never used USB Blaster on my MiST, only SanDisk SD Cards.

Bonk's Adventure (TGFX16) seems to work properly. Never a problem on this Core.
squid4
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by squid4 »

Tried the resolder but it made no different.
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2027
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

squid4 wrote: Tue Dec 22, 2020 1:48 pm Tried the resolder but it made no different.
But if you can compile cores, maybe you can play with the phase shift of the SDRAM_CLK, and see if there's working value.
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1008
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by DanyPPC »

@Slingshot, I have Altera Quartus II Programmer 13.1.

is this version suitable for compiling a core ?
Have you any suggestion on how to proceed ?

Many thanks for your help.
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2027
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

DanyPPC wrote: Tue Dec 22, 2020 2:25 pm @Slingshot, I have Altera Quartus II Programmer 13.1.

is this version suitable for compiling a core ?
Have you any suggestion on how to proceed ?

Many thanks for your help.
Yes, 13.1 is OK. Sorry, I don't think I can explain easily how to adjust the SDRAM_CLK's phase shift, and jotego's cores are even a bit more tricky, as the QSF is setup by a (Linux) script. There are instructions in his repo how to compile cores, try to follow them, if you have a problem in a specific step, then ask.
robinsonb5
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 151
Joined: Sat May 16, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by robinsonb5 »

slingshot wrote: Tue Dec 22, 2020 2:29 pm Yes, 13.1 is OK. Sorry, I don't think I can explain easily how to adjust the SDRAM_CLK's phase shift, and jotego's cores are even a bit more tricky, as the QSF is setup by a (Linux) script. There are instructions in his repo how to compile cores, try to follow them, if you have a problem in a specific step, then ask.
You'll need a fairly recent GCC to build the utilities in jtframe.
Once you've built the core using the scripts, you can then open the jtcps1.qpf file in the Quartus IDE and make changes - those changes will be overwritten if you re-run the framework scripts, but that doesn't matter for testing.

From the IDE, in the Entity hierarchy view top left, double-click the line reading jtframe_pll96:u_pll_game and you should see the megafunction wizard appear. Click "Next" a few times to get to the "C<n> - Core/External Output Clock" pages - by default the core uses C2 to drive the SDRAM, so on the C2 page adjust the phase shift a little - start with 1ns either way (take care of the units - it might be set to degrees instead).

Hope that helps.
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2027
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

robinsonb5 wrote: Tue Dec 22, 2020 7:17 pm .. page adjust the phase shift a little - start with 1ns either way (take care of the units - it might be set to degrees instead).
I would say go in -200 ps steps, -1ns is even enough for 128 MHz (or it's already too much, for SNES, -800ps turned to be the sweet spot which works on most boards, any less doesn't work with slower (75ns) SDRAMs, any more doesn't work with the fast 60ns Alliance ones). At 96 MHz, probably -100 or 200ps should do if 0 is not.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

Centipede source is being updated by Slingshot! :cheers:

https://github.com/gyurco/Mist_FPGA/tre ... 20Hardware
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

slingshot wrote: Sun Dec 20, 2020 4:14 pm The new firmware (201220) supports .RAM files, which can be used to store small non-volatile data if the core requires it. I've updated the Midway MCR2, MCR3, Spy Hunter and the Williams Defender/Robotron cores to support that. Now you can save service mode settings/high scores from those games.
When I use the save NVRAM option, I always get a "Can't create config file" error :shrug:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

I'm the only one with this issue? :shrug:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
retrofun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by retrofun »

Works for me. Tested with Spy Hunter and Robotron cores.
slingshot
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2027
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

vebxenon wrote: Mon Dec 28, 2020 4:10 pm When I use the save NVRAM option, I always get a "Can't create config file" error :shrug:
Something still wrong in the file creation routine in the firmware, just move files around in the root directory, and probably it'll solve itself.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

I'll try it. Thanks!
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1008
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by DanyPPC »

https://github.com/jotego/jtbin/blob/ma ... 210101.rbf

New CPS1 48Mhz Core solves freeze/reset problems on my MiST !!!!!!!!!

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Also CPS15 now works !!!!!!!!!!!!!
User avatar
RealLarry
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:05 pm
Location: San Junipero

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by RealLarry »

DanyPPC wrote: Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:08 pm New CPS1 48Mhz Core solves freeze/reset problems on my MiST !!!!!!!!!
Also CPS15 now works !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Great news, congrats that it's working again for you and welcome back to the show!
On the other side of the screen, it all looks so easy.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

DanyPPC wrote: Sat Jan 02, 2021 1:08 pm https://github.com/jotego/jtbin/blob/ma ... 210101.rbf

New CPS1 48Mhz Core solves freeze/reset problems on my MiST !!!!!!!!!

:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Also CPS15 now works !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Great news!! :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
retrofun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by retrofun »

New cores by slingshot:
  • Donkey Kong
  • Donkey Kong Jr.
  • Donkey Kong 3
  • Pest Place
  • Radar Scope
https://github.com/Gehstock/Mist_FPGA_C ... 20Hardware

Thanks!
DanyPPC
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1008
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by DanyPPC »

They work well :cheers:
User avatar
retrofun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by retrofun »

Updated cores 20210115 by Jotego: Sound update
  • 1942
  • 1943
  • Bionic Commando
  • Black Tiger
  • Bubble Bobble
  • Commando
  • Contra
  • CPS1
  • Double Dragon
  • Double Dragon II
  • F1 Dream
  • Ghosts 'n Goblins
  • Gun Smoke
  • Pirate Ship Higemaru
  • Side Arms
  • Street Fighter
  • Section Z
  • Tiger Road
  • Trojan
  • Vulgus
Thanks!
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

Good good news on arcade side :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”