NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by squid4 »

Are any of Gehstock's tron, dominoman etc working on 15khz? Just get a blank screen, tiger road just a purple screen for me. 22/11 builds.

Update: Just realised the source is updated but rbf not compile, still WIP.

Darfpga
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by Darfpga »

Zaxxon VHDL source code for de10_lite available at :

https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpg ... re%20VHDL/

TV 15kHz mode only, No sound atm.

Feel free to port to MiST/MiSTer.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

vebxenon wrote:I've updated Dig Dug from Gehstock. Now at bottom and left side glitched graphics appear :shrug: . Can this problem be fixed?

https://github.com/Gehstock/Mist_FPGA/b ... ST/Release
I'm the only with this problem? :shrug:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

Darfpga wrote:Zaxxon VHDL source code for de10_lite available at :

https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpg ... re%20VHDL/

TV 15kHz mode only, No sound atm.

Feel free to port to MiST/MiSTer.
Great! :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by DrOG »

Thanks to Jotego for the core and to vebxenon for pointing to it! :cheers: :cheers:

Darfpga
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by Darfpga »

slingshot wrote:
Darfpga wrote:
I'am going to give it a try in a while. Should be easier in 15kHz mode since pixels lasts twice.
Thanks! Actually the current rate would be good, if the core would use the data when all the 4 bytes arrived addressed by the mux, not immediately after each byte.
I've delayed the data feeding to line buffer and added sdram 8 words read burst. Works not so bad but still got what seems to be a memory refresh problem.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1671
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

Darfpga wrote:
slingshot wrote:
Darfpga wrote:
I'am going to give it a try in a while. Should be easier in 15kHz mode since pixels lasts twice.
Thanks! Actually the current rate would be good, if the core would use the data when all the 4 bytes arrived addressed by the mux, not immediately after each byte.
I've delayed the data feeding to line buffer and added sdram 8 words read burst. Works not so bad but still got what seems to be a memory refresh problem.
8 words burst? That's also an insane amount of bandwidth :)
I almost could do it with 32 bit burst - the address setup could be done earlier for the 2nd, 3rd and 4th word (basically 8 cycles earlier), but not for the first one - the sprite code number fetch is just one cycle before the first data is needed. I see on the original schematics that the sprite code (upper bits of the ROM address) is fetched into a 8-bit D-Flip-flop. I wonder when it's done. I'm sure it's not just 1 40MHz clock cycle before the sprite data needed.

Darfpga
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by Darfpga »

I just deliver an update for discs of tron with external (sd)ram access.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpg ... leted=true
slingshot wrote: 8 words burst? That's also an insane amount of bandwidth :)
I almost could do it with 32 bit burst - the address setup could be done earlier for the 2nd, 3rd and 4th word (basically 8 cycles earlier), but not for the first one - the sprite code number fetch is just one cycle before the first data is needed. I see on the original schematics that the sprite code (upper bits of the ROM address) is fetched into a 8-bit D-Flip-flop. I wonder when it's done. I'm sure it's not just 1 40MHz clock cycle before the sprite data needed.
I keep 8 words burst, it's ok for my board since the other roms stay inside fpga. I understand that you want to preserve bandwith for other accesss. 8 words burst is the less overall bandwidth consumption but I agree that it makes a big contention time. Anyway you can split the burst in smaller part but the global overhead will increase. It's easy to modify the sprite machine to add more cycles. I think that there is enough free time in 15kHz but keep in mind that there was already graphics sprite problems for discs of tron when the sprite machine was running at 20MHz in 31kHz.

With 8 words burst I have to replicate roms content in both direct and reverse bytes order (per 16 bytes packets) since sprite machine required both reading direction. If you split into 2 words burst you can manage that problem without replication. In any case the most significant address bit tell s for normal or reverse order needed. Look at my loader code.

Now I am going to prepare update for timber.

