NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
retrofun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by retrofun »

[double post]
squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by squid4 »

slingshot wrote: Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:25 pm I could play Final Fight from the start to the end some weeks ago (with lot of continues), didn't experience any issue. However as I see in the fitting report, the SDRAM module doesn't use Fast Outputs and Output Enables, that might worth a fix.
SF2 tends to just restart during gameplay, not sure that one freezes. Also I just left Willow running with no input and eventually it froze but the music kept playing - don't know how long it took to freeze as I just left it running.
uchristo
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by uchristo »

Hi there! Will there be something like a Request-for-core-Thread?

I'd love to see these both:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bubble_Memories
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bubble_Symphony

They are both running originally on a Taito F3 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taito_F3_System)
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1844
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

uchristo wrote: Mon Aug 17, 2020 11:12 am Hi there! Will there be something like a Request-for-core-Thread?

I'd love to see these both:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bubble_Memories
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bubble_Symphony

They are both running originally on a Taito F3 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taito_F3_System)
AFAIK Jotego's patrons can vote about the next core.
uchristo
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by uchristo »

Well.... it seems like I‘m not the only one who‘s asking for F3:

https://mobile.twitter.com/topapate/sta ... 7855916035
uchristo
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:22 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by uchristo »

I'm trying to get the arcade-cores up and running. I understand, that I need to have a roms-directory for the mra-tool to grab/convert the right rom. But how to identify the needed rom? I don't want to load the whole mame-archive (65GB) in order to play a handful of arcades on my mist....
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1844
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

uchristo wrote: Tue Aug 18, 2020 6:28 am I'm trying to get the arcade-cores up and running. I understand, that I need to have a roms-directory for the mra-tool to grab/convert the right rom. But how to identify the needed rom? I don't want to load the whole mame-archive (65GB) in order to play a handful of arcades on my mist....
You can check the zip value in rom index in the MRA file, like:

Code: Select all

    <rom index="0" zip="varth.zip" md5="none">
The mra tool also warns about missing zips:
warning: zip file not found: varth.zip
cjug74
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 9:40 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by cjug74 »

uchristo wrote: Tue Aug 18, 2020 6:28 am [...]I understand, that I need to have a roms-directory for the mra-tool to grab/convert the right rom.[...]
You can have one, but you don't have to. Without -z option, MRA tool reads roms from its directory.
squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by squid4 »

I’m wondering if my MiST has memory issues due to the instability on CPS1 & PCEngine games. Anyone else tried running Willow & SF2 CPS1 games? I don’t have any stability issues on any other cores but these two cores use high bandwidth.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1035
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

squid4 wrote: Wed Aug 19, 2020 10:53 pm I’m wondering if my MiST has memory issues due to the instability on CPS1 & PCEngine games. Anyone else tried running Willow & SF2 CPS1 games? I don’t have any stability issues on any other cores but these two cores use high bandwidth.
I don't have any problem with them... :shrug: Nor with CPS1 nor PC Engine.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by squid4 »

vebxenon, thanks for checking. Looks like my MiST is problematic :cry: Mine is a v1.3 with Hynix memory.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1844
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

squid4 wrote: Wed Aug 19, 2020 10:53 pm I’m wondering if my MiST has memory issues due to the instability on CPS1 & PCEngine games. Anyone else tried running Willow & SF2 CPS1 games? I don’t have any stability issues on any other cores but these two cores use high bandwidth.
SNES tortures the SDRAM much more than the PCEngine.
User avatar
retrofun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by retrofun »

No problems with MiST 1.3+, Hynix H57V2562GTR-75C RAM. I let both Willow & SF2 run for 10 minutes.

Would it be a good idea to have a memory test core for MiST?
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1844
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

retrofun wrote: Thu Aug 20, 2020 7:25 pm No problems with MiST 1.3+, Hynix H57V2562GTR-75C RAM. I let both Willow & SF2 run for 10 minutes.

Would it be a good idea to have a memory test core for MiST?
I'm sure there's a memory test program for the Amiga, Minimig-AGA uses all the 4 banks when 24 MB Fast Ram selected, and runs at fairly high frequency (112MHz).
User avatar
retrofun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by retrofun »

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by squid4 »

SNES runs perfectly. Tried the Amiga memory tests, left it running all night without errors. I have a Byte Blaster, would it be possible to debug these crashes?
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1844
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

squid4 wrote: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:38 am SNES runs perfectly. Tried the Amiga memory tests, left it running all night without errors. I have a Byte Blaster, would it be possible to debug these crashes?
In theory you can, but you need some knowledge of the core inner workings. I would start capturing the main CPU signals, and see what it does when crashes. You can cross-check it in MAME debugger then.

But first I would try to set JTFRAME_MIST_DIRECT to 1'b0, some reports indicated that certain SD Cards don't like it.
User avatar
retrofun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by retrofun »

New/updated cores in Gehstock's repo, https://github.com/Gehstock/Mist_FPGA_C ... rcade_MiST
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/280ZZZAP.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/BalloonBomber.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/BlueShark.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/Boothill.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/BowlingAlley.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/GunFight.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/SpaceWalk.rbf
  • Midway MCR Scroll/SpyHunter.rbf
Thanks Slingshot & Gehstock.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1035
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

retrofun wrote: Sun Aug 23, 2020 7:50 pm New/updated cores in Gehstock's repo, https://github.com/Gehstock/Mist_FPGA_C ... rcade_MiST
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/280ZZZAP.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/BalloonBomber.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/BlueShark.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/Boothill.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/BowlingAlley.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/GunFight.rbf
  • Midway-Taito 8080 Hardware/SpaceWalk.rbf
  • Midway MCR Scroll/SpyHunter.rbf
Thanks Slingshot & Gehstock.
Great! :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
retrofun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by retrofun »

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1844
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

+Bionic Commando works already, if you didn't notice.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1035
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

10 days ago, Zaxxon core was updated, and now Future Spy also works! :cheers:

https://github.com/Gehstock/Mist_FPGA_C ... 20Hardware
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1035
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

Pirate Ship Higemaru by Capcom now on MiST thanks to Jotego :D :cheers:

https://github.com/jotego/jtbin/tree/ma ... e/releases
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1035
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

Just a technical question. Most of "CPS0" and non CPS-1 cores from Jotego now have a very blurred image like RF-old composite, and no clean crisp image option is a available. Gehstock cores all look clean using VGA and there is a "Blending OFF" in last cores. Jotego has told me that if somebody wants to add the option is welcomed. For example, in Double Dragon I'm using a beta istead of the final released just because of the image, and I don't know why former buids had clean image. Or compare former builds of 1942, for example. It's possible to add clean image option on his cores?

Regards
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
retrofun
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2019 3:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by retrofun »

Post Reply

Return to “MiST”