NES core on MiST

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1877
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by slingshot »

sebdel wrote: Of course. Last night I was eager to put the binaries in people hands but it was late. I'll do the "gitery" tonight. The compilation times I reported are on my old laptop. I'm sure your development PC does better. Still, it more than doubled. And yes, the FM chip is quite big.
Yeah, it's not that bad actually, 7-10 minutes. I made some minor changes to move the RGB lookup tables to BRAM, and uploaded the binary into the mist-binaries repo.
LarsDragon
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:08 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by LarsDragon »

Many thanks to improvement this core. :D

Just comment one thing, the 15khz image is bad adjusted, is shifted and cut to the left. Can't be adjusted even with TV options, cut the image.
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 734
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by DrOG »

LarsDragon wrote: Just comment one thing, the 15khz image is bad adjusted, is shifted and cut to the left. Can't be adjusted even with TV options, cut the image.
The same over component 480p: the image is shifted to the left. Component 240p seems to be centered.
Anyway, thanks to slingshot for perfecting this core! :cheers:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1877
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by slingshot »

DrOG wrote: Anyway, thanks to slingshot for perfecting this core! :cheers:
Thanks, but the credits really should go to GreyRogue for the new mappers and Sepdel for porting them to MiST.
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 734
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by DrOG »

slingshot wrote:
DrOG wrote: Anyway, thanks to slingshot for perfecting this core! :cheers:
Thanks, but the credits really should go to GreyRogue for the new mappers and Sepdel for porting them to MiST.
Well, I thank them as well!

:cheers: GreyRogue & Sebdel :cheers:
sebdel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by sebdel »

Do you guys know why the controllers are crossed on the NES core? I mean in the code itself, it basically says "NES_JoyA = Mist_JoyB". It's always been like that too, from the get go.
I noticed that the MiSTer changed that in their repo. Should we change it too? Did you noticed any oddness regarding the controller mapping on NES?
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1877
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by slingshot »

sebdel wrote:Do you guys know why the controllers are crossed on the NES core? I mean in the code itself, it basically says "NES_JoyA = Mist_JoyB". It's always been like that too, from the get go.
I noticed that the MiSTer changed that in their repo. Should we change it too? Did you noticed any oddness regarding the controller mapping on NES?
I noticed some time ago what the OSD thinks about the 1st joystick is transferred to the FPGA as joy_1, the second as joy_0. Also there's some shifting when you connect an USB joystick. Most cores have a joystick swap option. So I think don't remove it, but add a joystick swap to the OSD, or leave it as is.
lips2k15
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by lips2k15 »

I have just checked out these improvements and it really is amazing - how close are we to having save ram working? and would I be asking for too much if I ask about the possibility of famicom disk system compatability?
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by vebxenon »

Fantasy Zone from Sunsoft now works. Now just Gradius II and Fantasy Zone II are missing for me :D :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by DanyPPC »

Is it possible to have the image centered on Scart RGB output ?
LarsDragon
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:08 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by LarsDragon »

I join the request! :cheers:
Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by Lroby74 »

would be possible to add mouse support like a Zapper on Mist?

Another thing, i have 2 different Romsets (both with .NES extension), but one works and other not.

Anyone knows why?
User avatar
Sheldon
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:41 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by Sheldon »

with last core nes_181213.rbf and last firmware firmware_190601.upg only one button work with a usb pad.
i'm alone ? or not.
it works for you ?
Top
Computers : Mega STE+(4Mo +HXC SLim and UltraSatan), Atari 1040 STe+( 4Mo + HXC SLim and UltraSatan), Atari 1040 Stf+(HXC SLim , Mega ST1+(HXC SLim and UltraSatan), FPGA Mist+Mistery Core( and other ...)
http://www.amedia-computer.com
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by DanyPPC »

No problem here.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by vebxenon »

Just a question: can PAL option be put on this core just like some other cores? Some PAL only or PAL versions of some games get corrupted when running at 60 HZ.

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
sebdel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by sebdel »

Lroby74 wrote:would be possible to add mouse support like a Zapper on Mist?
If nobody is doing it, I'm willing to try. From what I can see it should work, at least for Duckhunt.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by vebxenon »

sebdel wrote:
Lroby74 wrote:would be possible to add mouse support like a Zapper on Mist?
If nobody is doing it, I'm willing to try. From what I can see it should work, at least for Duckhunt.
Could be possible put PAL video option? :)
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
sebdel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by sebdel »

vebxenon wrote:
sebdel wrote:
Lroby74 wrote:would be possible to add mouse support like a Zapper on Mist?
If nobody is doing it, I'm willing to try. From what I can see it should work, at least for Duckhunt.
Could be possible put PAL video option? :)
Probably but not by me. Anything implying timings and clocks is a bit above my really low verilog level :shrug:
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by vebxenon »

Ok, no problem :D
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
Televicious
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by Televicious »

Just tried SMB on the latest version both standalone and + duckhunt rom images and the whole game is glitched out. SMB2 plays perfect. Anyone else have that?
Lroby74
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:35 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by Lroby74 »

sebdel wrote:
Lroby74 wrote:would be possible to add mouse support like a Zapper on Mist?
If nobody is doing it, I'm willing to try. From what I can see it should work, at least for Duckhunt.
I hope it!
teofernandez
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 9:12 am

Problema Imagen Rgb Scart

Post by teofernandez »

Hola quisiera saber si les sucede el mismo problema con el Core de Nes usando Rgb Scart, solo me pasa con este Core en la Mist original , la imagen como se aprecia en el vídeo se deforma en las esquinas superiores de la imagen, he probado con varios monitores y Tv Rgb y hace lo mismo, Gracias

https://photos.app.goo.gl/8jKJcuWLf442bZmR9



Hello, I would like to know if the same problem happens with the Nes Core using Rgb Scart, it only happens to me with this Core in the original Mist, the image as seen in the video is deformed in the upper corners of the image, I have tried with Several monitors and TV Rgb and does the same, Thank you
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by vebxenon »

Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 734
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by DrOG »

THX!!! :cheers:
8bitguy1
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:54 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by 8bitguy1 »

So the update simply says "sync with MISTER port" (unless I've missed something).

Does this mean "saves" for most games now works?
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”