Acorn Archimedes

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Acorn Archimedes

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

Not quite able to play zarch yet. But now the riscos3 boots and the built-in apps can be launched:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jj3doUkCnV0

Next is the floppy ...
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

ryan
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 12:17 am

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by ryan »

Nice! Great work!

User avatar
Gryzor
Gryzorator
Gryzorator
Posts: 1562
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2002 8:36 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by Gryzor »

Oh wow... That will be something!!!
Reality is that, which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. --P.K.Dick

.:.
http://gryzor.info

Image

obiwanken
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:15 pm

Post by obiwanken »

Perfect !!!

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by Newsdee »

Getting there! :)

User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by farvardin »

well done!

jerome777
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2014 2:17 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by jerome777 »

Thanks Till for informing us about the progress in the development of this core.
Encouragements to Stephen Leary for the next weeks of coding, good work !

It's becoming exciting !

I knew very few things about the Acorn Archimedes so I tried these emulators : Arculator and RPCEMu.
They support Hard Disc images Format (HDF), it would be great to support this format in the core.
Great news, in the emulators, you can directly copy games (graphically in the GUI)
from floppy images to a Hard Disc image (like a lot of us did with Atari ST or Amiga core).

This machine didn't have a great number of games developped for it :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:A ... edes_games
But there's a few to try. I tried a few games : for example Nebulus, Pac-Mania
and the Lemmings series (contrarily to the DOS version, passwords are easier to note and remember
as they are made of real words).

SteveBagley
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 184
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2013 9:31 am

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by SteveBagley »

jerome777 wrote:This machine didn't have a great number of games developped for it :
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:A ... edes_games
But there's a few to try. I tried a few games : for example Nebulus, Pac-Mania
and the Lemmings series (contrarily to the DOS version, passwords are easier to note and remember
as they are made of real words).
You really should check out Star Fighter 3000 on the Arc…

Steve

DrChaos
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:21 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by DrChaos »

Or Zarch - but it seems that the disk image is hard to get...

User avatar
Newsdee
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2014 8:40 am

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by Newsdee »

A beta core binary will soon be available.
It still lacks disk emulation so you can't do much, but you can try running it if you're curious.

We've added a wiki page in preparation, there's a video showing some apps in the OS:
http://code.google.com/p/mist-board/wik ... Archimedes

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4199
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by Dal »

I'm addicted to Cascade on my A3010 at the moment.

Needs to be ported to the STE/Falcon.
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
eddys
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 9:33 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by eddys »

OMG... screen flickers like hell LOL, good stuff but a bit slow, seems way slower than my A3000

Shredder11
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2434
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2007 2:23 pm
Location: West Yorkshire, United Kingdom (England)
Contact:

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by Shredder11 »

Here is a good Out Run style game called E-Type on the Archimedes.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tdoXcwIFM4M


User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

eddys wrote:OMG... screen flickers like hell LOL, good stuff but a bit slow, seems way slower than my A3000
Reboot and the flickering will eventually go away.

EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 887
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by EvilFranky »

Is it true that only the first 16 colours of the 256 colour display modes can be selected from the 4096 colour palette? The remaining 240 colours are 'fixed'?

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

Imho they aren't fixed but are derived from the same 16 pallette entries. Like you select 16 colors and then get 16 shades of each of them.

IMHO a quite clever way to deal with such a limited pallette.

EvilFranky
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 887
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 10:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by EvilFranky »

Interesting. Very quirky machines, I remember them from my comprehensive days, didn't really have a clue about them and just thought they paled in comparison to my Falcon haha! Superb CPU.

punkrulesok
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:34 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by punkrulesok »

The Arc was amazing .. check out Starfighter 3000 or Pacmania on it.

Dal
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4199
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:31 am
Location: Cheltenham, UK
Contact:

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by Dal »

This chap here is doing a superb job of preserving the Arc's back catalogue:

http://forums.jaspp.org.uk:9000/forum/v ... c473b7eba3
STE: Desktopper case, IDE interface, UltraSatan (8GB + 512Mb) + HXC floppy emulator. Plus some STE's/STFM's

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

Some very basic floppy support has been added (the Archie is also using the well-known wd1772). But it seems the amber CPU still has some bugs that prevent proper floppy operation.

I start to grasp how lucky I was to be able to base the Atari st core on the thoroughly tested tg68k CPU core. Things would have been a nightmare had I been facing CPU bugs like that which interfere with the peripherals curently under development.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2796
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by alexh »

If you need help debugging ARM2 then let me know. One of our developers here knows the amber core inside out.

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

That might be really helpful. Can you send me the contact information via pm?

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

After lots of CPU bug fixes by Stephen the floppy starts to work:

Actually several games already run. A beta core with matching has just been released. There's currently no floppy selection in the OSD and you need to place a floppy image under the name floppy0.adf in the root of the SD card. The size of the floppy image must be exactly 819200 bytes. And no, Zarch does not run (yet).
Last edited by MasterOfGizmo on Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

User avatar
MasterOfGizmo
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1342
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by MasterOfGizmo »

double post
MIST board, FPGA based Atari STE and more: https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

foft
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by foft »

Woohoo floppy support. Can copy folders inside themselves:)

Post Reply

Return to “MiST”