MIST C64 core

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by DanyPPC »

This release has many problems to load cartridges games like Alienator, Aviator Arcade II, ecc...
In order it doesn't load any alternative kernal rom. Only black screen.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by vebxenon »

DanyPPC wrote:This release has many problems to load cartridges games like Alienator, Aviator Arcade II, ecc...
In order it doesn't load any alternative kernal rom. Only black screen.
Same here.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by slingshot »

Update to the latest firmware.

Upd.: I can reproduce the issue with Alienator.crt (but Batman works). Also the kernal ROM load still works for me, make sure the file size is exactly 8k (8192 bytes).
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by DanyPPC »

Firmware was updated a week ago :)

Anyway, there are so many cartridges do not work anymore.

To have fast loading with JiffyDOS I need to make a "Basic + Kernal Jiffy + Jiffy 1541" ROM which is 32KB and it work at start of the Core.
If I use the standard 16Kb C64.ROM (in the core page) and I load the Jiffy C64 kernal from the option menù then loading times are longer.

If I load a Jiffy Kernal with Dolphin patch then If I reset with CTRL + F11 I obtain a Blue screen, while if I reset from the menu it works.
This bug isn't present if I load a Jiffy or Standard C64 Kernal.

There is something strange in this core update. I think I will revert to previous core.

Sorry, but thank you for your effort to improve the fpga64 core.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by slingshot »

DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by DanyPPC »

Ok, I tested all my C64 crt files and for now only RoboCop shows a bugged graphics at start, but the game works:
https://csdb.dk/release/?id=143974

Many thanks :cheers:
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by slingshot »

DanyPPC wrote: for now only RoboCop shows a bugged graphics at start, but the game works:
Is it a new bug? For me it happens with the previous versions, too.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by DanyPPC »

Not so important. :wink:
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by vebxenon »

Wow, thanks very much!! :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by desUBIKado »

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4ROl0e3dLZU

TSUNAMI demo for Commodore 64 with graphic glitches in MiST core. The same graphic glitches are found in the C64 cores of the MiSTer or the ZX-Uno, but not in emulators such as Vice or when running it on the The C64 Mini or Maxi
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by slingshot »

Well, the VIC-II implementation wasn't really modified since it was released by Peter Wendrich for the last public FPGA64. It really needs some care. Detailed information is available in a comprehensive VIC-II article (however seems emulator authors found even more details). Any volunteers?
User avatar
Higgy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:38 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by Higgy »

I see sorgelig has made VICII updates 3 days ago. Although a new MiSTER C64 Core has not been Released using it yet it seems.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by slingshot »

Higgy wrote:I see sorgelig has made VICII updates 3 days ago. Although a new MiSTER C64 Core has not been Released using it yet it seems.
Those were my patches ported to MiSTer. Are you using MiST, but looking only at the MiSTer repos? Nice.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by slingshot »

DanyPPC wrote:Not so important. :wink:
I think this is how it should look like:
Photo0075.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
DanyPPC
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:02 am

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by DanyPPC »

Oh, well done !

:cheers:
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by slingshot »

Here's a new release with further VIC-II improvements:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 200328.rbf

I believe the VIC-II's timings are cycle-perfect now, at least events happen when they should (worked only on PAL mode, but I don't think NTSC is fundamentally different). Some details still has to be sorted out, like the loading of the background and the sprite shift registers, however would be good to test the current state first for regressions. I only tested it with some previously broken demos, didn't try any games for example.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by vebxenon »

slingshot wrote:Here's a new release with further VIC-II improvements:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 200328.rbf

I believe the VIC-II's timings are cycle-perfect now, at least events happen when they should (worked only on PAL mode, but I don't think NTSC is fundamentally different). Some details still has to be sorted out, like the loading of the background and the sprite shift registers, however would be good to test the current state first for regressions. I only tested it with some previously broken demos, didn't try any games for example.
Great! Thanks very much! :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by desUBIKado »

slingshot wrote:Here's a new release with further VIC-II improvements:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 200328.rbf

I believe the VIC-II's timings are cycle-perfect now, at least events happen when they should (worked only on PAL mode, but I don't think NTSC is fundamentally different). Some details still has to be sorted out, like the loading of the background and the sprite shift registers, however would be good to test the current state first for regressions. I only tested it with some previously broken demos, didn't try any games for example.

I really run out of words to thank you for the wonderful work you have done in the Commodore 64 core. Now the demos are going much better.

I have seen the TSUNAMI demo again and I have only seen two graphic glitches.

In this video the graphic errors do not appear, but in the execution with the core they do:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntmB5C5nJNw

- 5:42: A vertical line to the left of the window where the girls are moving.
resized_TSUNAMI_01.png
- 6:41: A fine horizontal line across the top of the wave.


resized_TSUNAMI_02.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
exolon
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:41 am

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by exolon »

Some damaged demos from me.

Genesis Project - The Dive - Crashes after title logo
https://csdb.dk/release/?id=179128

Artline Design - Out of Contex - stops after credits part (cardiogram chart effect) does not load the next part.
https://csdb.dk/release/?id=182438

Vandalism News 68,69,70 - all these mags stops after intro, does not load menu.
https://csdb.dk/release/?id=183550
https://csdb.dk/release/?id=178594
https://csdb.dk/release/?id=171312

Attitude 19 - same, stops after intro, does not load menu.
https://csdb.dk/release/?id=173486

Albion Crew - Guards of Apocalypse - stops after title screen
https://csdb.dk/release/?id=4778


BTW. The core looks better and better. Slingshot thank you for your great work!
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by slingshot »

Most loading issues are caused by JiffyDos, e.g. Dive works well with the original Kernal for me.
exolon
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 11:41 am

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by exolon »

I dont use Jiffydos. I know it causes loading problems. I use only "c64.rom" from github page.
Dive works? I checked today, still crashes after Dive logo screen.
maybe I will look for another version.
thanx
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by slingshot »

It worked yesterday, today it crashed many times, but finally worked. Looks like disk related.
desUBIKado
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 178
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by desUBIKado »

slingshot wrote:Most loading issues are caused by JiffyDos, e.g. Dive works well with the original Kernal for me.
Hi, I confirm that the problems found in the TSUNAMI demo continue after removing the jiffyDOS
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by slingshot »

desUBIKado wrote:
slingshot wrote:Most loading issues are caused by JiffyDos, e.g. Dive works well with the original Kernal for me.
Hi, I confirm that the problems found in the TSUNAMI demo continue after removing the jiffyDOS
Those glitches are not related to 1541, but the VIC-II. Please use your common sense to differentiate between bug types.
Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: MIST C64 core

Post by Chris23235 »

The latest version of the core shows some strange behaviour for me. When I put it on my card and rename it to core, the MiST boots to a black screen. I can access the menu by pressing F12 without problem and then, when I load the core.rbf again, it boots into the basic. It then even comes to the basic prompt, when I press the reset key of the MiST (the left one). But after powering down and up again, it's back to the black screen. Any ideas?
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”