NES core on MiST

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
barbaro00
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:34 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by barbaro00 »

Anyone has tried gradius 2?, it doesn't work on mine...
User avatar
Atmosfear
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:20 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by Atmosfear »

Gradius II uses Mapper 25 aka Konami VRC4. Looks like this mapper is not supported by the MiST.
barbaro00
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:34 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by barbaro00 »

Thank you Atmosfear, i suspect...
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1070
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by vebxenon »

New release by Sorgelig, nes_20170206.rbf:

https://github.com/sorgelig/NES_MIST/tr ... r/releases

No changelog :shrug:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
Gehstock
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:18 pm
Location: EastGermany

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by Gehstock »

Add HQ2x back with new video mixer.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1070
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by vebxenon »

Gehstock wrote:
Add HQ2x back with new video mixer.
Thanks! :wink:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
RobeInie
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:11 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by RobeInie »

Hi !!
Is possible in this core to implement GameGenie codes, as the Everdrive does ?
User avatar
jotego
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Contact:

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by jotego »

About the mappers... is it possible to just run a program on the PC to get the mappers of all available NES cartridges?
--
Source code of all my cores here.
My Patreon page here.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1070
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by vebxenon »

jotego wrote:About the mappers... is it possible to just run a program on the PC to get the mappers of all available NES cartridges?
Here is a list of all available mappers:

https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/List_of_mappers

https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Mapper
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
jotego
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Contact:

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by jotego »

Let me see if I understand this issue:

-There were different ways of connecting chips inside each game cartridge.
-The cartridges received all signals from the NES and then had their own decoding logic, which is called a "mapper"
-The problem is that we only have support for some of these mappers
-We can identify the mapper to use by looking at some ROM header, because that gives us a clue about the game title (and thus the cartridge contents)
-What we need is someone to finish adding the missing mappers. There is no research work to be done. Mappers are well known. It is just a matter of writing the code.

Is that the situation?
--
Source code of all my cores here.
My Patreon page here.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1070
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by vebxenon »

Here is the mapper compatibility list:

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-boar ... patibility

although sebdel in his last updated added new supported mappers, like some Bandai games or updated-fixed them, like MMC1 mapper https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/MMC1 :D

Near 90% of games are supported. And yes, work must be done to finish the mapper support :cheers: .

Please, read also previous posts :cheers:

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
sebdel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

M

Post by sebdel »

jotego wrote:
Let me see if I understand this issue:

-There were different ways of connecting chips inside each game cartridge.
-The cartridges received all signals from the NES and then had their own decoding logic, which is called a "mapper"
-The problem is that we only have support for some of these mappers
-We can identify the mapper to use by looking at some ROM header, because that gives us a clue about the game title (and thus the cartridge contents)
-What we need is someone to finish adding the missing mappers. There is no research work to be done. Mappers are well known. It is just a matter of writing the code.

Is that the situation?
The header actually contains detailed information about the ROM, like the mapper ID and its capabilities (backuped RAM, ROM, additional VRAM, etc). The problem is that a lot of ROMs out there are pirated versions that were running on custom cartridges/mappers. Sometime it's a huge effort to implement a mapper that is only used by a couple of games. So it's a trade-off.
In my opinion, it would be way more valuable to work on supporting backuped RAM. It was the way NES games could store data on the cartridges. Without that, you cannot save at all in RPGs for example. Even better, someone could implement save states :wink:
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 978
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by DanyPPC »

vebxenon wrote:New release by Sorgelig, nes_20170206.rbf:
https://github.com/sorgelig/NES_MIST/tr ... r/releases
Doesn't work for me in TV Scart Mode.
User avatar
jotego
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 10:02 am
Location: Valencia (Spain)
Contact:

Re: M

Post by jotego »

sebdel wrote:
The header actually contains detailed information about the ROM, like the mapper ID and its capabilities (backuped RAM, ROM, additional VRAM, etc). The problem is that a lot of ROMs out there are pirated versions that were running on custom cartridges/mappers. Sometime it's a huge effort to implement a mapper that is only used by a couple of games. So it's a trade-off.
In my opinion, it would be way more valuable to work on supporting backuped RAM. It was the way NES games could store data on the cartridges. Without that, you cannot save at all in RPGs for example. Even better, someone could implement save states :wink:
I suppose then that emulators do implement all these hearders then, right?