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1671
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

Darfpga wrote:I just deliver an update for discs of tron with external (sd)ram access.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpg ... leted=true
slingshot wrote:
I keep 8 words burst, it's ok for my board since the other roms stay inside fpga. I understand that you want to preserve bandwith for other accesss. 8 words burst is the less overall bandwidth consumption but I agree that it makes a big contention time. Anyway you can split the burst in smaller part but the global overhead will increase. It's easy to modify the sprite machine to add more cycles. I think that there is enough free time in 15kHz but keep in mind that there was already graphics sprite problems for discs of tron when the sprite machine was running at 20MHz in 31kHz.
That's true, with 8 width burst, the state machine will be too long. However the problem is not with the additional reads, but with the first one. And you should do something with that even in a 8 word burst (the address should be set up even earlier), so I'm not worried :)
With 8 words burst I have to replicate roms content in both direct and reverse bytes order (per 16 bytes packets) since sprite machine required both reading direction. If you split into 2 words burst you can manage that problem without replication. In any case the most significant address bit tell s for normal or reverse order needed. Look at my loader code.

Now I am going to prepare update for timber.
Good, thank you!

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1671
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

Darfpga wrote:
Now I am going to prepare update for timber.
Timber works! It's easy if you know just have to delay sprite_on_line a bit :)

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by Gehstock »

:mrgreen:

Darfpga
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:07 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by Darfpga »

Discs of tron and Timber updated for de10_lite.

Timber is now ok with sdram loader to hold graphic sprites.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/darfpg ... re%20VHDL/

Seems to be useless for MiST since I just discover that sdram adaptation was already done.

After a quick glance it seems that MiST sdram interface is more versatile than mine. Good job.

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by Gehstock »

Thanks for all your Work.

Tapper and Timber Released for MiST other Cores will Follow.

Also Xevious is done by Slingshot

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

Gehstock wrote:Thanks for all your Work.

Tapper and Timber Released for MiST other Cores will Follow.

Also Xevious is done by Slingshot
:cheers: :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by Gehstock »

New Core Discs of Tron

seastalker
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun May 15, 2016 3:44 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by seastalker »

Tapper? Amazing! I love playing the Coleco version!

squid4
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 8:12 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by squid4 »

Thanks for Tapper/Domino/Timber and Bomb Jack. Bomb Jack is looking perfect!

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

vebxenon wrote:I've updated Dig Dug from Gehstock. Now at bottom and left side glitched graphics appear :shrug: . Can this problem be fixed?

https://github.com/Gehstock/Mist_FPGA/b ... ST/Release
Still happens to me :shrug:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

I've seen that there is a snapshot of Atari Tetris :cheers: Hope graphical problems will be able to be fixed :D
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

wwark
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:45 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by wwark »

Hi,

I have a question related to the xevious Core I'm using it on Mister side.
I would like to know if the xevious core on Mist SIde is able to play Super Xevious (or it needs a dedicated core) In mame code Super Xevious is a clone of Xevious.
Thanks !

Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 428
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by Gehstock »

From the ReadMe
XEVIOUS.ROM is required at the root of the SD-Card.
Menu Item for Super Xevious
SXEVIOUS.ROM for Super Xevious (buggy for the First Game then it´s ok)

Diffenences are only in a Dip Switch(Freeze)

slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1671
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by slingshot »

vebxenon wrote:I've seen that there is a snapshot of Atari Tetris :cheers: Hope graphical problems will be able to be fixed :D
Unfortunately the cores from Mr. X are using not very FPGA-friendly clocking. Almost impossible to get a stable build from them.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by vebxenon »

slingshot wrote:
vebxenon wrote:I've seen that there is a snapshot of Atari Tetris :cheers: Hope graphical problems will be able to be fixed :D
Unfortunately the cores from Mr. X are using not very FPGA-friendly clocking. Almost impossible to get a stable build from them.
:| :(
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

wwark
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2019 1:45 pm

Re: NEW OR UPDATED ARCADE CORES

Post by wwark »

@Gehstock,
Sorry I don't check the readme of mist.
There is no note related to Super Xevious in the readme of Mister.
I will try to load first Xevious and Super Xevious after.
If it is not working I will open a ticket on Mister side.
Thanks again.

Post Reply

Return to “MiST”