New core: Gameboy

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

New core: Gameboy

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

As usual at github now:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... es/gameboy

This one has been written from scratch and is still in a very early stage. But it already runs some games incl. Tetris, Dr Mario, Super Mario 1 and Zelda.

There's no sound yet and a lot of games are not playable yet. But it's a start ... source code will follow soon ...
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by Newsdee »

Great job!!! Works great with the few roms I've tried so far!

chaos
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:09 am
Contact:

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by chaos »

Nice! I'm trying this for sure!
** my minimig builds: http://somuch.guru/ **

TonyHoyle
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2015 9:40 pm

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by TonyHoyle »

Very nice! Tetris works well.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

Now with audio ... not perfect, but imho good enough to not be totally annoying ...
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Ricky2u
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2015 6:01 am

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by Ricky2u »

Just tested the latest core,Super Mario World works really well and the sound works fine. Very impressed and keep up the great work. :D

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by Newsdee »

Very nice progress! I'm impressed Zelda runs already!
Alleyway seems to glitch for some reason but other early Nintendo games seem ok.

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 982
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by vebxenon »

Great :D :cheers: :cheers:

That's impressive :-)

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

Alleyway seems to glitch for some reason but other early Nintendo games seem ok.
This seems to be a common problem. The realboy (https://realboyemulator.wordpress.com/) emulator i just tried exposes the same problem.

I just uploaded a new version. This adds a "fast start" option bypassing the boot logo animation (there's a custom boot rom). And i fixed sprite priorities so e.g. mario now correctly "enters" the tubes in super mario land 1.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by Newsdee »

Good call, the intro quickly gets old :wink:

Just curious, did you implement both MBC1 and MBC2?
It's the two memory mappers used in monochrome GBs, they seem quite similar so maybe they can be combined for simplicity (unlike the NES where mappers are a huge mess).

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

Newsdee wrote: Just curious, did you implement both MBC1 and MBC2?
It's the two memory mappers used in monochrome GBs, they seem quite similar so maybe they can be combined for simplicity (unlike the NES where mappers are a huge mess).
Currently only MBC1 is implemented. But that's a good point ... i need to have a look for MBC2 games.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

zzd10h
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:53 pm

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by zzd10h »

Just tested Super Mario World and Tetris and it works very well. Sound and pad support is very nice !

Thank you :D


PS : a little bit disappointing at first start because it's the only core that doesn't support my keyboard during OSD navigation. Hopefully that pads are supported on OSD.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by Newsdee »

Can you try the OSD without a gamepad connected? I suspect it might be a firmware bug from when I added OSD gamepad navigation... :oops:

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by Newsdee »

MasterOfGizmo wrote:Currently only MBC1 is implemented. But that's a good point ... i need to have a look for MBC2 games.
Another thing worth looking at is backing up save RAM to the SD card, so Zelda and co. can be played to completion. I guess it needs firmware support (so the work is a bit involved) but the solution could later be used on other cores (NES) and might be useful for debugging in general (ability to memory dump to the SD).

User avatar
remowilliams
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 253
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 1:49 am

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by remowilliams »

Wow, very interesting! :)

zzd10h
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:53 pm

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by zzd10h »

Newsdee wrote:Can you try the OSD without a gamepad connected? I suspect it might be a firmware bug from when I added OSD gamepad navigation... :oops:
Right, by removing my USB pad, OSD navigation is allowed with keyboard.

Replugging my pad, remove keyboard navigation (but kept F12 key to display/hide the OSD)

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 982
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by vebxenon »

Yesterday I tested this new core, for being a preliminar version runs great :-D :cheers: :cheers:

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board

thomaspass
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 6:25 am

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by thomaspass »

Hi

I have a problem with this core - it doesn't run - i have only 5 red blinks. Could anybody help ??
I have Lotharek Mist - F/W ATH150910

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by Newsdee »

How big is the file that you picked? I accidentally downloaded an HTML page instead of the proper rbf file once. You need to click "view raw file" in GitHub to get the right file.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

Newsdee wrote:How big is the file that you picked? I accidentally downloaded an HTML page instead of the proper rbf file once. You need to click "view raw file" in GitHub to get the right file.
Good point. I'll add links to the raw downloads to the readme.MD of each core.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by farvardin »

looks good so far. Not all games are working, but several are already ok. Well done and thank you!

zzd10h
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:53 pm

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by zzd10h »

Is 2 players mode planned ? Tested Tetris & Tennis 2 players mode. Both games freezes the core.

Thank you

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by Newsdee »

2 players will probably require running two gameboys at the same time, and implementing the communication link between them... I guess it could be done but it's something rather different than just getting a console up and running in the first place...

zzd10h
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2014 6:53 pm

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by zzd10h »

Ah, ok, I thought that 2 players mode was just to allow 2 players to play one after the other on the same gameboy.

I misunderstood, my yougness GameBoy is far far away.

Thank you for your reply.

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: New core: Gameboy

Post by Newsdee »

Nintendo was keen on selling those cables...

Image

Post Reply

Return to “MiST”