Implementing too many headers on an FPGA may not be possible because of timing constraints. Each new header makes the memory selection lines more complex and we will eventually hit a hard limit. Whether the limit is far enough to support all possible headers or not, I cannot know right now.
--
Source code of all my cores here.
My Patreon page here.
User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1561
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: M

Post by Newsdee »

jotego wrote: I suppose then that emulators do implement all these hearders then, right?
Implementing too many headers on an FPGA may not be possible because of timing constraints. Each new header makes the memory selection lines more complex and we will eventually hit a hard limit. Whether the limit is far enough to support all possible headers or not, I cannot know right now.
They seem to have been implemented fine in commercial FPGA solutions (Analogue NT mini); but there is also some overlap in mappers and they can be combined into one. I remember there is one example in current MiST code (at least).

That said, the killer feature right now would be to enhance existing mappers to write backup RAM to the SD card (and reload on startup) so as to enable game saves, so games like Zelda and other long RPGs can be played over many sessions.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1070
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by vebxenon »

Mistery World Dizzy has been released on NES and it works perfectly on NES Core :D

http://mashable.com/2017/04/10/mystery- ... 0zYu_N2aqU

Dowload it here :) http://yolkfolk.com/mwd/

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
sebdel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by sebdel »

Atmosfear wrote:Gradius II uses Mapper 25 aka Konami VRC4. Looks like this mapper is not supported by the MiST.
That's what the official Gradius II cartridge does, but I suspect this is not the probem here. The only ROM dump I can find for Gradius II uses mapper 4 (which we support) but has a trainer (which we don't support).
I'll see if I can bypass the trainer but in the meantime, could you dump the content of the header of your ROM?
On linux -> hexdump -C -n16 GRADIUS2.NES

Thanks!
lips2k15
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by lips2k15 »

Has anybody got any idea why wonder land dizzy dosnt work? Or how to fix it?
sebdel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by sebdel »

lips2k15 wrote:Has anybody got any idea why wonder land dizzy dosnt work? Or how to fix it?
I'll have a look. If you have the rom and linux, could you please dump the header with the command "hexdump -C -n16 YOUR_ROM.NES" ? If not, just tell me where to get it. I believe a direct link is not allowed but just tell me where to find it (freeroms, emuparadise, etc).
lips2k15
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by lips2k15 »

I just googled it
sebdel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by sebdel »

It turns out that this game was made available for free by the copyright holder. So no need for precautions here :)
Here's the ROM I am using and it's working fine for me with the latest NES core: http://yolkfolk.com/flash/wldfinal.nes

Let me know what problems you have.
lips2k15
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:19 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by lips2k15 »

thanks I have had a tinker and my rom is the same as the one you have provided - and i have discovered the issue too... it dosnt like being loaded after another rom!! if its the first rom you load after starting the nes core it runs perfectly however if you try and run it after playing something else you get some right crazy results!!! So i conclude that the nes core isnt fully resetting when a new rom is loaded?
sebdel
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:29 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by sebdel »

lips2k15 wrote:thanks I have had a tinker and my rom is the same as the one you have provided - and i have discovered the issue too... it dosnt like being loaded after another rom!! if its the first rom you load after starting the nes core it runs perfectly however if you try and run it after playing something else you get some right crazy results!!! So i conclude that the nes core isnt fully resetting when a new rom is loaded?
Ah I see. You can add it to the list of games that have this problem then...
I tried so hard to fix this. I propagated reset signals all other the place, I don't know what to do anymore. :shrug:
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 978
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by DanyPPC »

Has anyone tested this core in PAL Scart mode ?
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 735
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: NES core on MiST

Post by DrOG »

It's an 'NTSC only' core as I know. It works over SCART, but has an off-centered picture. See details in this topic: http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=101&t=28506
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”