amstrad cpc 6128

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
guidol
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:14 pm
Location: Mudanya - Tuerkiye

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by guidol »

Creep69 wrote:Inserting disk4 and entering |cpm brought up the CP/M message and prompt.
I'm not sure where I downloaded the CP/M disks.
Ahhh - my fault I was booting Disk 1 because it also says "CP/M Plus".
Now when booting Disk 4 I did get the CP/M A> Prompt :)

The complete pack for CP/M Boot Disks in differnt languages is at: ftp://ftp.nvg.unit.no/pub/cpc/utils/cpc/cpmplus.zip
but you can also download seperate languages at the bottom of the following page:
http://www.cpcwiki.eu/index.php/System_Disk

The font is black on cyan :(
I would like to have yellow on dark blue or green on black.... any Idea?

BTW: The screenshot was taken with Microsoft Office Lens - also good for screenshots from the monitor :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Creep69
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2016 3:38 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by Creep69 »

Hmm, I guess, Disk1 should boot CP/M+, means CP/M 3.0 and this does not work with MiST? I will check with my original 6128 whenever I find some time.
breiztiger
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 6:54 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by breiztiger »

Cpm plus is for 6128

If it does not boot, so the core have a problem :wink:
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by vebxenon »

Oh, our "friend" Renaud Hélias (aka. Freemac) has put the original borders of CPC computer range :D so... now games like Betiled can be perfectly played!! :D

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 05.8.1.rbf
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by vebxenon »

Renauld is still working hard in Amstrad CPC core, today, a new release :) https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 05.8.4.rbf

By suggestion of me, now core has nicer borders.

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... es/amstrad

What a great core!

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
rittwage
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:26 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by rittwage »

I just get a dead black screen. I have my SD card formatted as FAT, must it be FAT32?
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by vebxenon »

rittwage wrote:I just get a dead black screen. I have my SD card formatted as FAT, must it be FAT32?
Some SDs have problems with this core. Have you also put on root directory the Amstrad roms? https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... strad/ROMs

Now I don't remember if my 4 GB card is FAT or FAT32 but I think is FAT32, yes...

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by vebxenon »

My card is FAT32, yes :D
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by SchneiderCPC664 »

Hallo folks,

I'm very excited about my new MIST. All cores running very well. - except the Amstrad CPC core! It shows an orange screen with random blue dots and only the MISTmenu ist working. I tried three different SD cards (the mentioned Sandisk 8 GB too) but it is still not working.
Can you give me some advise?
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by vebxenon »

SchneiderCPC664 wrote:Hallo folks,

I'm very excited about my new MIST. All cores running very well. - except the Amstrad CPC core! It shows an orange screen with random blue dots and only the MISTmenu ist working. I tried three different SD cards (the mentioned Sandisk 8 GB too) but it is still not working.
Can you give me some advise?
Hello. Have you tried last core? https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 05.8.6.rbf I was released a week ago :cheers:

Also, remember to put the ROMS https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... strad/ROMs at the root of SD card.

Regards,

Salva
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by SchneiderCPC664 »

vebxenon wrote:
SchneiderCPC664 wrote:
Hello. Have you tried last core? https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 05.8.6.rbf I was released a week ago :cheers:

Also, remember to put the ROMS https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... strad/ROMs at the root of SD card.

Regards,

Salva
Hallo Salva,

yes, I tried the latest core and the ROMs stored in the root of the SD card. :shrug:

Andy
ericgus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by ericgus »

Are you running the most uptodate MiST firmware as well?
SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by SchneiderCPC664 »

ericgus wrote:Are you running the most uptodate MiST firmware as well?
Yes, 160910. :(
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 731
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by DrOG »

Try to use another SD card! This core is not so picky as the MSX and the Archimedes core, but still problematic a bit.

At me it didn't like my old Corsair 1GB card (both the two Apple, all the Sinclair and the USSR cores run well using this), but works flawless on a newer Transcend 2GB.
SchneiderCPC664
Atari nerd
Atari nerd
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by SchneiderCPC664 »

Problem solved! :D

MacOS stores invisible files in every volumes (meta data). I removed this files and the CPC core shows the startup screen. All my favorite games are running. Yeaaaah!

Many thanks for your help.

Best regards,

Andy
ericgus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by ericgus »

SchneiderCPC664 wrote:Problem solved! :D

MacOS stores invisible files in every volumes (meta data). I removed this files and the CPC core shows the startup screen. All my favorite games are running. Yeaaaah!

Many thanks for your help.

Best regards,

Andy
Good to know as I am a Mac user as well (I think there is an option you can set to stop it from writing those to external media)
User avatar
goran
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 4:17 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by goran »

I'm using BlueHarvest to keep disks clean. http://www.zeroonetwenty.com/blueharvest/
There is also a free alternative: HiM https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/52076/him
Best regards,
Goran
ericgus
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 509
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 4:53 am
Location: Boston MA - USA

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by ericgus »

goran wrote:I'm using BlueHarvest to keep disks clean. http://www.zeroonetwenty.com/blueharvest/
There is also a free alternative: HiM https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/52076/him
Thanks!.. didn't know about the alternative.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1016
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by vebxenon »

New versions are being released by Freemac (Renaud Hélias) , now even Pinball Dreams beta-public release works!

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 05.8.8.rbf
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
Sinclair
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2016 12:56 pm

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by Sinclair »

New version two days ago but it still does not work CP / M plus (Disk 1) :(

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 05.8.9.rbf
© 1982 Sinclair Research Ltd
tipsy1973
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:37 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by tipsy1973 »

when will there be an update so I may use the core via scart? its a shame as I can get the scart to work on the spectrum, amiga, c64 & ST.
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 731
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by DrOG »

Yes, unfortunately this core has an uncompatible 73Hz refresh rate, which is neither PAL, nor NTSC standard...
User avatar
Xtro
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:47 am
Location: Spain

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by Xtro »

As far as I remember this core was compatible with 15khz scart, or at least an old version of the core was. In this mode it ran at 50hz as the original Amstrad, if you run it on a VGA monitor it's running too fast at 73hz making some games jerky and unplayable, I think this is the main problem of this core that needs addressing.
bernouilli
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 5:02 pm
Location: Paris/France

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by bernouilli »

Tried this core but it doesn't work properly in 15khz : it seems that the vsync isn't mixed with the hsync. The screen keeps rolling up.
tipsy1973
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:37 am

Re: amstrad cpc 6128

Post by tipsy1973 »

Xtro wrote:As far as I remember this core was compatible with 15khz scart, or at least an old version of the core was. In this mode it ran at 50hz as the original Amstrad, if you run it on a VGA monitor it's running too fast at 73hz making some games jerky and unplayable, I think this is the main problem of this core that needs addressing.

Can you remember what version of the core it was so I can have a test?

Thanks

Kev
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”