Acorn Archimedes

https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-board/wiki

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

Post Reply
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by slingshot »

Is there any trick to use unpacked .arc files (which are ZIPs)? I've unpacked some archives from here:
http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... tware.html
But instead of starting, RISCOS only opens them in a text editor.
hubersn
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by hubersn »

slingshot wrote:Is there any trick to use unpacked .arc files (which are ZIPs)? I've unpacked some archives from here:
http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... tware.html
But instead of starting, RISCOS only opens them in a text editor.
No trick, only one important rule: always unarchive inside RISC OS (using e.g. SparkPlug), only this keeps the filetype information intact, which is essential for RISC OS operation.

Have fun
hubersn
User avatar
xc8
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 5:23 pm
Location: B'ham, UK

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by xc8 »

slingshot wrote:Is there any trick to use unpacked .arc files (which are ZIPs)? I've unpacked some archives from here:
http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org ... tware.html
But instead of starting, RISCOS only opens them in a text editor.
You must unpack then under RISCOS using eg apps like SparkFS, issue is that if unpack using non-RISCOS apps (under windoze etc) you will lose the metadata of the files, so wont be recognised under RISCOS
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by slingshot »

Thanks! Will try Sparkplug.
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by vebxenon »

Hello, some time ago somebody posted a link for downloading Xenon 2 for Archimedes, which is not available on the Internet and I lost the disks. Do you have any working link?
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 734
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by DrOG »

vebxenon wrote:Hello, some time ago somebody posted a link for downloading Xenon 2 for Archimedes, which is not available on the Internet and I lost the disks. Do you have any working link?
Here's a link, have fun!
https://mega.nz/#!QRcGRIyY!Fx6rzdiR6xE0 ... eVRMyhlbOg
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by vebxenon »

DrOG wrote:
vebxenon wrote:Hello, some time ago somebody posted a link for downloading Xenon 2 for Archimedes, which is not available on the Internet and I lost the disks. Do you have any working link?
Here's a link, have fun!
https://mega.nz/#!QRcGRIyY!Fx6rzdiR6xE0 ... eVRMyhlbOg
Thanks very much! :cheers:

Just a question about this core, have you been able to run Wolfenstein 3D? When I put the 3rd disk I always get an error. :shrug:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
DrOG
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 734
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:23 pm
Location: Gyula, Hungary

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by DrOG »

Didn't try it so far...
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by slingshot »

User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by vebxenon »

slingshot wrote:This one should have stable video:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 191021.rbf
Thanks!! :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
arty
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:49 am

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by arty »

slingshot wrote:This one should have stable video:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 191021.rbf
Thank you for support of rare(beyond UK) architecture and 1st computers on ARM with RISC OS!
…………ıllıllı just a friend ıllıllı…………
Televicious
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by Televicious »

slingshot wrote:This one should have stable video:
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 191021.rbf
Sweeet. Had this not working with flashing screen on my SD for a while. Now I learn that the ROM I have is German though lol. New computer world to explore. :D
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by slingshot »

Meanwhile I found out that CMOS.BIN (used as CMOS.RAM and selected in the OSD) files are working from Arculator, after some cycles of yellow LED flashing, RISC OS starts with the saved settings.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by slingshot »

And if anyone uses this core: investigated some VIDC issues, like Elite in 15kHz, the Bounce demo from BIA, and applied some fixes to make them work. Also realized that some demos, like Risc Dream, and the Spectrum Emulator works only at 15kHz, so added an optional scandoubler to be able to enjoy them on VGA, too.
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 191026.rbf
arty
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:49 am

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by arty »

slingshot wrote:And if anyone uses this core: investigated some VIDC issues, like Elite in 15kHz, the Bounce demo from BIA, and applied some fixes to make them work. Also realized that some demos, like Risc Dream, and the Spectrum Emulator works only at 15kHz, so added an optional scandoubler to be able to enjoy them on VGA, too.
https://github.com/mist-devel/mist-bina ... 191026.rbf
Massive. Unexpectedly cool update.
Thank you!
…………ıllıllı just a friend ıllıllı…………
Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by Chris23235 »

Many thanks, finalles a way to play the elite version of Elite :)
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by vebxenon »

Thanks very much!! :cheers:
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by slingshot »

Chris23235 wrote:Many thanks, finalles a way to play the elite version of Elite :)
Just the controls are still horrible. Why they didn't like the joystick ports back in time?
Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by Chris23235 »

slingshot wrote:
Chris23235 wrote:Many thanks, finalles a way to play the elite version of Elite :)
Just the controls are still horrible. Why they didn't like the joystick ports back in time?
This was an Acorn thing, they thought it would taint the image of an educational computer if they supported Joysticks. Funny enough the BBC already had Joystick support (even if only in the form of analog Joysticks).

On a sidenote was anybody succesful in creating a CMOS file?
Televicious
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 89
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 6:18 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by Televicious »

I dunno using the mouse controls in stuff is pretty great. I always like analog controls. Magnetoids is awesome. Wish there was a way to get the proper aspect in games on VGA monitor though. Have to invest in a scaler I suppose.
slingshot
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1879
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:05 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by slingshot »

Televicious wrote: Wish there was a way to get the proper aspect in games on VGA monitor though. Have to invest in a scaler I suppose.
Maybe the changelog with the scandoubler should give you a hint how to do it...
Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by Chris23235 »

The Archimedes Dealer Disk had a program to load and save the CMOS to disk. Could this be used with the Archimedes core?
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by vebxenon »

Will a complete readme of this core be added? :D

About Elite... The ADF I have has copy protection. This core reads .ADF extension only?

Thanks very much!
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
User avatar
vebxenon
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2015 12:10 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by vebxenon »

I've tested James Pond and all the graphics are scrambled... can you test It? I'm using VGA.
Just a computer and videogame lover :)

- Atari Jr 2600 clone
- Atari 7800 Peritel
- Atari XEGS
- Atari Lynx II
- Atari Jaguar
- MiST Board
hubersn
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 8:10 pm

Re: Acorn Archimedes

Post by hubersn »

vebxenon wrote: About Elite... The ADF I have has copy protection.
ADF is a simple sector dump and cannot include copy protection. Or do you refer to the "manual" protection?

Ian Bell's homepage should have an "unprotected" Elite .adf. See here for suitable versions: http://www.elitehomepage.org/arc/index.htm
This core reads .ADF extension only?
Yes. Someone wants to add APD and JFD?

hubersn
Post Reply

Return to “MiST”